We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B & B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Andrews
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Garden Gate Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 13 Saint Andrews B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 September 2012

On our arrival we were made very welcome by Dave and Carol, our room had everything we needed for a comfortable stay and the standard of cleanliness throughout the house was impeccable, and the decoration of the rooms was very tasteful.

The breakfasts were delicious and catered for your personal tastes with choice of fruit juices, tea and coffee, and portion sizes were more than ample, also you could help yourself to refreshments at any time during your stay.

The location was perfect, close enough to town to be able to walk there and very quiet at nightime.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone considering staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012

We would highly recommend staying at the Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast in beautiful St. Andrews NB. Carol and Dave are very friendly, welcoming hosts. The house is beautifully decorated with antiques. Our room was spacious, clean and quiet.... lovely ensuite too. The breakfast was absolutely delicious! The Garden Gate is within walking distance of the main street and harbour. We really enjoyed our stay there!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I've stayed at a lot of b & b's in the US, Canada and Britain. The best of them share a few things... and, of course, I'm including the Garden Gate here... those things are caring, concerned proprietors and excellently run establishments.
Our greeting was warm and hospitable, our room was attractive, comfortable and SPOTLESS! and the grounds and plantings were all well cared for.
Breakfast was delightful (I can't eat melon so an attractive substitute was prepared for me) and was generous and well prepared...blueberry pancakes with fresh blueberries, maple syrup, sausage, coffee, and fresh fruit, juice!
When I return to St Andrews, this will be my number one choice without a moment's hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leaderoftheband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

A wonderful welcome and a beautiful home and gardens greeted us on our arrival at this quaint B&B in the residential area of St Andrews. Just a short walk to the main eating/shopping area in the town, which was perfect for a before and after dinner stroll.
Our bedroom (twin beds) was well presented and very well equipped. My only complaint is that one of the window blinds was broken and didn't close (which was explained to us by Dave, the owner, when we arrived), but it didn't really matter because the room was not overlooked by neighbours.
Breakfast was a delicious treat at a shared dining table with other guests. All very friendly and informal.
I'd love to go back and stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

This was my first experience at a Bed and Breakfast- and I would definitely do it again based on what was given at The Garden Gate. Carol and Dave are lovely, generous people, and the stay was very comfortable. The room was clean, with a great bed and beautiful bedding. The breakfasts in the morning were wonderful, plentiful and nutritious. I would highly recommend anyone staying here. Wonderful place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurelle Jade F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We just returned from a trip along the New Brunswick coast, and stayed in this gem of a place for two days on our way. We cannot recommend this B&B or this little town more. Though on the small side, our room was beautifully decorated, full of amenities, very comfortable and ultra clean. Carol and Dave were warm, welcoming and accommodating – we couldn’t have asked for nicer hosts. They gave us some good recommendations around the area for restaurants and then took the time to book a table for us. Their breakfasts were excellent. We left feeling like we had just visited relatives. We hope to be back. Overall, it was a wonderful experience. There are other more expensive hotels around this area, but from what we heard the quality of service we got at this B&B far exceeds any of those high priced resorts. Don’t miss it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TikCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Garden Gate 8 years ago and came back for another visit to St. Andrews this year. We stayed 3 nights in `The Sunshine Room` on the third floor. Dave even helped carry our luggage up (and it was heavy!)
We enjoyed walking around the town each morning and along the water. The location was great as we could get to Calais, Maine for shopping in about 30 min.
Each morning we were served a wonderful, delicious breakfast which was very filling.
Dave and Carol were great hosts and very friendly!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacquie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Andrews hotels
0.3 mi away
Inn on Frederick
Inn on Frederick
#4 of 13 in Saint Andrews
158 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tara Manor Inn
Tara Manor Inn
#1 of 13 in Saint Andrews
379 reviews
0.5 mi away
Treadwell Inn
Treadwell Inn
#3 of 13 in Saint Andrews
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
3.7 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
291 reviews
1.3 mi away
Greenside Motel
Greenside Motel
#11 of 13 in Saint Andrews
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Gate Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Gate Bed & Breakfast

Address: 364 Montague St, Saint Andrews, New Brunswick E5B 1J8, Canada
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint Andrews
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Andrews
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Garden Gate Bed & Breakfast Saint Andrews, Canada - New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing