We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Orillia Stop-over” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stone Gate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stone Gate Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Certificate of Excellence
Whitby, Canada
1 review
“Orillia Stop-over”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Every aspect of this independent hotel is of much higher quality than is typical for a small community. Most guests will agree that the most essential element of every high performing, highly rated hotel is top-notch service and genuine hospitality. It is in this area where the property completely misses the mark. The purpose of our trip was to transition from family vacation mode to a couple's get-away however the excellent telephone reservation booking experience was in no way duplicated at check-in. Front desk staff are like a store front window.
Management may want to review their hiring and staff placement rationale if Stone Gate Inn is to remain one of Trip Advisor's top 25 hotels in Canada.

Room Tip: The upgraded room we booked and were finally assigned was much nicer than room 204 which is right be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    140
    30
    6
    2
See reviews for
108
252
17
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

You can tell that the intent of the hotel administration is to provide great value, while also providing those extra little things that make you feel that you are appreciated as a guest.

The free internet, kitchenette, fridge and microwave are all included at no extra cost.
The breakfast had plenty of choice and was great.
This place is a definite "keeper".

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FergiesfromOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

A small group of nurses return to this great hotel each year now for our reunion. Have been going for at least 5 years now and love it here!! Friendly, courteous attentive staff, clean rooms and everyone always so accomodating to us!! The Happy Hour is a nice touch and Breakfast is very good and lots of variety. Higly recommend to anyone wanting good value and luxury suites!!!!!

Room Tip: we like 2nd floor rooms and they have ajoining rooms as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 154990Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Hope, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed at Stone Gate (first time) for two nights (7, 8) and had a great time. The room was huge in comparision to other hotels and all the amenities were modern and in great working order. The Staff was friendly and when asked for assistance/directions it was prompt and gracious. Breakfast was a wonderful surprise, eggs, toast, sausage, coffee, tea, fruit, cerial...if we are ever venturing up to that area again the Stone Gate will be our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Just back from a night at the stone gate inn in orilla. After working many years in the hospitality industry I would have to say the hotel is very clean but the customer service is much to be desired. The lady that checked us in was very rude and very short. The man that was at the front desk in the evening and this morning was very rude and thought he was funny. There is a time and place for comedy and it is on the stage a yuk yuks. We asked fir die tins this morning how to get to the highway and the rely we received was" you really have no idea where you are going?" really!! Well if we did we wouldn't have asked! Why do the staff haven no name tags? This hotel could be so much better if you improve on your customer service and update your main areas.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherilee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgigm, General Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
After reading your comments regarding the front desk humour, I could not help but agree that at times the employee you refer to does push the envelope. In many cases guests enjoy his humour, but I also understand that our job is to make everyone comfortable, and to be professional. I apologize that you found the attempt at humour out of place. Employees are also required to wear name tags while on duty. I have spoken directly with both who have assured me that reading your comments has reminded them the importance of following our policies, and that they must always be respectful and professional.



I sincerely hope that you decide to stay with us again as we would love the opportunity to provide you with the exceptional customer service that we are known for.



Respectfully,

Maureen Way

General Manager

STONE GATE INN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

We have been going to the stone gate since it had open .Iam from Orillia my mother was sick for many years so the stone gate became are second home when away from Ottawa.when my brother in law died they made sure we had a room also had a veary nice basket of flowers for us .the service is great and the staff always treat us with respect .now Orillia I lived in Toronto for years .every weelend when Toronto leaves to get away i wonder why do they head for Orillia if it is so bad because the reviews show the stone gate gets a lot of the same people over and over big is not always better.Orillia has a lot to offer we will be staying at stonegate this Aug looking forward the staying with them Ottawa.

Room Tip: we have stayed in lot of the rooms over the years they have all been great and always clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pauley9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
214 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Just returned from another visit with family in Orillia. Staying at the Stonegate Inn is always a pleasure. We like to have some time to ourselves even though the purpose of our visit is family time so this is our repeated place of choice.

This easy to find from Highway 11 spot is very pretty with massive flower pots and gardens and a bright well furnished lobby. It is located beside a 24 hour food store so picking up snacks etc. is very conveneint.

Friendly staff, clean room, with good free internet is perfect for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarilynBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orillia
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 14 in Orillia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Days Inn - Orillia
1.5 mi away
Highwayman Inn & Conference Centre
20.3 mi away
Residence Inn Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Gate Inn

Property: Stone Gate Inn
Address: 437 Laclie St, Orillia, Ontario L3V 4P7, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone Gate Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Lake Country, just 1 hour north of Toronto, you will find the heights of luxury and comfort at Stone Gate Inn. Designed to provide the ultimate in relaxation with exquisite decor and upscale amenities, including Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast, cozy Fireside Lounge, Shuttle to Casino Rama and so much more! Just Minutes from Orillia's quaint downtown shopping, or enjoy a stroll through one of the many Waterfront Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Stone Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Gate Hotel Orillia
Hotel Stone Gate
Stone Gate Inn Orillia, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing