We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic stay at Stone Gate”
Review of Stone Gate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stone Gate Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel a few years ago and decided to visit Orillia for the weekend and once again chose Stone Gate. Beautiful hotel, great suites and fantastic service. I can see how it is rated #1 on Trip Advisor for hotels in Orillia consistently. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DittoExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2011

This is the first time we have been in Orillia, and when we chose to stay at Stone Gate inn, we made the best decision of our trip. The front desk girls were informative, friendly, and very helpful in suggestion on attractions, and restaurant to dine at. Cocktail hour was very relaxing, and the pool , yet it was small was just enough to cool off after the whirlpool. The rooms were clean, corridors were clean, and the free breakfast (which is included in the price) was a great bonus. We will definitely stay there again and recommend the place to any one who is visiting the area. It is 10 minutes from the casio ,5 minutes from the boat tours and 6 minutes from downtown, which has a lot of shops for all the tourists.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We had 15 couples from the states visiting our Canadian friends for a golf outing. Christian was outstanding when running the hotel, whether behind the counter or behind the bar. Laurie was his afternoon and early evening replacement and she did an equally great job. Nicky followed up on the night shift abd the hits just kept on happening. Our entire group was made to feel extremely appreciated and welcome during our stay. We will be back!

Room Tip: All suites, some are larger than others, can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We will definitely stay again. The best and cheapest hotel by Casino Rama

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie_N1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

For those interested in a destination type, one stop one shop wedding in Orillia, Ontario, read on. The hotel involved is the Stone Gate Inn. Christian, the hotel director, will take care of all the lodging for your wedding party. The Island Princess and Cate Dore, the wedding planner, will address your every need for the planning of the wedding. The wedding ceremony, the dinner and the ensuing reception. The Mariposa Bakery will take care of the wedding cake and Flowers by June will handle the flowers for the bride, groom and wedding party. We hired buses to transport the guests from the Stone Gate Inn to the Island Princess (1.5 miles) and back due to the guests and their intake of alcohol during the reception. Laura Makins of FirstStudent Bus Lines will take care of all the bus arrngements.
The cruise leaves the dock at 6:00 PM and returns at 11:00 PM. The Island Princess is a two storie ship. The wedding ceremony and the exchanging of the vows took place on the top floor. The dinner was served on the first floor a little later and was simply delicious. We danced all night under the stars and when all was said and done, the guests were simply amazed at how well everyone was treated and the great time that everyone had on board the ship. The wedding cake was well prepared by the Mariposa Bakery and Katie and was simply scrumptious. We returned to the Stone Gate Inn, the best well appointed boutique hotel in Orillia after the cruise and once again Christian and his staff ensured that the needs of all the guests were met. So for those planning a wedding that is different yet beatiful and romantic, the Island Princess is a great starting point. I can tell you that the best decision that my wife and I ever made was to have our wedding on board the Island Princess in Orillia, Ontario and stay at the Stone Gate Inn.
If anyone needs additional information, I can be contacted. I would be happy to offer any assistance I can that may steer you in the right direction.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walkinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We were needing a place to stay for our family get together to celebrate our folks 60th. Took a chance, never been before, but after this stay, we will definitely be back. Pool and hot tub, great. The Deluxe continental breakfast was good, eggs, sausages, fruit, cereals, juices, muffins, danish,yogurt, and much more. It was like home. The staff made us feel special. Our grandson loved it!!! Thanks for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Attractive hotel, super clean and well maintained, rooms very comfortable with plenty of amenities. Room had fridge, microwave, and basic dishes/wine glasses, etc., for in-room eating. The included continental breakfast was good and had bacon and eggs, muffins, bagels, cereal. Pool is indoors and tiny, so don't expect too much lounging. Our only real problem here was very spotty wi-fi and phone service which according to the staff is a result of very solid concrete block construction. This meant the room was super quiet, but that if we wanted to do work on the internet we had to sit on a corner of the bed - -- couldn't get a connection at the in room desk. We mistakenly thought we'd be able to walk to plenty of places in town from this hotel, which turned out not to be true, driving is a must. We'd definitely stay here again next time we're in Orillia.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midlandpark3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orillia
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 14 in Orillia
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Champlain Waterfront Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection
20.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
13.4 mi away
Horseshoe Resort
Horseshoe Resort
#7 of 19 in Barrie
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Gate Inn

Address: 437 Laclie St, Orillia, Ontario L3V 4P7, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Price Range: £88 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone Gate Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Lake Country, just 1 hour north of Toronto, you will find the heights of luxury and comfort at Stone Gate Inn. Designed to provide the ultimate in relaxation with exquisite decor and upscale amenities, including Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast, cozy Fireside Lounge, Shuttle to Casino Rama and so much more! Just Minutes from Orillia's quaint downtown shopping, or enjoy a stroll through one of the many Waterfront Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Stone Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Gate Hotel Orillia
Hotel Stone Gate
Stone Gate Inn Orillia, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing