We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel experience to date!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Champlain Waterfront Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Collingwood, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst hotel experience to date!”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Air freshener smell in the room was so overpowering it gave us headaches.
Couldn't shower as the drain was full of pubes that filled the tub as soon as we turned the water on.
Sheets on one bed were dirty. Room was broken into while we were at the concert.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Blackirish77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    19
    25
    10
    27
See reviews for
19
36
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stoney Creek
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My husband and I had tickets to a concert at the Casinorama, and I booked a room, just so we didn't have to make a long drive home. Didn't need to be fancy, but I was on a budget. This hotel was exactly what I had needed.

The location was fantastic. Down by the waterfront; in the summer would be beautiful. I'm sure the room would be more expensive come summer. We paid $65.00 on Priceline.

The hotel itself is very dated...it is in desperate need of an overhaul. But the service was great. People were very helpful and kind. Great location. Rooms very small - reminded us of a room you'd get in Europe. But for one night...worth it. Rooms were clean. Not immaculate...but clean.

TV didn't get a ton of channels.

There aren't elevators in this hotel.

I smelled chlorine, but never saw a pool.

Room Tip: There are no elevators in this place, so if you are elderly or have a hard time climbing stairs, mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcostam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at the Quality Hotel for a Christmas party. The location is beautiful, the building looked almost historical. I loved the layout of the hallways to the rooms, so different from the generic up a flight of stairs or elevator and straight down the hall. It was like a little maze, except that it was very well marked and not easy to get lost. When we walked into the room was the tiniest hotel room I've seen, but with a standard sized bathroom. The water in the shower ran nice and hot, and the bed was so comfortable. It was a perfect place for our one night stay! The continental breakfast was very good too. Thank you to the staff at the hotel for a very nice stay!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bernie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moosonee, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here one night in November. Forgot my $600 iPad on the chair in the room when checking out. Later when I realized that I had forgotten my tablet, the room had been cleaned and the iPad was forever gone with the cleaning. Went back twice to no good. Tried to contact management but not a word in return. A cheap stay that turned out to be very expensive in the end. Be aware!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric_W1252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Orillia hotels

Windsor, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The Room itself was clean , but it was very small . They had a fireplace that did not work in the room . If you have any kind of mobility issues this is not the place for you as they do not have elevators , nor really any kind of handicapped access to the building anywhere. There is nothing really compelling about this hotel except for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarJudyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My wife and I, along with 8 other couples from our car club booked this hotel for 2 nights, Saturday and Sunday. When we arrived, the reservations had been messed up with several couples ending up with double beds instead of kings. The rooms were very small, with a closet about 18 inches wide. However the room was clean and the bed comfortable. The hot tub and ice machine were broken and our room had a broken security lock and door stop like someone had kicked the door open. The noise at night inside and outside the hotel with partyers and a pub across the street was horrendous. The staff advised it was like that every weekend with lots of young people staying at the hotel. The hotel is 80 years old, has 3 floors and no elevator. I asked the desk clerk if they advised people there was no elevator when making reservations and she said, "usually". This would obviously be a concern to people with difficulties walking.
On a good note, the staff allowed our group to use the breakfast room in the evening so we could get together. The night clerk made a pot of coffee for me at 5:30 one morning even though breakfast wasn't available until 6 a.m. The hotel is close to the main street with a number of decent restaurants and shops within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karageen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orillia hotels
1.2 mi away
Stone Gate Inn
Stone Gate Inn
#1 of 14 in Orillia
541 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 14 in Orillia
208 reviews
1.3 mi away
Highwayman Inn & Conference Centre
1.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#13 of 14 in Orillia
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Champlain Waterfront Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Champlain Waterfront Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection

Property: The Champlain Waterfront Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection
Address: 2 Front St N, Orillia, Ontario L3V 4R5, Canada (Formerly Rodeway Inn Champlain Waterfront)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — The Champlain Waterfront Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection 1.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of Downtown and steps away from the Port of Orillia, this historic hotel is close to numerous local attractions and places of interest including Casino Rama, the Leacock Museum, Orillia Opera House. The OPP Museum and Hawk Ridge Golf & Country Club, Lakehead University and Georgian College are also in the area. A wide variety of restaurants and shops surround the hotel. The city Orillia boasts miles of paved trails from one end of town to another, providing plenty of options for hiking, jogging, biking and rollerblading. Guests of this hotel are provided with a complimentary breakfast, free wireless internet, and in-room coffee makers. Whether for business or leisure, The hotel Champlain is the perfect place to stay. Our staff looks forward to your next visit with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Champlain Waterfront Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Orillia
Quality Hotel Orillia
The Champlain Waterfront Hotel, An Ascend Hotel Collection Orillia, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing