We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible discriminating charging extra for guide dog unclean”
Review of Bayview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayview Inn
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“horrible discriminating charging extra for guide dog unclean”
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I stayed at this hotel for the maraposa folk festival with my neice for 3 nights. Room was never cleaned by staff, charged premium rates while the festival was on. Wanted to charge extra for a guide dog, which is illegal in this province. The owners were extremely rude, condescending, not helpful to me as a person with vision loss. I would not recommed this hotel for a dog let alone a human!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank galtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    14
    9
    4
    12
See reviews for
8
22
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
PETERBOROUGH
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We just needed a hotel for the night as we were going to a concert at the Casino and other hotels were around $200 for the night. This one was half the price. There were a few stairs to climb but we knew that from before. Good value for your money.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieS166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Val Caron
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

When my husband booked on line, we saw the pictures, and once we got there, we saw that the place is not at all what it shows on the web,,,completely different place. We would not recommend this place at all. My husband told them, that they better check there web site. Ok so you get a fridge and a microwave,,but no coffee maker and no hair blower.

Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank MagguieValCaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Orillia hotels

Ajax, Ont.
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We have just returned home after a couple of days visiting Orillia and seeing two shows at Casino Rama. Since we had two show tickets, we decided to make into a mini holiday and do some exploring around Orillia. My next step was to find an affordable place to stay. Thanks to Tripadvisor and the people who post their honest reviews we decided to give Bayview Inn a try.

I emailed Bayview asking about their rates and Jay responded promptly. We were able to have two nights for $159.98 plus taxes which is good compared to what the name brand hotels are charging in Orillia.

Bayview Inn is in the middle between Casino Rama and downtown Orilla. It was perfect for us. We had no trouble finding it. The room is very basic, we had a loveseat, queen size bed, regular t.v., microwave, and a fridge that worked well. A huge plus - wireless internet that worked great! The room was clean, bedding was clean, bathroom shower worked great. The only negative would be the pillows, they were a little flat, but if you really wanted a puffy one - Walmart is not too far away, or bring your own. We had to top floor, so if you have a problem walking up and down stairs it would be best to ask for the bottom floor, as there are not elevators. We also faced hwy 12, but we did not have any issues with noise from the hwy.

The Oshawa trail is right across from Bayview Inn and we took full advantage of it. It is 1.7km into town and a beautiful walk along the waterside. We had breakfast at BJ home cook diner at 300 James St. a short walk from Bayview. The service was awesome and the food delicious. We also had breakfast at the Curling Recreation center another short walk from Bayview. Both places are very good. People are very, very, friendly in Orillia. Along the Orillia trail in both directions you will find a beach. Steven Leacock is another place to visit with it only being about half a mile from the Inn.

We would not hesitate to stay again!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timmins, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2010

We went to Orrillia to see a concert at the casino. We were really quit pleased with the accommodations at the Bay View Inn. The room was up to date and very clean. If your looking for a good bang for your buck this is the place. I won't hesitate to stay here again. I don't need big brand name hotels to please me.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olimsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kitchner
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2010

just one word, if you are looking for Economy , decent and clean place to stay which is close to casino and lake , guys this is the best , i almost stayed all the small motels in orilia but this one is far btr option ,

  • Liked — Rate and Cleanliness
  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank samby545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missasuga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2010

it was nice to stay at this place ,as far money is concern i would say its value for money place... rooms are nice CLEAN and well managed ,

Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank san007krv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orillia hotels
1.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#12 of 14 in Orillia
231 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 14 in Orillia
213 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Knights Inn Orillia
Knights Inn Orillia
#7 of 14 in Orillia
127 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stone Gate Inn
Stone Gate Inn
#1 of 14 in Orillia
556 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Inn

Property: Bayview Inn
Address: 341 Atherley Rd, Orillia, Ontario L3V 1N9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Bayview Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across from Lake Couchiching, Sandy beach and walking trails. Bayview Inn has newly renovated modern A/C rooms with large LCD TV, fridge, microwave, phone and cable. Free wireless internet and free parking. We sell affordable comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bayview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Inn Orillia, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing