We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise”
Review of Stone Gate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stone Gate Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Certificate of Excellence
Thornhill, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here because we were visiting our grandchildren the next day for Visitor's Day at a nearby camp. We decided to come to Orillia a day earlier and make it a mini holiday. We were pleasantly surprised by this lovely Inn. It is an all suite hotel so every room has a little efficiency kitchen area. If you are staying several nights, which we weren't , the hotel is conveniently located next to a 24 hour Foodland. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Friday nights there are complimentary orderves served between 5 - 8 pm. This was the perfect mini meal as we headed to the Casino. The staff were very friendly. We would stay here again if we were taking in the entertainment at Rama. Good value. Continental breakfast is also included. Free coffee is available all day and at the front desk there was a basket of fresh apples to enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adele08wall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesOrillia, General Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
I'm very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    150
    31
    7
    2
See reviews for
113
274
17
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our three night stay at Stone Gate was very nice !! The building is lovely ! I was at first view so impressed with the lovely flower boxes from numerous windows and planters out front ! They were lush and very well cared for !! The interior did not disappoint. Our suite was lovely ..........two rooms, and wonderfully comfortable king size bed and the best robes I've had anywhere !!! And chocolate mint sticks on the pillow too !!!!
A very short drive to a wonderful park, beach and boardwalk .
This hotel is linked to an awesome fine dining restaurant that's about a 5 minute drive away, and they will make the reservations for you at the front desk.
Everything was immaculately clean and cared for.
The only possible improvement I could ask for would be a better continental breakfast. What we had was ok, but some fresh fruit would be a big improvement ! and perhaps a larger overall selection.
We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanleycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesOrillia, General Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I'm sorry you missed the fresh fruit for breakfast as we do keep bananas in our breakfast area and apples at our front desk. Adding some more variety to our fruit options is a great suggestion, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband and I booked a last minute bike trip riding the Oro-Medonte Rail Trail last weekend. It was during the Scottish Festival in Orillia and hotel space was limited. Stone Gate Inn had pretty decent reviews and above all was rated as clean.

This hotel met and/or exceeded our expectations in terms of cleanliness, modern accommodations, service and space. Our only complaints would be that it was not close the city center/downtown..must drive (or bike) and the pool facility was super small. It served our needs for certain, but it was have been disappointing if we had our kids with us and were expecting a family sized pool.

Super clean, breakfast was good and service fantastic

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veenjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesOrillia, General Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the timie to comment on our property. I'm happy to hear we were able to make your visit to Orillia a good one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I recently had the opportunity to enjoy a stop over at this wonderful establishment . We were going to the Casino to see a concert (for an anniversary treat) and decided to spend the night. Imagine our surprise when we reached our room and a lovely bottle of complimentary sparkling wine was there from the staff congratulating us on this special occasion.
The room was immaculate, the beds very comfortable and the staff outstanding. We will definitely make it a point to return to this inn whenever we are in the area, and we will refer all our friends visiting the Casino to do likewise. Thank you again to all of the staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sazanneannne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesOrillia, General Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay and congratulations on your anniversary! Hopefully we will have the pleasure of hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I spent 1 night this past week and was so impressed that I wanted to write a review. I had a 1 bedroom suite with king size bed which was extremely comfortable. I was greeted with mints on the bed & the bathrobes were very luxurious. There was a fully equipped kitchen, French doors to the bedroom, a beautiful jacuzzi tub as well as a roomy shower. The entire suite was very clean & I was pleased that I was able to open patio doors off the living room. note: There is only a railing so one cannot sit on a balcony.
There were very generous appetizers from 5-8 pm in the small bar as well as a continental breakfast from 6-10 am. There is no restaurant in the inn but there are several restaurants within 1-2 kms. There is also a room service menu.
The view was not great (yard of school buses) but it was very quiet.
The inn offers a very reasonably priced Casino Rama package as well as golf & skiing packages.
I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Room on opposite side of highway very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mijolebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesOrillia, General Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope so see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We booked at Stone Gate Inn based on the customer reviews, but our stay was horrible. The air-condition system was making huge sound all through the night and we couldn't sleep. The fridge was also making terrible noice from its compressor, all in all Stone Gate was a bad choice. (We stayed on June 29, 2014)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesOrillia, General Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
I'm so very sorry to read that you were disturbed and did not enjoy your stay.

I was not aware of this issue until i read your comments and I would appreciate it if you would contact me at the hotel so that I can get information from you and address this immediately.
This is certainly not normal at Stone Gate Inn and I very much look forward to hearing from you.

Again please accept my most sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My family of 5 stayed here for 2 nights, and with other relatives in different rooms. We had the Executive Suite which has a separate bedroom and great sized mini-kitchen (included 4 sets of dishes, cutlery, wash cloth, tea towel and even dish soap). Lots of room for others to come in and hang out in the "living room". Pool was small, but almost always empty, so it wasn't a problem. Everything was very clean. I was surpised at how clean the stairwell was, believe it or not! Elevator was slow, so we usually took the stairs.

Buffet breakfast in the morning had sausages, scrambled eggs, yogurt, fruit salad, cereal, milk, juice, tea, coffee, muffins, bagels, bread / toast; whenever something ran out, I'd just ask the staff and they'd replace it. Always nice to meander down to breakfast when it suits.

Room Tip: Our room (#209) faced a parking lot filled with school buses. Not that great, but I don't think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OntarioJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesOrillia, General Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
I'm very glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orillia
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 14 in Orillia
208 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#13 of 14 in Orillia
229 reviews
3.7 mi away
Days Inn - Orillia
1.5 mi away
Highwayman Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Gate Inn

Property: Stone Gate Inn
Address: 437 Laclie St, Orillia, Ontario L3V 4P7, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Orillia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone Gate Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Lake Country, just 1 hour north of Toronto, you will find the heights of luxury and comfort at Stone Gate Inn. Designed to provide the ultimate in relaxation with exquisite decor and upscale amenities, including Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast, cozy Fireside Lounge, Shuttle to Casino Rama and so much more! Just Minutes from Orillia's quaint downtown shopping, or enjoy a stroll through one of the many Waterfront Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stone Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Gate Hotel Orillia
Hotel Stone Gate
Stone Gate Inn Orillia, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing