We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasantly surprised”
Review of Stone Gate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stone Gate Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2007

We were pleasantly suprised by this hotel. It is out of the main stream and we could not believe the qualtiy of the accommodations.
The rooms are large clean and nicely decorated. We had a fireplace in our room for only $10.00 more than a standard room.
Next time we are staying in a two room suite as this was amazing.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would defintely recommend this hotel to any one.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank smoo1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

567 - 573 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Stone Gate Inn on Feb 1 and Feb 2. The reviews here are true--this is truly a fine hotel and the service is excellent. When we checked in we were greeted by very friendly staff. Our room and key were ready upon arrival; there was no waiting at the front desk. The hotel knew that it was my wife's birthday and had a complimentary bottle of champagne waiting for us--chilled with two glasses. As well, they had made arrangements for flowers to be in the room for my wife upon our arrival. The room was excellent--we were staying in a Luxury Suite--the suite is very spacious with a kitchen; living room with couch, TV, and gas fireplace; separate bedroom with a comfortable King size bed and TV; and a spacious bathroom with jacuzzi tub and separate shower. The room was clean and comfortable and we enjoyed all the amenities. We had tickets to see Howie Mandel at Casino Rama and used the complimentary shuttle from the hotel. The shuttle was clean and convenient, but keep in mind that they do stop at many other hotels along the way. The shuttle ride took about 45 minutes to the casino. Had we driven ourselves it would have been about 15 minutes. However, if you want to sit back and relax it is convenient. We also enjoyed the daily complimentary breakfast. The food was fresh and more expansive than a typical continental breakfast. We also enjoyed a cocktail and complimentary hors d'oeuvres in the Fireside Lounge on the Friday night. This is certainly recommended. The only criticism we had was when we ordered dinner at the Hotel. Our food was OK but a bit cool. All in all, I highly recommend the Stone Gate Inn. If you are looking for a nice, relaxing getaway with a spacious room, great amenities, and excellent customer service, all at a great value, then the Stone Gate Inn is for you.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JLToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2006

I was delighted to stay at the Stonegate Inn, a privately owned boutique hotel. In the past year, I've spent at least 80 nights in hotels and I was particularly delighted with the welcome and care I received. I really think the Stonegate Inn could give other hotels training when it comes to customer service.
Hands down, the best place I've stayed this year.

PS. I train tourism businesses in Web design and customer relationship strategies online and it is really unfortunate that the hotel does not come up very high in searches for accommodation in Orillia. I sure hope this changes. Stonegate deserves more business.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Roxey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2006

Montreal, Quebec
July 13 2006
Reviewer: Mr. & Mrs. L. Salvaggio

Our stay at Stonegate Inn was fabulous. The staff were so friendly and went out of their way to make us feel at home. The rooms were very comfortable and cozy and if you happen to be a golfer, there are plenty of courses close by to choose from. There is also fine dining nearby. Stonegate also provides a lovely continental breakfast for you each morning. We will definitely be coming back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lsalvaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2006

I just found this web site and I've been back to Stone Gate Inn several times since I stayed there to meet friends for hors d'ouvres and cocktails in their quaint lounge. I just love this hotel.

I can honestly rate it as being at the top of the rung along with other hotels I've stayed at this year, including the Chateau Frontenac in Quebec, Chateau Whistler, Chateau Laurier in Ottawa just to mention a few. This hotel may not have a concierge and some of the services that the big hotels offer, but their rooms are of equal quality. The staff of this boutique hotel are most gracious and friendly and "NO" is not in their vocabulary.

I intend to return for a Christmas party in Orillia and will be staying at Stone Gate Inn for the night. I am looking most forward to seeing familiar faces (the staff) who make me feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2005, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank atouchofdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2006

The Stone Gate Inn provides a lot of useful amenities for anyone travelling for a long period of time. Each room has a small kitchenette, free internet, robes and newspaper. Hotel provided a free breakfast each morning. It also has a laundromat and small but effective fitness facility.

Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Inn is located adjacent to food supermaket and beer store, and within 5 minutes of downtown, beach and other restaurants.

Excellent overall value and friendly "family inn" atmosphere.

Stayed: August 2006
8  Thank Tinker56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Cynthia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauder C, Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orillia
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 14 in Orillia
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
1.2 mi away
The Champlain Waterfront Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection
3.7 mi away
Days Inn - Orillia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Gate Inn

Address: 437 Laclie St, Orillia, Ontario L3V 4P7, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Price Range: £93 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone Gate Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Lake Country, just 1 hour north of Toronto, you will find the heights of luxury and comfort at Stone Gate Inn. Designed to provide the ultimate in relaxation with exquisite decor and upscale amenities, including Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast, cozy Fireside Lounge, Shuttle to Casino Rama and so much more! Just Minutes from Orillia's quaint downtown shopping, or enjoy a stroll through one of the many Waterfront Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Stone Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Gate Hotel Orillia
Hotel Stone Gate
Stone Gate Inn Orillia, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing