We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy! Unhelpful 'owner' ...”
Review of Hotel Kimberley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kimberley
Ranked #8 of 8 Kimberley B&B and Inns
France
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Noisy! Unhelpful 'owner' ...”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

There was a large party of school children (sports team) staying and largely uncontrolled by the adults accompanying them. The manager did little to resolve the situation and even 'complained' that a teacher was drunk and doing nothing to help. When we asked to contact the owner, he suggested that he was the man (we were not convinced). The accommodation was average. Breakfast was less than average.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottiesInUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    6
    19
    10
    26
See reviews for
17
25
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Pretty basic. Good location.
Has Internet and Continental Breakfast.
The tiles in the bathroom need a good scrub.
The air conditioner was very loud.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheriiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slocan Park
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The room was great but I was travelling with 3 dogs (attending a dog show). There is NO grass in the area...everything is concrete as it is in the downtown area. When I reserved, I requested a ground floor room; when I got there it was on the second floor. The stairs were narrow and twisty and a LOT of up and down with all my stuff. I decided that I couldn't take dog kennels up the stairs and bought sheets to cover the floor in the room. I was allowed 2 dogs in the room only ($10 per dog per night with a maximum of 2 dogs), which meant the third dog was kennelled overnight in my vehicle. The parking lot is small and although they have made arrangements with neighbouring businesses for parking, these are not secured (especially worrisome with a dog in the vehicle). The room itself was great but the work to get all my stuff in and out and the worry of leaving a dog in the vehicle means that I won't stay there again (unless I have only 2 dogs AND actually GET a ground floor room). And then there is the issue of no grass or appropriate walking area nearby.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a ground floor room if travelling with dogs (but there is no grass nearby anyway)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

This place is in the middle of "downtown" Kimberley and close to shopping. That being said, Kimberley is pretty much a one street highway town and not very big. Econo Lodge is nicely renovated and provides a good place to relax after a day of outdoor activities. Continental breakfast is included and free wifi internet is available which is always a bonus! The owner/manager is a very friendly and caring person. The housekeeping staff is very friendly and understanding as well. Overall, a great experience.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main road as the rooms facing the intersection tend to be noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystelshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kimberley
1.0 mi away
Trickle Creek Lodge
Trickle Creek Lodge
#2 of 4 in Kimberley
359 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mountain Spirit Resort
Mountain Spirit Resort
#1 of 4 in Kimberley
205 reviews
1.0 mi away
Polaris Lodge
Polaris Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kimberley
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
15.2 mi away
Days Inn Cranbrook
Days Inn Cranbrook
#3 of 17 in Cranbrook
227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpenglow Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kimberley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kimberley

Property: Hotel Kimberley
Address: 300 Wallinger Ave, Kimberley, British Columbia V1A 1Z4, Canada (Formerly Econo Lodge Inn & Suites)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Kimberley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kimberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Kimberley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the foothills of The Rockies, Hotel Kimberley is the ultimate choice for your mountainous holiday adventure any time of the year. We are situated right in the heart of Kimberley, giving you the best access to all Kimberley and it's surrounds has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Kimberley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Kimberley
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing