We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still sweet, second time around”
Review of Fern Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fern Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Still sweet, second time around”
Reviewed 14 May 2006

Fern Resorts has done it again, made a weekend fantastic.
This is our second year that we visited this resort during Mothers day weekend and loved it. We stayed in one of the Bayshore cottages this time and It was great. This lakeview cottage had 2 dbl beds and a pull out sofa in the main room and a second bedroom separate from the main room (Queen bed & tv). It's located by the docks and just a short walk to the main dining area and lobby.

The entertainment was similar from last year and we actually won some bingo games this time, yeah! Food was still excellent and not once could you ever leave there with an empty stomach. Beautiful appetizers, great choice of entrees, salads and deserts- That butter tart , humm humm humm....Let's not forget the Honey rolls- Yummy! The Sunday brunch is great, everything tasting fresh and delicious.

They took out the pettting zoo that was there last year and plan on putting down some more trails for the Pedal go carts that are available at n/c.

Great worry free weekend to enjoy your spouse or your family. I recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Canuckgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    87
    38
    22
    4
See reviews for
179
22
Solo
0
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2005

We went to Fern Resort for Thanksgiving weekend, my husband and I along with our 7 year old daughter. After reading the rave reviews we were slightly disappointed. We did not expect 5 star but did expect better than we got.

We had the suite in Fireside Inn. Very large and conveniently located close to dining room. The rugs are worn, stained and old. The pullout sofa is a twin and quite worn. Next time we will bring sheets and blankets for our daughter. The ones on the pullout had seen better days. We opted to try the spare blanket but it was stained and had holes in it. The suite was probably quite nice 15 to 20 years ago but needs some attention. You expect rustic but this was more rundown.

The food was excellent! Our server was horrible but we made due. When you arrive you are given your table and server for the entire stay. Don't order the pancakes or the pizza. Everything else is great, especially their baked goods. We loved the prime rib, nachos, crab cakes and caesar salad. The kids buffet is well stocked with everything kids love like chicken nuggets, fries, hotdogs, cookies etc. We would order our daughter a kids meal from the menu and she would grab bits from the buffet.

The kids activities are great and there is lots to do as a family as well.

Evening entertainment is sort of hokey, but charming.

We will probably return as we had a good time. Just wanted to warn visitors it's not as good as the reviews we read but still is worth a visit. A nice place to kick back and relax.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank kimjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 August 2005

Ontario: Fern Resort: "Not What We Expected"
Date: August 27, 2005
Reviewer: A TripAdvisor User, Toronto On.

We just returned from Fern Resort and were extremely disappointed after reading so many rave reviews by other visitors who had posted their 5 star comments on tripadvisor[-]. In fact, we were so disappointed that we checked out early. We do however accept some of the responsibility, as our expectations may have been too high. We should have paid more attention to the 3 star class rating posted by this site and not the 4 1/2 rating claimed by the front desk. In our opinion 3 stars is pushing it a little. Consider the following:

The Good:
- The front driveway path up to the resort flanked by tall trees was nice
- The main building where meals are provided is what you would expect from a 3 star establishment
- Breakfast was fine especially the coffee
- The professional entertainers were great

The Bad:
- You could probably find better lunch and dinner entrees at a local restaurant.
- The waiters did their best but you can't expect too much from inexperienced servers who look barely old enough to drink. I asked a young server who was casually walking by if they could get me another soda. I mentioned that our assigned waiter seemed extremely busy and the response I got was, "so am I".
- The room we stayed in was clean but it looked like it was stuck in a 70's - 80's time warp - old, dated and slightly musty. It doesn't matter how much you clean it, it still looks old and very used.
- Don't book a room with a pullout mattress unless you plan on staying up all night. It’s the lumpiest thing you will ever sleep on.
- The entire resort needs an overhaul/renovation. Time to get rid of the 70's - 80's look
- The room where the entertainers sing and where dancing is encouraged is shared by pay as you play video arcade games, complimentary computers, and pool table.

The Ugly:
- The front desk was not friendly or courteous. My wife had to explain why she was standing there at the front desk upon arrival. No friendly smile or welcome...no direction to our room…no direction as to where to park…unless you specifically ask all these questions.
- When we checked out early, nobody bothered to ask us why we were cutting our vacation short or how our stay was.
- Did I mention the decor?

If you are looking for a 2 to 2.5 star resort and a place to dump off your kids to someone else for a while then this may be the place for you. For us, we'll try somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2005

This is our fourth year at the Fern Resort and it just keeps on getting better. My wife and I enjoy watching our kids having the time of their lives at the petting zoo, the pools, pony rides, fishing, canoeing, structured programs, enjoyable family oriented shows etc. There is also great programing for the adults.This place is like home away from home without the cooking or clean up. It is geared families young or old. The Fern Resort has quickly become my family's yearly summer tradition. As soon as we leave the property my children always ask ..."how many more sleeps until we come back to the Fern"!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ABaum61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2005

We have been to Fern Resort 4 times with our 4 children and would highly recommend this to any family. Fern is a small, friendly, family-owned, beautiful place with activities for every member of your family, from babies to grandmas. You can do as much or as little as you like. Many families go back year after year; as one family told us, "It's a guaranteed good time." The food is excellent, the staff is wonderful and well-trained, the accommodations are pleasant, the programs are outstanding. We have been to many "family resorts" and this one tops them all. Hotels run by the big chains do not deliver the personal touch that Fern does. You can trust Fern to take care of your kids (and you) and to give you a great vacation experience year after year.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Traveler918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 July 2004

I always look forward to going to FERN Resort every year with my family. I have been going since I was eight years old and let me tell you, it's the best place I've ever been to. There is always something for everyone in my family to do. The staff is always courteous and ready to have fun. The entertainment every night is absoulutely amazing! You just want to stay up and party all night long. The food is miraculous and even I have something I like! Once you get to FERN, you just don't want to leave! As soon as I do leave, I count the days until we go again! I love going to FERN Resort!!

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 31 March 2004

Fern Resort is a little piece of heaven. Our entire family spends a week in July at Fern - parents, grandparents, and grandchildren. We love everything about Fern - the beautiful grounds, the excellent food, every kind of activity and sport imaginable, the lovely accomodations, always enjoyable entertainment and very accomodating hosts. You can completely relax and watch the rest of the family or become a willing participant and have a ball participating in all the activites. Our Fern vacation is the highlight of our summer. The food gets better every year - if that's possible. Fern can't be beat for a wonderful family vacation get-away.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orillia
3.1 mi away
Stone Gate Inn
Stone Gate Inn
#1 of 14 in Orillia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel
1.4 mi away
Days Inn - Orillia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 14 in Orillia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Resort

Property: Fern Resort
Address: 4432 Fern Resort Rd, Orillia, Ontario L3V 6H5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Orillia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fern Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fern Resort and the Conference Centre at Fern are located along the shores of Lake Couchiching in the city of Orillia. We offer all inclusive packages for both family vacation stays as well as meeting and conference stays. All meals, use of facilities and at specific times of the year, we offer activity programs for all ages, children supervision and nightly entertainment. Established in 1895, Fern has a long tradition of offering our guests with good olde fashion hospitality in a professional and friendly manner. Whether it's the traditional family vacation, a little getaway weekend or a sales meeting or corporate seminar, Fern Resort and the Conference Centre at Fern should be your venue of choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Fern Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Hotel Orillia
Fern Orillia
Fern Resort Orillia, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing