We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll be back”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kimberley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kimberley Riverside Campground
Vancouver
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We visited Kimberley lakeside campground for the first time recently. When we made the reservation the woman who we spoke with made a suggestion regarding which site to say in and were glad she did. Our site was 32 and it was private, close to the washroom and a short walk to the pool/golf. Other sites were fairly open and the riverside sites were a steep hill walk to the pool.
We took in all aspects of the campground; the pool, hiking trails, playground and golf. The pool is perfect for children. Both children were able to stand- up at the deepest spot. The golf cost $25.00 for a family of 4. It was a very hot day and we were the only people golfing. The course is great with various shaped greens.
All in all we will definitely return to this camp ground when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sendmetosun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    13
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kitscoty
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Wow! Great service, clean washrooms, nice treed sites. Campground was full, but never had a lineup for anything. Amazing 18 hole mini golf complete with waterfalls, sand traps and rough. All here is well planned and run. Staff was top notch, helpful and knowledgeable. Have already booked here for next year.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daryl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Campground and Site:
This is a very large campground but it is well organized and the sites are tiered, from mountain view down to the river, and well-placed so that it does not feel over-crowded. The sites are nicely separated with lots of trees and the area is very green with lots of wildlife. Each area has a nice, well-lit washroom with running water and sinks and garbage disposal area. The road is well lit so there is no stumbling in the dark. We had a nice firepit and picnic table in the site which were well-placed.

The campground does have a very nice pool area, store and mini-golf and climbing wall area at the entrance. Even though those amentities are available, it is not over-commercialized and they do not take away from the outdoors-y feeling. There is also a frisbee golf course, playground and volleyball courts down near the river. Everything was very well-maintained and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The free showers were also a great bonus.

Things to do:
There are loads of great hiking and biking trails surrounding the campround. They are well-maintained and maps are available. There are trails from town too, and the staff give you some great guides when you check in. The area has a ton of golf courses and while I don't golf my husband seemed more than impressed.
The Platzel in Kimberley was nice and we had some nice meals out on the patios. Pedal and Tap was delicious. The aren't a lot of shops so if that's your thing you may be disappointed. However, I love the laid-back vibe of Kimberley and relatively sleepy platzl.
We did take the Mining Railroad tour and it was an interesting 2 hours. I think younger kids might be bored but the little train ride is neat and there is lots of interesting information.

Bottom-line:
I would definitely come-back here. The area and campground are gorgeous. Great stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliciaStevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Although the campground has a pool and a little store it was not over commercialized like other campgrounds we've been to. You still felt you were camping, everything so green and beautiful around you, deer walking around, peaceful sound of the rocky river, friendly staff patrolling all the times, beach volleyball, park for the kids and beautiful and peaceful walking trails all did it for us!!
Our last night was spoilt by some inconsiderate fellow campers not far from our site. Can't blame the staff as it was not their fault. When the fellow noisy campers had to be reminded again they were asked to leave the following morning. At least the campground staff did their very best with the situation.
We will definitely give it another go next year!! My husband had never ever slept till 9am in the history of his camping and that is how relaxing that campground was to not just me but to him as well
It is a must try at least twice!! We camped in # 2 and loved it!!!
To the staff of Riverside Campground; my words could never express enough gratitude towards your services and friendliness! Camped a lot and have never seen staff that still smiled while cleaning up after us in the washrooms and showers!! You guys are simply the best!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prairie City, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

2013 saw us looking for spot to park our motorhome..lucky for us we found Riverside Campground. We arrived April 15th 2013 and stayed until October 15th and enjoyed every day. Jarrett and his staff are amazing, friendly, extremely helpful and the park is soooo clean and tidy. We met some interesting folks from many places in both Canada and the USA there were lots of deer, some elk, birds and once we saw a huge moose along the highway. We are older folks so walking trails or golf were not for us but if you are a golfer this is the area to be visiting. We actually liked Kimberley and area so much we rented an apartment in town and have really enjoyed life here. I really can't say too many good things about Riverside Campground and Kimberley in general come and visit....you'll love it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1941lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Wow, we camped here and the campground is amazing. clean and perfectly located. the views are priceless. the Staff is some of the best we have ever see.
The pool is awesome!! thanks you very much guys and girls!! you do an incredible job.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our second stay in the Pine Meadows lower section of this city-owned campground has been as enjoyable as the first, despite the rainy weather. Sites are large and well-spaced, a few along the river have magnificent views. The campground offers good walking paths near the river, a small swimming pool, a miniature golf course and grassy areas for volleyball or other games. In mid June the meadows abound with brilliantly coloured wildflowers.

The campground, showers, laundry and restrooms are clean and well-maintained. Staff are friendly and helpful. Riverside is a little oasis itself, and a great base for exploring nearby Kimberley, Cranbrook or Fort Steele. A campground host checks the Pine Meadows area each evening and helps ensure peace and quiet for all visitors. This unique campground has more services than the average provincial or national campground, but larger, more private spaces than the average privately-owned campground. They are also flexible about reservations, changes and cancellation. If you come, you will likely want to return, especially if you book head and reserve one of the preferential sites.

Room Tip: Check out the map on the website and book ahead. The Pine Meadows section is close to the river...bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelTipsCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kimberley
3.8 mi away
Mountain Spirit Resort
Mountain Spirit Resort
#1 of 4 in Kimberley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
3.8 mi away
Trickle Creek Lodge
Trickle Creek Lodge
#2 of 4 in Kimberley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
11.3 mi away
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cranbrook Hotel
3.7 mi away
Polaris Lodge
Polaris Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kimberley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
22.1 mi away
Springbrook Resort
Springbrook Resort
#1 of 1 in Skookumchuck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Riverside Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Riverside Campground

Property: Kimberley Riverside Campground
Address: St Mary Lake Rd | Site 500, Kimberley, British Columbia V1A 3B9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Kimberley
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Kimberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the pristine St. Mary River Valley, the Kimberley Riverside Campground offers incredible scenery and endless opportunities for all to enjoy! Check out our heated outdoor pool, 18 hole mini-golf course, playground, disc golf course, day use recreation area, and our many other amenities! Sites available as 15/30/50 amp electrical, water and sewer. Wifi Internet at free hot spot locations, payphone, laundromat, convenience store, rock-climbing wall, hiking and biking trails and sani-dump. We are big-rig friendly and our sites are available as back-in, pull through, River View, Non Service and/or tenting options are all available! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing