We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our new "go to" place to stay in Orillia!!!”
Review of Stone Gate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stone Gate Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our new "go to" place to stay in Orillia!!!”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

My husband and I have vacationed near Orillia for many years on our boat. Health issues have made boating difficult but an invitation from Orillia's amazing stamp/scrapbooking store, Under Construction, to attend a special workshop was too good to pass up. We booked into Stone Gate Inn sight unseen based on reviews from this site and were so glad we did! The room was wonderful, spotlessly clean...perfect temperature, and the kitchenette was so handy. Staff so very pleasant and the breakfast was so much more than we anticipated...as was the cheese and biscuits tray!! We will certainly return and have in fact, already booked another stay in the fall..maybe this time we will have time for a dip in the pool or a soak in the hot tub. Thank you Stone Gate Inn for a fabulous stay and mini vacation.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NurseRatchet60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    146
    30
    6
    2
See reviews for
110
264
17
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Stone Gate Inn with our daughter for a dance competition in Orillia. We have been to Orillia several times for competitions and stayed at a variety of locations. None of them even remotely compared to Stone Gate.

The location is just a short drive from the downtown area, and even closer to the waterfront and boardwalk. The building is a Century old building with complete renovations and modern fit and finish.

The room we chose was a 1 bedroom suite (bedroom, separate living room, and a kitchen with all but a full oven) although rooms with full kitchens are available. The room had wireless internet, a large flat screen television in the living room and a smaller flat screen television in the bedroom. The king size bed was very comfortable and my daughter reports that the pull out bed she slept on was one of the best she has ever slept on.

The lobby lounge and bar had free snacks from 4pm-7pm and beverages or meals available if desired. My daughters and her dance colleagues used the indoor swimming pool, it is small but served its purpose.

Parking was readily available right out front of the doors, a grocery store is next door, and a Beer store is across the road.

The room and the rest of the property was kept clean and fresh throughout our stay and the pride of the staff showed.

The room rate was approx $129 per night, slightly higher than most other motels or hotels in the area, but much nicer, newer and cleaner. Excellent value for the area, we will use this facility again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zegr81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

My fiance and I stayed at the Stone Gate Inn on the Sunday night of the long weekend.

We reserved a Fireplace Studio Suite. It was beautiful! It had a king size bed, gas fireplace and small kitchenette area. The room was large, immaculately clean and tastefully decorated. We were on the top floor in room 411 overlooking a school bus yard. We found the view to be pretty humourous and just fine as we did not plan to spend much time looking out the window. The bed was so soft and comfortable - I slept great!

The Inn is about 15 minutes away from Casino Rama and 5 minutes away from the beach at Couchiching Park. (Great park!)

Check-in and out was quick, friendly and efficient!

The rates at this Inn are great as well - extremely reasonable!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank writetosfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2011

New, ten-year-old, very clean, Marvellous value
Christian a delightful , helpful clerk at desk,
offered information on transportation to Toronto Pearson airport if my friend was unable to drive me there next morning.
Room was sumptuous with a breakfast nook, sitting room, bedroom.
Great relaxing hot tub above the small swimming pool on first floor.
Excellent self-serve breakfast with superb jogurt, good coffee,

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holkham2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

My husband, daughter and I stayed at the Stonegate Inn two weeks ago. We were visiting my family who had rented a cottage on Lake Simcoe, about 15 minutes away.

We had reserved an executive suite for the three of us, so our daughter could sleep in the living room area and we'd have some privacy in the master bedroom. The layout of the room was very spacious and comfortable. Free continental breakfast was included, which was also a perk.

The staff were terrific - friendly and helpful. The hote's true sense of service was realized after we had checked out and realized hours later (after we had already driven back to Toronto) that our toddler daughter had left her beloved bunny in the hotel.

We called the evening we realized bunny was missing and although the front desk staff was unable to check the housekeeper's closet, they promised to call back the next morning when housekeeping staff arrived - which they did. We then learned that staff had found bunny and were holding this for us at the front desk. My husband and I then traveled three hours (round-trip) to recover bunny.

The moral of the story - always tip housekeeping staff when staying at a hotel - and think of Stonegate Inn when visiting Orillia!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nvg1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Stayed for 1 night after concert at Casino Rama. Room rate was $109 (CAA rate) per night for a double room. Room was spotless with a well equipped kitchenette.
Pool was also spotless and kept at a refreshing temperature that was easy to get into. Hot tub and pool were both well maintained- no concern other than the pool size is smaller- it is good to cool down in but not large enough to use for any serious exercise.
Breakfast was continental but was actually a full breakfast- eggs, sausage, cereal, toast etc- one of the best we have ever had in a hotel.
The beds were very comfortable- soft.
Overall we did not have any concerns with this hotel- have stayed in other similar priced hotels in the area and this one is the best.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magoo2153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Stayed one night and purchased 2 rooms for our family.
Very friendly and efficent staff when I booked the rooms and when I checked in.
The entire property was very clean.
The rooms were very,very clean.
Comfortable king bed with 6 pillows.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan81287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orillia
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 14 in Orillia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Days Inn - Orillia
1.5 mi away
Highwayman Inn & Conference Centre
20.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Gate Inn

Property: Stone Gate Inn
Address: 437 Laclie St, Orillia, Ontario L3V 4P7, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone Gate Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Lake Country, just 1 hour north of Toronto, you will find the heights of luxury and comfort at Stone Gate Inn. Designed to provide the ultimate in relaxation with exquisite decor and upscale amenities, including Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast, cozy Fireside Lounge, Shuttle to Casino Rama and so much more! Just Minutes from Orillia's quaint downtown shopping, or enjoy a stroll through one of the many Waterfront Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Stone Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Gate Hotel Orillia
Hotel Stone Gate
Stone Gate Inn Orillia, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing