We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slipping big time”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Cosmo's Ristorante

Cosmo's Ristorante
Ranked #18 of 151 Restaurants in Orillia
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
A TripAdvisor Member
“Slipping big time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Shrimp was tasteless and appears to be thawed before cooking. Flavour less and absolutely no taste at all. Salad also not fresh in appearance or taste. One of the fellow diners had to send his food back to the kitchen as it was way too salty. Only saving grace is the server who was as usual cheerful and provided excellent service. Going elsewhere next time.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    16
    5
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food and ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Delightful eatery serving good Italian food. The type of clientele (upper crust) that is usually seen there says it all. Only complaint is that they should expand the special fish offering to beyond Talapia only. The calamari would be better fried than served in the sauce (frying rids the fishy taste). The young waitress that's been there for ever is very proficient and knowledgable. Wine list is usually excellent and ambience excellent. That's why I am such a repeat guest !!!

Helpful?
Thank Borneo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Holiday celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

The service here is fabulous. Very reasonable pricing. Offered to take our coats when we walked in, and checked to make sure our meals were to our satisfaction. We were a very large group so there was a variety of orders such as chicken, pasta and steak. All were very good and we had no complaints . I would like to see Gnocchi on the menu as it is one of my favourites

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BIZGIRL2369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
635 reviews
440 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian fare. Delicious. Good service. Recommended.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Orillia has only a few excellent restaurants and Cosmo's is one of them. The food is delicious, the service is friendly and efficient. Recommended!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Waterloonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
415 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Great place for a birthday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We arrived at Cosmo's and were immediately seated. The place was not full, but there seemed to be one large group of ten and six pairs throughout the restaurant. We had to wait for our other party of two before ordering and the waitress was very accommodating, offering us a beverage whilst we waited.

The luncheon specials sounded interesting, lobster bisque and a salad with walnuts and feta cheese, etc., which one of us ordered. I chose the carbonnara and I was pleasantly surprised as to how much bacon was in it and how tasty it was. One of the better samplings of carbonnara I have had in the past ten years across the world. I cleaned the plate with one of the spare pieces of delicious bruschetta that we ordered as appetizers. My wife had "the best lasagna I have ever tasted", made from fresh pasta with plenty of tasty meat sauce and ricotta cheese. The birthday girl had the omelette special which we were certain she would not be able to finish as it filled the plate, but she persevered and even had sorbet for dessert! She must have starved herself before this birthday lunch.

Throughout the entire meal the single waitress seemed to effortlessly serve all of the patrons throughout the restaurant, flowing from kitchen to table in an endless loop. She did not appear to have written down any of the ordered, but apparently she has a great memory.

Overall we enjoyed our experience and I would not hesitate to return to Cosmo's in the future.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank olegar31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cosmo's Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Cosmo's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing