We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful scenery and accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Northstar Mountain Village Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery and accommodations”
Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed the July long weekend in a 3 bedroom. Our first dip in the hottub on the deck had the added view of a white tailed deer. Nice greeting. Private garage. Lots of room/beds. Well stocked kitchen. The only cos were the pits were not great quality but they worked just fine. I also found use of duvets a bit much for summer and would have preferred a quilt. Neither con will stop me from coming back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachjamie21-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    21
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
51
16
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

There is not a lot to do here in the summer. You have to drive to town or elsewhere in order to find things to do. The units were very nice, pool was fun, saw lots of deer. All in all it should not be called a resort as it is only a bunch of (really nice) townhouses that are rented out when the owners are not there. Beware that you cannot guarantee specific units. If the owner of a certain unit decides to come in to town, you will be moved. We went with another family and we had booked side by side rooms so our kids could play and we could BBQ together etc. We were told no problem but when we arrived we were told that our owners decided to come in last moment and we were moved 7 or 8 units down and there was nothing they could do as the owners take precedence. I suspect had there not been an extra unit we would have been looking for a hotel after driving half the day to get there. Bottom line I would suggest looking elsewhere. We would not return.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary Alberta
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

If you want the best units, ask for a recently renovated unit. Some of the older units are shabby chic but still comfortable. Older style, torn upholstery, older CRT TV. Small CRT TV in second suite. The other is without a tv. Hottub needed repair, and they came to fix with a little coaxing. Apparently the guy who fixes these things is a fair commute away.

The ski hill made up for it all. The kids could just leave the balcony and go ski the bunny hill for a warm up while us slower adults drank our coffee and baileys and got ready to hit the slopes.

Upon entering this place it was like a maze. I opened door after door trying to find my way somewhere. It's rather amusing; although frustrating when all you want is the bathroom. The kids found it amusing. Eventually one door is the way! Storage room in the covered garage, another just inside the suite door, and several large closets to ...discover. And stash ski stuff or supplies. It would be nice if the exit door from the garage was better marked.

Inspite of its shabby chic tastes, it was well stocked. Nice to have a full kitchen, including full-size coffee maker, and ice maker (woohoo!). Bring scissors, tin foil. Didn't think there were enough towels, as it would be nice to just have specific ones for the hottub, and different ones for the shower. But there is a washer and dryer, which we used to dry our wet ski gear!

BBQ was awesome. Gas fireplace was nice to come back to, and no fuss: fire! However if you like a wood fire, this might not be the one.

What else can I say? It's location is sublime! Great price, and the kids (9 and 11) were ecstatic to have their own suite. So were we....but we also think this would be a great place for two couples to share. It has two rooms plus two hide-a-beds. You could potentially have quite a number of people.

Now stop worrying about your condo and get outdoors!

Room Tip: Ask for a recently reno'd room when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Our World Harmony Run team is extremely grateful to the management of this resort to provide us with this fantastic accommodation. Not only the premises are exquisite but also the managers are kind-hearted people which we really experienced.
You will feel like in a wooden palace in mountains, very spacious, kitchen and living room on the ground floor with a fireplace, private jacuzzi on the terrace and three individual rooms, each with its own bathroom.
Beautifully chosen decorations enhance the feeling of nature (e.g. woolen curtains to keep it even warmer) and beds are so comfortable that you will want to take the pillow with you :) (but please don't do that).
Each unit has also a private garage. We can only recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milena1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I have had the opportunity to stay at this resort multiple times and each time it gets better and better! We first stayed here when there was still construction happening. We have stayed in both the 2 story and 3 story configurations and have enjoyed both. Each has their pros and cons. We like the 2 story option as it has less stairs and seems to be a better layout that works for our group that stays here. We often stay with a few other couples and really enjoy this magnificant property!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaynek45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Stayed for 8 days on Interval Int'l timeshare exchange [units available for rent] and would return in a heartbeat. Huge accommodations in two story configuration with two bedrooms, full first class kitchen with all appliances and granite counter tops, living room with fireplace and picture windows, and back porch with hot tub, all in gorgeous log cabin motif. Immaculate lodgings on top of mountain, the backside [living room picture windows] facing either a pine forest or the top of the ski lift/run. Furnished in very comfortable rustic-style but plush stylings with comfortable beds [king in master bedroom and bunk beds and twins in second bedroom] Bathrooms in each bedroom with large master bath. Nice to walk out back door and ski down mountain to ski resort facilities. Up a winding, scenic road from Kimberley, which has several restaurants and visitor center. From here you can make the hot springs about an hour away and plenty of roads up into the forests and Canadian Rockies. Club house has a pool, but not sure when you'd use it. Beautiful surroundings, vistas incomparable, and truly a family vacation dream place.

Room Tip: Ask for accommodations that back up to the forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davebob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morinville
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I will be back! Best resort ive ever stayed in. Bigger and much nicer than the photos can capture. Clean, well decorated, roomy, private CLEAN hot tub, great service, awesome location, comfy beds, beautiful kitchen - a dream

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tammy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kimberley
0.2 mi away
Mountain Spirit Resort
Mountain Spirit Resort
#1 of 4 in Kimberley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trickle Creek Lodge
Trickle Creek Lodge
#2 of 4 in Kimberley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Polaris Lodge
Polaris Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kimberley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
2.4 mi away
North Star Motel
North Star Motel
#3 of 4 in Kimberley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alpenglow Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northstar Mountain Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northstar Mountain Village Resort

Property: Northstar Mountain Village Resort
Address: 1351 Gerry Sorensen Way | P.O. Box 305, Kimberley, British Columbia V1A 2Y9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Kimberley
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Kimberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Northstar Mountain Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northstar Mountain Village Resort. This year, plan your vacation at Northstar. Enjoy four seasons of fun, with luxurious accommodation, spectacular rocky mountain scenery, and the convenience of our Alpine Club amenities, including seasonal outdoor pool and hot tub, fitness room and Spa. Share good times with friends and family and make vacation memories that last a lifetime. Set against an incredible rocky mountain backdrop overlooking the Kimberley Alpine Resort, Northstar is perfect for families & couples, outdoor enthusiasts, and nature lovers of all kinds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Northstar Mountain Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northstar Mountain Village Hotel Kimberley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing