We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jumping on the Bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Creighton Manor Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 12 Orillia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Jumping on the Bed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

The Creighton Manor is a beautiful old house built in 1890 by a sea captain. He found peace in this quiet area of Orillia while still being able to keep his eyes on the water - Lake Couchiching glitters just across the street. We were able to reserve the "Captain's Quarters," a luxurious room on the second floor. There is a magnificent old press which, among other things, houses the TV, there are some lovely antique night tables and a beautiful chest of drawers sitting in a specially lit niche. A delicate table is flanked by two leather chairs and electric candles are sitting on the window sills. The pièce de résistance, however, is the bed: queen sized, stuffed with all sorts of pillows and a mattress so high that I had to take a flying leap to get up on it! There was a ladder, to be sure, by the side of the bed, but I was too proud to use it.

The Captain's Quarters actually consist of two rooms because the bathroom is so big that you can dance in it. You can choose between an old-fashioned bath tub on legs and a very modern and comfortable shower cabinet. A beautiful gypsy doll dressed in velvet and lace rides a bicycle which carries extra toilet paper for you, and the electric fireplace adds a flickering romantic light to this unusual bathroom.

Since the weather was very warm, we had breakfast on the veranda, and what a breakfast it was! Orange juice in delicate champagne glasses, fruit cocktail, poached egg on ham, toast and a special cake for dessert. The coffee came in our own big bodum. Levada and Doug are wonderful hosts, helpful, friendly and with a great sense of humour. In the entrance hall a small chef holds up a sign which says: "Street girls bringing in sailors must pay for room in advance."

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seryna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
142
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

First time staying at a bed and breakfast. Absolutely fantastic in every way. Doug and Levada are truly wonderful host. The house is spotless with character and charm inside and out. Breakfast was a 5 star!! on the veranda with a beautiful view of the lake. Taking advantage of the bikes that are offered gave us a chance to take in more scenery around the area. Our only regret was that we only booked one night. Definitely coming back!!

Thanks again, Joe and Heather

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
creightonmanor, Owner at Creighton Manor Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Hi Heather and Joe, thank you for your great review, and thank you card, and your stay with us at the Manor. We also must thank everyone for their fantastic comments to allow us to achieve "100" excellent reviews on Trip Advisor! We would like to thank you all very much for staying with us, and we hope to see you in the future as returning guests.
Levada and Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Jocelyne and Rosaire

What a great experience for a first trial in a Bed and Breakfast. We could'nt ask better. We booked ahead of time through internet. Everything was amazing, the room, the breakfast, the relaxation and most of all the hospitality and service from Doug.
We will definitely pass the word around.
Thanks

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Chreighton Manor is a charming B&B overlooking Lake Simcoe. It is beautifully decorated with memories of past and present elegance. Doug and Lavada are warm and gracious hosts who ensure that their guests are comfortable and well-fed. A delicious breakfast is served on the spacious verandah with a million dollar view, weather permitting. Otherwise, guests savour their breakfast in a beautifully appointed dining room. Access to refreshments and treats in an inviting sitting room. This is a perfect place to relax while visiting Orillia.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

What a surprise! Didn't expect such a fabulous B & B, only booked it as it seemed an easy drive to Algonquin park. The house is so obviously loved & cared for by hosts Doug & Levada. It has a stunning position right by the lake. We sat & watched the sun go down over the lake from the front porch & we were then lucky enough to sit out on the same deck to have breakfast the following morning.
Breakfast was wonderful....Course after course arrived, all beautifully prepared & cooked.
We stayed in the Tower room...furnishings are beautiful and .it has the most amazing bathroom, a huge bath with rainwater shower right under the tower. It was just a shame we had only booked one night, would have loved to stay longer.

Room Tip: Tower room was fabulous, especially the bathroom...did peak in Captains room which was huge and look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judyaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

This is an absolutely beautiful bed and breakfast! Wrought Iron accents, landscaping, decor everything was gorgeous. Doug and Levada are warm, hospitable hosts that will make you feel like you are at home. The breakfast was absolutely delicious! 3 course gourmet meal that will tempt you to lick the plate! I have tried Eggs Benedict 3 times before and hated it. I am not sure who cooked this meal, but oh my, it was sooooo good!! So so good! I am wrecked for life! Breakfast will never be the same!

The Tower room was beautiful, 4 poster bead with wrought iron canopy, full bank of windows, air conditioning, fuzzy house coats, water and pop included for your convenience. But the "piece de resistance" is the BATH CAVE!! I have never seen anything like it! There is a huge 2 person soaker tub in the tower but this is not the only highlight by far! You have got to see this room! My description will not do it justice. Highly recommended for the Bath Cave alone!

Oh and value, absolutely outstanding! Location, perfect quiet street right across from a small park and the lake. Bikes available to work of lunch. Trails close by. I cannot think of anything bad to say about this place!

Thank you so much Doug and Levada for making my stay such a memorable one! I will be back to Orillia just stay with you guys again!

Room Tip: Tower room, hands down, for the Bath Cave alone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherieChloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We just celebrated our 5th year staying at Creighton Manor Inn with Doug and Levada during the Mariposa weekend in Orillia. The same group get together each year and basically take over this great Inn. Doug and Levada are amazing, the home is very comfortable and the rooms and baths are amazing. We stay in the Captain's Quarters and this is the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in, it's a high bed and as age is getting the better of me I believe next year I may have to take advantage of the small step ladder to get into it. The breakfast shared with friends on the huge front porch overlooking the lake is totally yummy. Beautifully set tables, fresh orange juice, fruit and yogurt, eggs benedict first day, quiche the next - it just goes on. This is followed by awesome desserts baked fresh by their daughter. More desserts are put out at night which you can take advantage of with coffee. There is a small fridge for your wine or beer or soft drinks, on a warm summer night sit out on the porch and savor your surroundings. We definitely have some wonderful memories of music at Mariposa, and the friends made at the Inn. thx for all Doug and Levada, we do not say it enough

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorothyCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orillia
3.5 mi away
Stone Gate Inn
Stone Gate Inn
#1 of 14 in Orillia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 14 in Orillia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Days Inn - Orillia
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
2.2 mi away
Knights Inn Orillia
Knights Inn Orillia
#7 of 14 in Orillia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creighton Manor Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creighton Manor Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Creighton Manor Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 74 Creighton Street | Orillia, Ontario, Orillia, Ontario L3V 1B2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Orillia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Orillia ON Bed and Breakfast is a Lakeside Grand Victorian Inn Perfect for that Romantic Getaway. Casino Rama a 5 minute drive, swimming, beaches, biking on the Lightfoot Trail, sunset strolls along the waters edge, or just total relaxation, the Manor has it all. As you sit in the gazebo after a full day of golf, swimming, sunbathing, or shopping, you'll have to wonder if there is any place to be than at the Manor - Your Escape from the everyday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Creighton Manor Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creighton Manor Inn Bed And Breakfast Orillia, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing