We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and comfortable inn”
Review of Stone Gate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stone Gate Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Large room with a comfortable king sized bed and a gas fireplace (not used as it is summer). Besides the desk lamp, there is only one comfortable chair with enough light to read. Bathroom with lots of towels and the standard equipment. Could use a second towel bar. Better than usual bathtub-shower facility with extra shelves, two grab bars and a good shower head. The unit is very slippery as there was no pad or coarse spray in the tub.
The inn has a small indoor pool with a hot tub and an exercise room. The lounge serves as bar and as breakfast room. Good and ample breakfast.The personnel at the desk was very helpful and knowledgeable about the city.

Room Tip: The top floor (4) is quiet and accessible with a large elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lenk53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesOrillia, General Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments.
Please be aware that if you find the tubs a bit "slippy" we can certainly provide a bath mat for your next stay simply advise our guest service staff when making your booking.
We look forward to hosting you agin soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 597 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

May 23 & 24th,2014 Again a group of Retired RN's from Orillia Soldier's Memorial met here for our Annual get together. We have been coming here for many years and never so far leave disappointed! Such a clean, friendly hotel! We love it here! Casino bus is a nice added extra as is Friday evening Cocktail Hour with nice variety of appetizers to choose from, while in bar sitting area. Complimentary Breakfast is fresh, well prepared and great variety again to choose from.
Staff here are wonderful each and every time we come! Their $ is very reasonable as well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 154990Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesOrillia, General Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

It was so nice to see everyone again this year! We thank you for your continued patronage and look forward to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Very nice hotel, friendly and accomdataing staff. We booked a large group outing for a weekend and were out by 4:30am each morning. The staff had breakfast ready for us at that time even though the official breakfast time was 7am to 10am. Enjoyed the stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesOrillia, General Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope we have the pleasure of hosting you agian soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is the Third time i have stayed at the Stone Gate Inn in Orillia. All three times I have used their Casino package that includes breakfast, casino chips and transportation to the casino for an event. Every time that I have stayed there has been very excellent, clean and comfortable. Keep up the great work at the Stone Gate Inn!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jules M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesOrillia, General Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

It is so great to hear comments like that, thank you! We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Absolute hidden gem in Orillia, staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Rooms are very nicely appointed, clean and comfortable. The buffet breakfast definately is a bonus. They also have a nice little pool and hot tub.

Want to give a shout out to the Manager, Christian, who was able to find us rooms during a crisis at our home, despite a very busy schedule for the Inn.
He definately went that extra mile, as did the rest of the staff there. We cannot thank them enough for helping us out!
We would reccommend this Inn to anyone!

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaston C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesOrillia, General Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you so much for the kind comments. It was my pleasure to meet you and your family. I'm very happy we were able to make your stay relaxing and ejoyable during a difficult time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend this hotel. Good value for money. Great staff and excellent rooms.
Only stayed one night, but we couldn't find anything to complain about.
Included breakfast was a bonus.
Would love to stay at this hotel again, if our travels take us to this area.



Stayed: May 2014
Thank 405Paul_M405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesOrillia, General Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you so much for the kind review. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We just returned from spending a long weekend at Stone Gate Inn. I'm usually nervous about booking rooms that have kitchen facilities but our suite was immaculately clean, the bed comfortable, and the hotel was quiet. The pool is very tiny...probably great for those with children...and the breakfast was very basic but we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxCanada54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesOrillia, General Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orillia
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 14 in Orillia
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Champlain Waterfront Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection
13.4 mi away
Horseshoe Resort
Horseshoe Resort
#6 of 19 in Barrie
1,087 reviews
20.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Gate Inn

Address: 437 Laclie St, Orillia, Ontario L3V 4P7, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Price Range: £88 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone Gate Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Lake Country, just 1 hour north of Toronto, you will find the heights of luxury and comfort at Stone Gate Inn. Designed to provide the ultimate in relaxation with exquisite decor and upscale amenities, including Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast, cozy Fireside Lounge, Shuttle to Casino Rama and so much more! Just Minutes from Orillia's quaint downtown shopping, or enjoy a stroll through one of the many Waterfront Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stone Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Gate Hotel Orillia
Hotel Stone Gate
Stone Gate Inn Orillia, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing