We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort,style and outstanding service”
Review of Stone Gate Inn

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stone Gate Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfort,style and outstanding service”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed at the Stone Gate Inn after doing some research online. The reception staff were knowledgable and welcoming. The excutive suite was very comfortable. We appreciated having the kitchenette that was nicely eqiupped with the essentials.
The private bedroom was comfortable and roomy. The robes are a very nice touch. We liked having two entrances to the bathroom. The bed was
The staff could not be more helpful during breakfast. They kept the breakfast items plentiful and the area clean.
After experiencing the hospitality of the Stone Gate Inn, we will return. The stay was very relaxing and comfortable. The service at the Stone Gate is what other hotels should strive for.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    149
    31
    7
    2
See reviews for
112
273
17
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We stayed here for a "romantic night away" on our anniversary last year. Room was really nice and bed was super comfie, which was important considering I was 7 months pregnant at the time! Gorgeous bathroom with corner jet tub for two and separate shower.
Desk staff were friendly with lots of jokes so pack your sense of humor.
Pool was a bit small, but not busy, so was okay for us. Breakfast was good as well - nice selection for a continental.
The only thing I wasn't crazy about was the location (not so scenic) and the view from our window, which was of a school bus parking lot...!!? Otherwise, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingwood, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2012

3 of us recently stayed here and had a wonderful time. executive suite room was immaculate and very quiet. king bed very comfortable and even the sofa bed got a thumbs up! great idea to have 2 entrances to the bathroom. everything we needed was already there (and in working order) plus extras we hadn't expected. continental breakfast had lots of choices and even included hot items! staff was very friendly and accomodating. the turn down with chocolates on the pillows were a nice touch. reasonably priced for everything you get. short drive to great shopping and the casino.
will definitely return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ittre, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I chose this hotel because it was the #1 ranked in the area. Certainly the service was good and friendly and the rooms were comfortable, well-equipped and quiet. However everything was rather dark and gloomy and a little run-down. Because I was tired after a very long journey I decided to eat a bar snack/evening meal. Big mistake! The shepherd's pie was almost all potato and the bread roll was distinctly stale. In my room the WiFi was free, fast and reliable. The price was a liitle high.

All in all a decent choice and I would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Liskeard, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed only one night but will definitely return for a nice, relaxing weekend! The rooms are cozy, clean and designed to offer luxurious relaxation with lovely fireplaces and whirlpool tubs! Compared to other similar properties in other cities, the Stone Gate Inn, offers an affordable alternative for a luxury couples getaway.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2012

This was our first visit to the Stone Gate Inn and it will be our only choice if we're back in Orillia. The staff was gracious and attentive and the rooms were perfectly suited to our needs. Beds were comfortable and the rooms were stocked with more than enough dishes and glasses. There is a great hot breakfast (included) where, once again you can enjoy the friendly staff! Congratulations to the staff and all who are part of making the Stone Gate Inn so welcoming and comfortable!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

This was our first stay at this hotel and we will definitely be back! Our room was a small suite, complete with fridge, wet bar, microwave, toaster, and coffeemaker, and there were dishes and cutlery provided. The bed and pillows were comfortable, a turn down service was provided, and the room was very clean. There is a small pool and hot tub on the main floor, as well as a small bar/restaurant called the Fireside Lounge, which serves locally brewed beer. Breakfast is included in the cost of the room. Free parking is available, and there is a 24-hour grocery store very close by. The staff was friendly, and the rates were very reasonable. We were impressed with our stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orillia
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 14 in Orillia
208 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Days Inn - Orillia
2.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#13 of 14 in Orillia
229 reviews
1.5 mi away
Highwayman Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Stone Gate Inn

Property: Stone Gate Inn
Address: 437 Laclie St, Orillia, Ontario L3V 4P7, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Orillia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone Gate Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Lake Country, just 1 hour north of Toronto, you will find the heights of luxury and comfort at Stone Gate Inn. Designed to provide the ultimate in relaxation with exquisite decor and upscale amenities, including Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast, cozy Fireside Lounge, Shuttle to Casino Rama and so much more! Just Minutes from Orillia's quaint downtown shopping, or enjoy a stroll through one of the many Waterfront Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stone Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Gate Hotel Orillia
Hotel Stone Gate
Stone Gate Inn Orillia, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing