We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs some work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
GreenLeadersSilver level
Essex, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Needs some work”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Was a nice stay. Staff very friendly. We had a issue with the air conditioning not working but lucky it wasn't that hot overnight. Two o clock we were woken from our sleep from a very loud noise that even the walls were shaking and was told it is probably the compressor from the coke machine. The manager next morning deducted 50 dollars of our bill and was very friendly and understood our dilemma. Two things I would suggest if to add more TV channels. You only get about 20 channels and are not HD. No in room movies as well. Also they need to get the smell out of the hallways. Smells terrible!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pete4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you Pete4you for your review. Coca-Cola has come to repair the Coke machine and funny you mentioned the cable TV channels......Rogers Cable is currently installing a new system upgrade to digital cable for the hotel. We should have our new cable system up and running within the next few weeks (we are very excited)!!! Thanks for letting us know about your experience and we look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    93
    53
    8
    10
See reviews for
70
109
10
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We attended a weekend meeting at the Mariposa Best Western on Jun 20-22. Hotel was really nice, good room features; quality bedding, nice shower, free WiFi. Nice restaurant. Breakfast service was good but not fast, breakfast choices were limited as we were at a conference but everything tasted great. Hotel was very accomodating to our group so that made the event go well too.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigMusil, General Manager at Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you Maureen C for your review of your weekend meeting. As you can see we have many amenities to offer while you are at the hotel. We hope to see you back soon....hopefully you will have some time to enjoy Orillia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

in Orillia overnight to attend an event at Lake head University. First room they gave us on a non-smoking floor smelled like smoke . The young lady at the front desk was very helpful, she was working alone and it was very busy but changed us to a nice clean odour free room. Because of the problem we incurred and a problem with the key machine that caused another delay we were given free breakfast the next morning. (very good food and servers) I wish I could remember the girls name at the front desk (Stephanie I think) she did a great job, stayed positive even when it got busy. Thanks. will be returning !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigMusil, Manager at Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you Mike D for your feedback and I am glad that we were able to accommodate your request and issue with the key machine. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Dover
Level Contributor
141 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Yes, this was our 2nd time staying at the Mariposa. Rooms right up to snuff... clean....and comfy... everything working. The pool is pretty shallow and turn on the Sauna ahead of time in order to heat up.... the hot tub is good...... the Grape and Olive Rest. in the complex is expensive but very good tasty food.... as they say you GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigMusil, Manager at Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you Tim M for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here in Orillia and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Catharines, Ontario
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The room was comfortable and clean, we didn't use any hotel amenities as we were only here one night. We asked for a quiet room and got one, no complaints. This hotel is handy to the highway, the downtown or out to the casino.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Al_Jo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigMusil, Manager at Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you Al_Jo11 for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have stayed in this hotel before and it seemed to have been refreshed from the last visit. The room was comfortable and had all the amenities I needed. The only questionable item was the portable fan system sitting at the end of the downstairs hall that was pumping out scented air 24/7. My friends thought they may be attempting to cover up an odor issue from wet carpeting or something. The restaurant was ok for breakfast, the included hot breakfast was the usual fare, scrambled cheese eggs, toast, bacon and sausage and hash browns. Coffee was included, but not juice etc, they were billed separately. Overall, I would stay there again, but after a day or 2 would be looking for a new breakfast spot for a change.

Room Tip: The halls are long, if you have mobility issues best ask for a room closer to the front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stv50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigMusil, Manager at Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you stv50 for your review. Yes, we were doing some extra cleaning and some of the carpets were still wet. We are glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed there on a business trip to Orillia. My room was clean and comfortable. I made use of the pool and sauna. The pool is without a deep end - 1.2 metres - but it works after a drive. I had dinner at Kelsey's across the road, but the dining room looked good and, as I discovered at breakfast the next day, has good food and service. I asked for a got a late check out. I would stay at this establishment again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillfromGuelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigMusil, Manager at Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thanks BillfromGuelph for your review. We are glad you had a nice experience with us and look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Orillia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orillia
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel
2.6 mi away
Stone Gate Inn
Stone Gate Inn
#1 of 14 in Orillia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 14 in Orillia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Days Inn - Orillia
1.6 mi away
Highwayman Inn & Conference Centre
0.8 mi away
Knights Inn Orillia
Knights Inn Orillia
#6 of 14 in Orillia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre

Property: Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
Address: 400 Memorial Ave, Orillia, Ontario L3V 0T7, Canada (Formerly Kewadin Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Orillia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mariposa Inn And Conference Centre Hotel Orillia
Best Western Orillia
Orillia Best Western
Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre Orillia, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing