We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A FANTASTIC FIRST” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stone Gate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stone Gate Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A FANTASTIC FIRST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

My first time staying here and I was expecting good things as it is ranked # 1. I was not disappointed. Property was well kept, very tidy, clean place. They were very accommodating to my handicapped needs. The bathroom and bathtub were sparkling, they provided a bath seat with a non slip mat and raised toilet, this was very helpful. Room was more than I expected. Comfortable double beds, desk & office chair 2 other comfortable chairs for relaxing. Great 40 inch flat screen t.v. with cable and high speed internet. The alarm clock was great for my ipod. I think the best thing was the mini kitchen, it had all you need. Nice granite counter/sink, toaster, coffee maker, fridge, microwave and real dishes, silverware, glasses and plates. This was great if you want to make use of the 24 hr full grocery store right next door to make your own food and save money from eating out. If you just want something light the lounge on site has some comfort foods like pizza, wings, lasagna and Sheppard's pie. They also have complimentary breakfast and kuregg coffee in the lounge as well, you don't need anything more. Swimming pool and hot tub was small but ample for a quick dip to relax in. I think it was a few small touches that impressed me most, there was an umbrella at the front door to use if it rained and the housemaid stopped by at bed time to check if there was something I needed and dropped off a cute card with tomorrows weather posted and some yummy chocolate mints. Would I stay again? Charming town, charming place and polite helpful staff, the answer is..... yes, yes, yes.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SXTHRPST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesOrillia, General Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide such wonderful feedback. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    140
    30
    6
    2
See reviews for
108
253
17
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

My wife and I were headed to a party in Orillia last week and decided to drive up a day early and see the local countryside before the event. based on Trip Advisor's # 1 rating for the Stone Gate Inn, we booked a "Fireside Suite". The price included a full (they called it a "deluxe continental") breakfast, and was a very good value. The rooms are exceptionally clean, the beds are very comfortable, the shower is lovely and the staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The indoor poll and hot tub, coupled with nightly turn-down service with chocolates left on our pillows, only made us enjoy our stay even more. If only our side trip to Casino Rama had been as accommodating...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank colombo834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesOrillia, General Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

My wife and I returned to Orillia after a hectic Labour day weekend and stayed Stone Gate Inn. We enjoyed an executive suite and it was clean, well laid out and quiet from street noise. The hotel is close to Tim Horton's, the waterfront park, and a golf course that I intend to take my Son and Son in law to play when we stay in Orillia next time. Our Grand kids loved the park and its small train that wanders through the park. The hotel is minutes away from Rama and makes for a perfect base from which to see the attractions of Orillia and then get a little spoiled by staying in an extraordinary hotel.
The hotel is very well run and the staff care very much about your contentment. Thank you Leneza, Nicole, Heather, Jody,Jamie,Sean, for a welcoming and very relaxing stay.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitchenerjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesOrillia, General Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
I'm very glad to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay and that you intend to return. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Hope, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at the Stone Gate Inn and I would have given the hotel a much better rating if there hadn't of been a big stain in the carpet right in the middle of the open space in the room. When you stay in a hotel which you've chosen because of how they describe themselves and also how others review them...you just expect better than that...I'm sure that there must be some way you can have that fixed or repaired, but please do not give that room to anyone else until you do or at least have the courtesy to inform them before they take the room. If it bothers a person enough to go down to the desk and report the condition of the room..which my husband did...it makes sense that they at the desk would think that you might not be too happy with it...but he was just told that it was done by the new cleaners that the hotel uses.

In all fairness though...the room was fairly nice and the bed was very comfortable and I would have given it a good review had we been given a more suitable room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesOrillia, General Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
I'm very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. This is something that I would very much like the opportunity to address. I have attempted to find the details of your recent stay so that I may ensure that your concerns have been remedied but have not been able to acquire enough information. I would sincerely ask that you contact me at the Inn so that I may look into this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

The outside of the building is very well landscaped and beautiful. We had to drive through what seemed like a dodgy area to get here but was very impressed with the Inn and felt safe. The room (and building in general) is extremely clean. The bathroom had the same amenities as a big chain hotel (shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, lotion, bath cap and hair dryer). The linens and towels were crisp and white. The beds very comfortable....reminded me of beds at the Marriott. The night was very quiet and peaceful.
Our room had a bar fridge, kitchen sink, microwave, toaster and coffee maker. It also had a cupboard with plates, bowls, glasses and plastic cups.
The staff is welcoming and friendly. They greeted us when we came in late after an evening out.
I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sistaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesOrillia, General Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
I'm very glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations and look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

A last minute travel up North led us to the only availability we could find - Orillia. Stone Gate Inn was such a pleasant surprise. We had no idea the Gem that was hidden in this small community. Location is excellent, only minutes drive to the Waterfront. The room was overly spacious, clean, and felt like Home. The kitchenette was fully stocked and the bed was so comfy. We were sad that we were only staying one night. Front desk very courteous, helped us find a restaurant for dinner. Nice treat to have our bed turned down with chocolate. Breakfast was very good, although tight squeeze, apparently there is another room so maybe would be a good idea to let guests know about it. Overall an excellent stay. Request the corner room (near stairs) I think it is a bigger suite.

Room Tip: ask for corner room (near stairs) I think it may be a larger layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4travellin4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesOrillia, General Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
I'm glad to hear that you have found us and that you enjoyed your recent stay. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
179 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Location: In sort of a residential area, next to a school bus depot, no room with a view.
Checkin: Quick and cheerful.
Room: We had a two room "suite" with kitchen. The room was well furnished and very clean. The bed in a separate bedroom was very comfortable. The room was extremely clean.
Service: We came back to the hotel late after seeing a concert at Casino Rama and were hungry. A staff was in the lounge preparing for the morning breakfast. We told her we here hungry and she offered us a quick snack, which I through was very nice.
Morning breakfast: Basic could be better.
Summary: A nice clean hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMC_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesOrillia, General Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your recent visit. We look forward to hosting you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orillia
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 14 in Orillia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Days Inn - Orillia
1.5 mi away
Highwayman Inn & Conference Centre
2.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#11 of 14 in Orillia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Gate Inn

Property: Stone Gate Inn
Address: 437 Laclie St, Orillia, Ontario L3V 4P7, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone Gate Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Lake Country, just 1 hour north of Toronto, you will find the heights of luxury and comfort at Stone Gate Inn. Designed to provide the ultimate in relaxation with exquisite decor and upscale amenities, including Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast, cozy Fireside Lounge, Shuttle to Casino Rama and so much more! Just Minutes from Orillia's quaint downtown shopping, or enjoy a stroll through one of the many Waterfront Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Stone Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Gate Hotel Orillia
Hotel Stone Gate
Stone Gate Inn Orillia, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing