We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice resort, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fern Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fern Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice resort, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

The room was very nice, if a little dated, with a couch and fireplace. The setting is beautiful. Meals were excellent and staff were pleasant and helpful. Weather prevented most outdoor activities but there are plenty of options to suit most.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JFH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for posting your comments here on TripAdvisor after your recent visit for a business meeting. Fern Resort and the Conference Centre at Fern have been hosting meetings, conferences, and group travel for many years. We are a great spot for companies to get the most from a meeting, due in large part to the exclusive feel you get at Fern. Your group is together for not only the meeting portion of your stay but also for meals and social time. A Resort setting offers so much more for groups than a standard hotel can.
Thanks again for posting your comments and we hope to see you again soon.
Cordially,
Scott Collens
General Manager
Fern Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    87
    37
    22
    4
See reviews for
179
21
Solo
0
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
127 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

I have been to the Fern both for meals, events and for overnight conferences. I highly recommend this long time family-owned resort. It is polished - they really know what they're doing. The food is always delicious (their buns are actually famous, they're so good); the service is top-notch. I really like the cabins on the water. The conference facilities are very professional yet have a warm décor. A quality facility.

Room Tip: I like the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
A Gem indeed. Thank you for your wonderful comments about Fern Resort. There is some great charm and warmth to a family-owned resort and I believe you truly can feel that here at Fern. Whether you experience the resort for your companies Christmas celebration, an out-of-office meeting or as a vacationing guest, you always get good old hospitality and a staff with a genuine desire to serve. Rolls are still at the cornerstone of the food experience and a tradition here at Fern Resort. We have been enjoying Bertyls Roll recipe since 1927 and now you can order a dozen to go when you stay with us.
Thanks again for your comments.
Cordially,
Scott Collens
General Manager
Fern Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I have used Fern Resort for many years for our fall conference. As an event organizer I could not ask for better support from our conference convener, Sarah, as well as each and every one of the staff from the dining room to housecleaners to the conference staff; their level of customer service is very high.
Fern is an old-fashioned resort and our delegates enjoy the retreat atmosphere and careful customer service.
Christine Ball
Executive Director

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank directorchrissyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for posting your comments here on Trip advisor. Conferences, and more importantly organizing conferences can be a stressful undertaking. The staff and management work with the organizers to ensure their goals are met and expectations exceeded. Whether you are booking a group of 10 or 300, the staff at Fern are always going to give 100%. Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to hosting many more of your fall conferences.
Cordially,
Scott Collens
General Manager
Fern Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Our organization has held annual events at Fern Resort in Orillia. And we have always been pleased with the extremely friendly service and their outstanding meals. We go there for work, but it feels more like a retreat! And as a meeting organizer, it is always great to have all your meeting room equipment and supplies included in the price.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a a lakeside view. It's the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for posting your comments here on Tripadvisor from a business travellers experience. Fern Resort, being know primarily as family vacation destination resort here in Ontario, also services the meeting and conference business. With roots and tradition deep in hospitality, we host meetings and conferences with the same gracious, hospitable approach we take when hosting the family resort market. Our all-inclusive options for meetings takes a lot of stress away from the meeting organizer. Combine this with the exclusiveness you get from our location, and it makes Fern a great option for companies looking for more that just a board room.
I am glad we have been able to take care of your groups needs annually and look forward to many more.
Cordially,
Scott Collens
General Manager
Fern Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

What I mean by saying "traditional" is my grandfather went to Fern, my Dad and Mom took us to Fern when we were kids and now I am taking my kids to Fern. This should tell you how great Fern Resort is for families.
Yes, it is looking old but there is a certain charm to it and they are fixing it up as time goes by. The real charm of the place is how they treat their guests. They have a lot of activities for every age and you can be as busy as you want or not at all. My kids loved the activities they set up and the directors who ran the programs. We participated in the adult activities and had a blast.
Yes, it is on the expensive side for resorts but when you consider that almost all of the activities are included in the price it is a bargain compared to some other places we have stayed.
I had to laugh at one reviewer's comments who said, "Who goes to magic shows?" If it is any indication, the whole resort showed up for the magic show. In fact, most nights when they had entertainment that is where you find most of the families and having a great time.
We stayed the second last week of August and some of the servers were getting ready to leave for University but they were still doing their best to serve us. One of the servers told us she was sad to be leaving. My kids cried when we had to leave.
The only unfortunate part I found this time was the soup. I tried a couple of them but they were bland, having said that the rest of the meals were fantastic.
If you are looking for the ultimate over-the-top, "gotta have it all", then try somewhere else.
To sum it all up, if you want to have a fantastic family vacation this is the place to go.

Room Tip: If you stay in the Main Inn, rooms 401 - 405 have balconies and look over the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pademo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for posting your comments here on Tripadvisor and I am happy to hear Fern Resort has been a family tradition for 3 generations and running in your family! It is great to hear that you and your family enjoy the hospitality and the product that us truly unique to a family run resort here in Ontario and that you find good value in the product. We will be keep working on those soups and I look forward to seeing you again in 2014 as we keep the family tradition alive!
Cordially,
Scott Collens
General Manager
Fern Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Fern has great activities for kids. We stayed in a bayshore cottage and it needed serious refurbishing. Really dirty carpet and very ugly bed spread. It was greenish, brownish. Real turn off. This should be fixed right away as it takes away from an otherwise great experience. Terrific staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chantal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Hi Chantal, thank you for posting your comments here on Trip Advisor. Glad your kids enjoy the activity programs and the you rate the staff as Terrific! Our staff have a genuine desire to serve and enjoy a positive interaction with our guests. This interaction with kids and parents forges a friendship or bond that makes guest feel at home and makes returning to Fern, feel like they have come home! We are also getting our accommodations back up to snuff after a busy summer season. Carpet cleaning, touching up paint and a general attention to detail have been the focus over the past couple of weeks.
Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you and your family again soon.
Cordially,
Scott Collens
General Manager
Fern Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Just back from 3 nights 4 days at Fern Resort with our group of 10, including 5 children ages 9 mos and up. A family tradition, at Fern we always know what we will get- family friendly meals, comfortable accommodations and activities for all age groups.
Our 4th year in a row, we had a main inn room and 2 edge water cottages. As far as size the main inn rooms are very bright and spacious with more modern furnishings. The main inn rooms can only be accessed by a large flight of stairs which make it totally inaccessible for those with mobility challenges. As a matter of fact, many areas of the resort are inaccessible; the spa and upper levels of all buildings require walking up a flight of stairs . Carrying multiple bags up a large flight of stairs with 3 small children is a frustrating start to a get away. The cottages on the other hand are very cottage like, but could use a facelift; old bedspreads, furnishings, and bathrooms. The view though is lovely, right in
front of the lake.
The food is family friendly and fresh, and baked goods are certainly the specialty. The kids buffet of course is a hit with the kids, but tends to always be the same, and is not always replenished.. Soups on the menu are bland and this year especially I noted food served at times was cold. Prime rib and
turkey dinner were excellent,as
were the desserts.
The wait staff range from horrible to excellent. The first day our server was slow, disorganized and not overly friendly. We switched tables our 2nd day and Charlotte was excellent! Very tolerant of the mess with 5 kids and most accommodating to our requests. Some other servers walking around barely cracked a smile- in previous years we have always had great service.
The activities for the kids are great- there is something for all ages. Some of the staff in the play village are less than enthusiastic but perhaps that is because its the last week of summer and they are tiring. I will say with Sunday being a turnover day, the activities are
poor. For a family staying Sat to Tues we were in need of
entertainment for kids and
adults on a rainy Sun afternoon .There was really nothing to do- quite disappointed.
The best entertainment by far was Jamie Williams on the Mon night- he sang and played multiple instruments- fabulous!
The exterior of the resort is showing its age and we noticed a lot of areas badly in need of a fresh coat of paint, esp the Fireside building and staff quarters which are not very attractive from the parking lot.
Fern is not cheap and I really think in order to keep guests coming back year after year, some updating is needed.
All in all a great family time together at Fern but we may consider another property next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LDSpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for posting your comments here on Tripadvisor and thank you for allowing us to be apart of your summer vacation experience for the last four years. Your family, like so many of our guests have established a summer tradition and come back each year to something that is familiar and comfortable for everyone in the family. As an all-inlcusive family resort, we offer a wide range of activities, room styles and dining options in order to allow everyone in the family a unique and enjoyable experience. Evenings are great and I enjoy Jamie Williams as well. He is a very talented musician and has been preforming for Fern off and on for the past 15 years.
Almost all of our accommodations have been renovated over the past few years. We are now focusing our attention to the exterior of our inns. The Main Inn is getting a face-lift as we speak. The resort is rich in heritage and we are keeping this in mind as we schedule renovations and upgrades. Thanks again for posting your comments and I hope you continue to enjoy your summer family vacation tradition here at Fern.
Cordially,
Scott Collens
General Manager
Fern Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orillia
3.1 mi away
Stone Gate Inn
Stone Gate Inn
#1 of 14 in Orillia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel
1.4 mi away
Days Inn - Orillia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 14 in Orillia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Resort

Property: Fern Resort
Address: 4432 Fern Resort Rd, Orillia, Ontario L3V 6H5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Orillia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fern Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fern Resort and the Conference Centre at Fern are located along the shores of Lake Couchiching in the city of Orillia. We offer all inclusive packages for both family vacation stays as well as meeting and conference stays. All meals, use of facilities and at specific times of the year, we offer activity programs for all ages, children supervision and nightly entertainment. Established in 1895, Fern has a long tradition of offering our guests with good olde fashion hospitality in a professional and friendly manner. Whether it's the traditional family vacation, a little getaway weekend or a sales meeting or corporate seminar, Fern Resort and the Conference Centre at Fern should be your venue of choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Fern Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Hotel Orillia
Fern Resort Orillia, Canada - Ontario
Fern Orillia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing