We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never thought we would find a room!”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This past final weekend of September my hubby and I drove up to Huntsville to enjoy the festival of colours in the trees. There did not seem to be an obvious amount of people lingering about however, when we decided to stay the night we realized perhaps this was not going to happen. We stopped or called every hotel within the Huntsville region to find them all full. The one room we did find - our first stop was quite expensive and did not look worth the price they were asking. However, had we have known it was the last room but it was our first stop and who knew. We left Huntsville and continued to seek out a room at every stop with no luck until finally at 9:30 at night we stopped in Orillia. The young lady at the desk was very pleasant and took me to look at the room. It was clean and quiet and very reasonable and breakfast was included. We were very re-leaved not to have to continue to drive in the rain any longer. Our stay was clean and pleasant and in the morning we noticed all the awards this establishment has won for its standards. I would stay here again, but was very glad to have found it accidentally. If you are venturing out for a weekend to enjoy the fall leaves - book a room in advance. Who knew :)

Room Tip: First floor rooms are quieter but I looked at an upper room as well and it was just as clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle-GM, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Thank You Pamela for your kind words. We are pleased to hear that our staff was curteous and accommodating to your travel needs. Even as the seasons change, it is always a great idea to check with hotels to see what rooms may be available, so thank you for that great tip! We are, as you saw, a Gold Award Winning Property, and our fantastic staff are to thank along with our amazing guests like yourself. We hope to see you again for the next season change for the wonders of white that blanket Orillia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed here because we had a dog in tow. The room was on the ground floor and they did give us a room away from the heavy traffic noise of the highway when I asked. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room was smaller with 2 double beds. What aggravated me the most was the musty smell in the room. I don't know if this was from the air conditioner unit, which looked dated or a previous occupant, but we had to keep the patio door open for fresh air. The breakfast is a sad affair and really needs to be improved. The cookies at night were a nice touch and yummy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nof60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle-GM, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Thank You Nof60 for your review. We are sincerely sorry for the poor review on our complimentary breakfast. Hopefully we can regain your trust again with our new breakfast which will be comming soon. We do encourage our guests, at any time, to contact our front desk with any questions or concerns about our property and guest rooms, and we are disappointed that your room was not up to our or your own standards. That being said, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our guest appreciation platter of delicious local bakery cookies. Please feel free to contact us as we would enjoy seeing you again for your next visit to Orillia and our staff will see to it that it will be much more comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This location is in surprisingly good condition for not having been updated in many years, as busy as it is.
Check in staff very friendly and efficient.
The room was adequate in size, two double beds, clean, lots of towels and soap.
Small fridge and well stocked coffee maker.
Ironing board with iron, handy.
The shower curtain could have used a change.
Air conditioner worked well.
Close to the end of a hallway we could hear doors closing, for the most part the A/C drowned it out; it seemed guests here have read the hotel etiquette book on how to close doors quietly in the night, which is a pleasure.
I did not find the bed comfortable and kind of wished I brought a pilow from home.
I like a firm mattress, which it was, but in a much used sort of way.
The linens were very clean.
I'm a non smoker and could Not smell a history of the room having been smoked in.
Location, very handy and central - easy to find; seemed a two through ten minute juant to everywhere in Orillia.

Many restaurant options within walking distance, a couple within crawling distance.

Breakfast, not good .. cereal, maybe a saving grace. Mini muffins (really hard on the day I was there). Hermetically sealed danishes and a long line up for the toaster / coffee - good effort to the staff for keeping it well stocked.
The "preparation" area very limited and crowded with few seating options available .
A bit unpleasant - luckily there is a coffee shop twenty paces from the front door.
Maybe consider foregoing the brekkie hand out vouchers and stick to what you are good at; just a thought.

Small outside BBQ area was cool and a few other seating areas outside, a nice addition for enjoying good weather.

Overall, if the location were updated slightly, I don't care about the decor so much as the comfort level, then I would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akyraty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle-GM, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Thank You akyraty for your review. We hope to see you again in the near future for your travel needs, as we will be going through renovations throughtout the next year. We are pleased to see that you were able to use the amenities we offer such as the outdoor seating areas, and hope to see you BBQ'ing in our great ourdoors. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This is a modest sized two story hotel. The rooms are clean and spacious and the bathrooms are in good condition and well stocked. Tea and coffee is provided and an ice machine is located in the vending room on the ground floor, not on the stairs as indicated in the room information folder. The beds are comfortable and the a/c effective. Being an older building there are a few less electrical outlets than would be ideal.
A free breakfast is provided offering a range of breads for toasting, and hard boiled eggs. Coffee and fruit juice as well as pastries are also provided. A perfectly adequate start to the day.
The staff are polite and helpful.

Room Tip: No elevator, but as the building is on two floors this should not be a problem for most people. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steveandchristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle-GM, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Thank You Steve and Christine for your review. We are pleased to hear that your stay was comfortable. At the Orillia Comfort Inn, we have a great team to make your stay the best it can be; and with our 2012 GOLD AWARD winning property, it’s a guarantee that your room will be full stocked with amenities and cleanliness. We hope to see you again soon on your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Check in was quick and easy. Room was fine, clean well equipped with comfortable bed, towels etc. Yes there was a slight odour from when it was a smoking room but I found that easier to deal with than some of the heavily scented rooms in some hotels. Breakfast was more than sufficient, breakfast area was kept clean and well stocked, I liked having the availability of trays to be able to take the breakfast easily to the room. No its not a luxury hotel with lots of facilities but if it is somewhere you want to sleep, shower change and do a bit of internet surfing with the problem-free wireless internet in between visiting attractions this place is ideal. When I travel in my own province it is not normally to spend most of the time at the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rafiki O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle-GM, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Thank You Rafiki O for your kind review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary sunshine breakfast, and that you had no difficulty with our free wireless internet. We hope that you were able to search the many attractions in Orillia while online. We hope to be able to accommodate you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

check in was great not a prob... they kept both of my rooms side by side. I work in the hotel industry so I was very impressed with this hotel. would stay there again. Breakfast was very good even that i didn't care for the eggs in the morning like that. the housekeeping was was excellent. The front desk was always helpful. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle-GM, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Shaleen F, Thank you for your review. As an employee of the industry, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Orillia. We do have a great team, which we were honored to receive a 2012 Gold Award. We do hope to accommodate you once again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Check In was fine - quick/friendly, but all down hill from there! Was told our room was a 'Queen bed' which in fact it was basically a double - hard as a rock! Changed room to two singles - still hard. Toliet did not flush properly and run on. Very slow/painful internet connect... used it just enough to find an hotel in Orillia.

Room Tip: Ended up in Days In on Rama Rd - very good room, good bed and proper size. Speedy internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBerridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle-GM, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Thank you LBerridge for your comments. Our rooms are equipped with either one queen size bed or two doubles; so we apologize if the beds were not suitable for your stay. Our property is always upgrading our mattresses and guests are welcome to request firm or soft beds. We are pleased to say, our internet provider has upgraded they’re system and is much more efficient. We do hope in the near future we are able to accommodate you and gain your trust in our Gold Award Property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orillia hotels
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#12 of 14 in Orillia
240 reviews
2.4 mi away
Stone Gate Inn
Stone Gate Inn
#1 of 14 in Orillia
597 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
1.4 mi away
The Champlain Waterfront Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection
0.9 mi away
Knights Inn Orillia
Knights Inn Orillia
#8 of 14 in Orillia
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 75 Progress Dr, Orillia, Ontario L3V 0T7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Price Range: £67 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only 13 minute drive from Casino Rama, and surrounded by a variety of recreational activities, this hotel features spacious accommodations, complete with a number of thoughtful amenities. The newly renovated Comfort Inn is the perfect Orillia hotel choice. The hotel has renovated all guest rooms, corridors, front desk lobby area and added a new breakfast room. Enjoy a free hot breakfast daily that includes eggs, sausage or bacon, freshly made waffles, yogurt, assorted cereals and bread items, fresh fruit, juice, coffee and tea. This hotel is 100% smoke free and pet friendly. Ground floor rooms have a refrigerator, microwave and patio door access. All rooms have a 32 inch flat screen television, wireless internet, hair dryer, coffee maker, iron and board. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Orillia! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Orillia
Comfort Inn Orillia, Canada - Ontario
Orillia Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing