We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the effort to come here!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mariposa Market Stores

Mariposa Market Stores
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Orillia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Worth the effort to come here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Excellent turn of the century style bakery and deli in downtown Orillia. Well worth the effort to visit this place. Enjoyed a great deli lunch, everything made in house. Picked up some fresh baked goods and desert on the way out. Simply amazing! If you are in or around Orillia - make this a priority stop. You will not regret it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Doghouse66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    148
    31
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“FUN place to visit and eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The smell as you walk in makes you want to buy something. The gift shops in connection to the market are full of great treasures. Dining in the restaurant is an experience as you pick what you want and then enjoy not only the meal but often conversation with those around you as so many are tourists too. The locals seem to buy and leave!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Bakery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We were driving through Northern Ontario and happened upon this wonderful place. We were looking for a coffee and muffin...WOW....best muffins ever! Of course one cannot stop there....we purchased salads, breads, etc...
This is a must stop place in Orillia, Ontario. I wish we had one in Ottawa.....but then again maybe not..I would be a very frequent visitor.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DRPKCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“An experience not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Is this establishment a market, restaurant or a gift shop? It's all three really. It's confusing just for a few moments but you have to visit all three components of this place. The food was just what we wanted for lunch, with some take away lasagne for our evening meal. The gift shop and market were packed full of items that had 'buy me' all over them. We have been there 2 days in a row now. Why can't we have this place at home? If there is a queue, don't worry it moves quickly. A queue is a good indicator that there is something worth queuing for!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We didn't actually eat there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

But they have soooooooooooooooooooo much yummy food!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We weren't really hungry, but bought lots of stuff to bring home!!!!!!!!!!!! the corn bread is sooooooooooo good! and the cheesey tea biscuits, mmmmmmmmmm and the garlic, sweet pepper jelly is really good toooooo. Could have spend lots more money and lots more time in there! from wraps to supersized dealicious looking donuts, to bread, to jams and jellies. EVERYTHING just looked soooooooooo good!!!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YOURFUNNYGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mariposa Market Stores also viewed

 

Been to Mariposa Market Stores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing