We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rodeway Inn Champlain Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Champlain Waterfront
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed here during the Orillia Scottish festival. The hotel is located such that you can walk to the parade, local restaurants, grocery store adn even shopping if you are interested. It is a short drive to the casino as well. The continental breakfast is very basic, but convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clowdywonaceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    19
    25
    10
    27
See reviews for
19
36
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Inexperienced front desk, small rooms, cigarette burn in curtain, hole in sheet, terrible small pillows, dirt in sink drain, dirty wall paper and carpets throughout, peeling paint, loud music, mildew on shower curtain, no elevator. One of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bagel1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Orillia hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
526 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Not your usual Quality Inn. A bit concerned looking from outside, even once in the lobby. But after climbing a zillion stairs (no elevator), we finally made it to a very clean room, king bed, whirpool bath but older type TV. Breakfast was not very exciting, not even a waffle maker. Staff was super nice and accommodating. One block from downtown. One block from the lake. Lots of restaurants around.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sycha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here in June. This would be our 6th or 7th stay here. Quite frankly we will not be coming back. The front office staff were rude and unhelpful and could care less that we were there. The rooms need repair and it is quite clear that money has not been put back into the hotel. This is now the second Quality in that we stayed at in the past year that has been a disappointment. We used to stay only at Quality Inns at one point....not anymore. The Choice Brand hotels have really gone downhill. We will not be staying in another one. What's with the name? Waterfront??? really??

Room Tip: The Best Western near the casino would be a much better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianeb1957_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Booked through 3rd party so the Hotel was not revealed until after confirmation. Went to Orillia for the Journey concert. Was a 15 minute drive from Casino Rama. Orillia itself is a nice little town. The Hotel exceeded my expectations since on most sites it is only rated 2 stars. The only was I can see that rating as legitimate is due to its exterior. You need to park in the back which gives off the low end motel vibe. Inside however a different story. Friendly concierge desk, quality rooms and very clean. Definitley for Orillia this is at the minimum a 3 star. Excellent pub food across the street as well @ Studabakers. Lastly the waterfront is just behind you. Less than a 2 minute walk.

Room Tip: Stay away from a room that backs onto Front St. It is a busy street so sleeping could be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dimascio23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

This is a pretty average hotel and the rate reflects that.

The desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is excellent, right in downtown Orillia. It's within walking distance of the boardwalk where you can stroll along and check out the lovely parks and the marina and it seemed you could even catch a boat tour from the dock (I didn't take it but there was certainly some kind of ferry boat there.)

There's a 24 grocery store right next to the hotel which is convenient. There was a fridge in my room but no Microwave so I had to nuke my leftovers in the microwave down in the breakfast nook. There are also several restaurants and a few bars within walking distance if you go up Mississauga St. Be sure to check out the Mariposa Market for a great breakfast also on Mississauga (in fact I'd strongly recommend it as the "continental breakfast" at the hotel is a joke.) It offers specialty coffees and all kinds of delicious bakery items as well as quiche and lunch sandwiches etc.

The room itself was rather small and this was even an "upgraded" king with jets in the tub and a faux fireplace. The TV situation was weird. There was a cable receiver sitting on top of the TV that was not plugged in when I first arrived and I soon discovered why: the power cable was not long enough to reach an outlet from the TV. To get it to work I had to move the cable box over to a small table in the room so I could plug in the power to the box. So coaxial cable was dragging half way across the room from the wall to the cable box and back to the TV and power cable was dragging across the other half of the tiny room. Not ideal. The free Wifi worked fine though.

The bed was very comfy and I'd call it the selling point of the whole experience. As a business traveler I place a high value on bed comfort which is perhaps why my rating for this property is not lower. Good water pressure in the shower and plenty of hot water.

There is no elevator so if you'e got a lot of luggage you might request a ground floor room or just suck it up and get some exercise.

The staff was very kind and helpful and even though they do not have a "business center" they were kind enough to print out some documents for me at their front desk.

Oh and finally there is a shuttle to the Casino Rama after 7pm that runs every hour on the hour for $6 each way until 2 a.m. You can drive to the casino in about 10 minutes so if you're not drinking I wouldn't trouble with the shuttle.

All in all if you're on a budget I would recommend this place but be prepared for a few inconveniences. How much time do you spend in the room anyway?

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freakwentphlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

For a night at orillia the hotel was just what we needed. Cheap, good location, nice rooms absolutly amazing. The staff is very nice, they even helped us with everything with a huge smile on their faces. A very good experience for us.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdarKaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orillia hotels
1.2 mi away
Stone Gate Inn
Stone Gate Inn
#1 of 14 in Orillia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 14 in Orillia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.3 mi away
Highwayman Inn & Conference Centre
1.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#11 of 14 in Orillia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Champlain Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Champlain Waterfront

Property: Rodeway Inn Champlain Waterfront
Address: 2 Front St N, Orillia, Ontario L3V 4R5, Canada (Formerly Quality Hotel Champlain Waterfront)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn Champlain Waterfront 1.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of Downtown and steps away from the Port of Orillia, this historic hotel is close to numerous local attractions and places of interest including Casino Rama, the Leacock Museum, Orillia Opera House. The OPP Museum and Hawk Ridge Golf & Country Club, Lakehead University and Georgian College are also in the area. A wide variety of restaurants and shops surround the hotel. The city Orillia boasts miles of paved trails from one end of town to another, providing plenty of options for hiking, jogging, biking and rollerblading. Guests of this hotel are provided with a complimentary breakfast, free wireless internet, and in-room coffee makers. Whether for business or leisure, The hotel Champlain is the perfect place to stay. Our staff looks forward to your next visit with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Rodeway Inn Champlain Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Orillia
Quality Hotel Orillia
Rodeway Inn Champlain Waterfront Orillia, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing