We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!!”
Review of Stone Gate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stone Gate Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We were needing a place to stay for our family get together to celebrate our folks 60th. Took a chance, never been before, but after this stay, we will definitely be back. Pool and hot tub, great. The Deluxe continental breakfast was good, eggs, sausages, fruit, cereals, juices, muffins, danish,yogurt, and much more. It was like home. The staff made us feel special. Our grandson loved it!!! Thanks for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2011

Attractive hotel, super clean and well maintained, rooms very comfortable with plenty of amenities. Room had fridge, microwave, and basic dishes/wine glasses, etc., for in-room eating. The included continental breakfast was good and had bacon and eggs, muffins, bagels, cereal. Pool is indoors and tiny, so don't expect too much lounging. Our only real problem here was very spotty wi-fi and phone service which according to the staff is a result of very solid concrete block construction. This meant the room was super quiet, but that if we wanted to do work on the internet we had to sit on a corner of the bed - -- couldn't get a connection at the in room desk. We mistakenly thought we'd be able to walk to plenty of places in town from this hotel, which turned out not to be true, driving is a must. We'd definitely stay here again next time we're in Orillia.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midlandpark3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Guelph ON Over the past 7 years The Stone Gate Inn has been our Home when we attend to business or visit family & friends in Orillia. All staff members know our first names, our accommodation needs & we are treated as members of The Stone Gate family. The staff work as team. They genuinely care about each other & their guests. The rooms are spacious, immaculately clean and well - priced. Orillia is our hometown but family & friends know we book our rooms @ Stone Gate before committing to a family function. We will not stay anywhere other than The Stonegate Inn. The location is great - grocery store next door, convenience & beer stores across the street, shuttle service to the Casino, dine in or out, great breakfast and close to downtown, highway, beach areas.
In short, we feel that t.he Stonegate family has become part of our family

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mereen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

My husband and I have vacationed near Orillia for many years on our boat. Health issues have made boating difficult but an invitation from Orillia's amazing stamp/scrapbooking store, Under Construction, to attend a special workshop was too good to pass up. We booked into Stone Gate Inn sight unseen based on reviews from this site and were so glad we did! The room was wonderful, spotlessly clean...perfect temperature, and the kitchenette was so handy. Staff so very pleasant and the breakfast was so much more than we anticipated...as was the cheese and biscuits tray!! We will certainly return and have in fact, already booked another stay in the fall..maybe this time we will have time for a dip in the pool or a soak in the hot tub. Thank you Stone Gate Inn for a fabulous stay and mini vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NurseRatchet60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Stone Gate Inn with our daughter for a dance competition in Orillia. We have been to Orillia several times for competitions and stayed at a variety of locations. None of them even remotely compared to Stone Gate.

The location is just a short drive from the downtown area, and even closer to the waterfront and boardwalk. The building is a Century old building with complete renovations and modern fit and finish.

The room we chose was a 1 bedroom suite (bedroom, separate living room, and a kitchen with all but a full oven) although rooms with full kitchens are available. The room had wireless internet, a large flat screen television in the living room and a smaller flat screen television in the bedroom. The king size bed was very comfortable and my daughter reports that the pull out bed she slept on was one of the best she has ever slept on.

The lobby lounge and bar had free snacks from 4pm-7pm and beverages or meals available if desired. My daughters and her dance colleagues used the indoor swimming pool, it is small but served its purpose.

Parking was readily available right out front of the doors, a grocery store is next door, and a Beer store is across the road.

The room and the rest of the property was kept clean and fresh throughout our stay and the pride of the staff showed.

The room rate was approx $129 per night, slightly higher than most other motels or hotels in the area, but much nicer, newer and cleaner. Excellent value for the area, we will use this facility again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zegr81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

My fiance and I stayed at the Stone Gate Inn on the Sunday night of the long weekend.

We reserved a Fireplace Studio Suite. It was beautiful! It had a king size bed, gas fireplace and small kitchenette area. The room was large, immaculately clean and tastefully decorated. We were on the top floor in room 411 overlooking a school bus yard. We found the view to be pretty humourous and just fine as we did not plan to spend much time looking out the window. The bed was so soft and comfortable - I slept great!

The Inn is about 15 minutes away from Casino Rama and 5 minutes away from the beach at Couchiching Park. (Great park!)

Check-in and out was quick, friendly and efficient!

The rates at this Inn are great as well - extremely reasonable!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank writetosfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

New, ten-year-old, very clean, Marvellous value
Christian a delightful , helpful clerk at desk,
offered information on transportation to Toronto Pearson airport if my friend was unable to drive me there next morning.
Room was sumptuous with a breakfast nook, sitting room, bedroom.
Great relaxing hot tub above the small swimming pool on first floor.
Excellent self-serve breakfast with superb jogurt, good coffee,

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holkham2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orillia
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 14 in Orillia
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Champlain Waterfront Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection
20.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
3.7 mi away
Days Inn - Orillia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Gate Inn

Address: 437 Laclie St, Orillia, Ontario L3V 4P7, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Price Range: £91 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone Gate Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Lake Country, just 1 hour north of Toronto, you will find the heights of luxury and comfort at Stone Gate Inn. Designed to provide the ultimate in relaxation with exquisite decor and upscale amenities, including Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast, cozy Fireside Lounge, Shuttle to Casino Rama and so much more! Just Minutes from Orillia's quaint downtown shopping, or enjoy a stroll through one of the many Waterfront Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Stone Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Gate Hotel Orillia
Hotel Stone Gate
Stone Gate Inn Orillia, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing