We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Gateway to Canada”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Andrews
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Garden Gate Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 13 Saint Andrews B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 July 2013

It was tough to choose which was better, the town or the B&B. Dave and Carol were very accommodating to our dietary needs and with tips on restaurants and attractions in town. We especially enjoyed their mini library of books on history and architecture. The bed was the most comfortable of our trip. We wish we could have stayed more than one night.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights and discovered the "best" B&B we've ever stayed at.

My partner who is REALLY picky loved this place so much that he wanted to return for our final night in NB before flying out of St. John (even though Garden Gate was 45 minutes in the wrong direction from the airport).

The hosts, Dave & Carol, are extremely helpful, congenial, sincere, and respectful. We enjoyed our chats with them very much and appreciated their help and suggestions for dinner, sights and activities. When we got caught in a rainstorm while walking, Carol offered to wash our soaked jeans with no thought of compensation. The breakfasts are first-class and very attentive to dietary needs, i.e. gluten-free, etc. We couldn't find a flaw with their service or the accommodations if we tried.

Frankly, I don't know how Dave and Carol stay so positive and helpful in the face of the many varied personalities that they must have to deal with. I'm just thankful that they can. When we return to St. Andrews, there is no other place we will stay.

Thanks Dave & Carol for starting off our vacation with an A+ experience!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wander21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed at this B&B for only one night. I wish we could have stayed longer. The house was beautiful, the rooms were clean and comfy, and the town was great.
We stayed in the sunshine room on the top floor. The room had an ensuite which was nice. The room also came with a T.V. and a window airconditioner. I was surprised to find that the wifi reached all the way to the top floor.
The breakfast was delicious. We were the only people that wanted breakfast in the morning. So we had a table set up just for the two of us. When we got downstairs our fruit and juice was already on the table. We were asked the night before our preferences for breakfast. After the first course we then got our eggs benedict. It was so good.
Overall this was a great B&B that I would recommend to anyone going to St. Andrews and that I wouldn't hesitate staying at again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whoopi1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We have stayed at the Garden Gate with Carol and Dave Bennett 4 years in a row. There are several tasteful comfy rooms to stay in and the food is delish. Love the teas in the sitting rooms for after hours. Can't wait to stay there again this summer when we visit Saint Andrews. Carol and Dave know the town well and can reccommend great restaurants and things to do. I like staying on the top floor, but I enjoy stairs. The room with the detached bathroom is cool because there are nice jets in the tub.
Overall the house has modern comforts but furnished with a Victorian flavor to give you a feeling of a time passed when hospitality was the most important part of a stay.

Room Tip: No fitness center or pool, but there is a lovely path by the sea to run or walk on a short walk away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We recently enjoyed another pleasant stay at the Garden Gate. The rooms are well appointed and always spotless and comfortable. We travel through the area regularly and this attractive B&B has become our home away from home. Dave and Carol are wonderful hosts and are very accommodating. The entire property is well maintained, nicely decorated and there are lovely gardens with sitting areas outside. The breakfasts are always delicious and the table is beautifully set. Saint Andrews is a quaint seaside town and the Garden Gate is set in a quiet residential area within walking distance of all the shops, restaurants and waterfront. We would highly recommend staying here and visiting Saint Andrews.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyA237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Staying at the Garden Gate this week. Impressed by the quality and cleanliness of the rooms!

Dave and Carol Bennett were flawless hosts. Breakfast is delicious, artistic and prompt. We stayed in the "seaside" room, which had, among other details and decorations, samples of sand from 25 of the world's beaches.

The Bed and Breakfast is also the family home, and it was interesting looking at the antiques and pictures of ancestors from long ago.

Great stay!

Room Tip: The sunshine room is sunny and supposedly the most popular room for a summer stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

On our arrival we were made very welcome by Dave and Carol, our room had everything we needed for a comfortable stay and the standard of cleanliness throughout the house was impeccable, and the decoration of the rooms was very tasteful.

The breakfasts were delicious and catered for your personal tastes with choice of fruit juices, tea and coffee, and portion sizes were more than ample, also you could help yourself to refreshments at any time during your stay.

The location was perfect, close enough to town to be able to walk there and very quiet at nightime.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone considering staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Andrews hotels
0.3 mi away
Inn on Frederick
Inn on Frederick
#3 of 13 in Saint Andrews
158 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tara Manor Inn
Tara Manor Inn
#1 of 13 in Saint Andrews
379 reviews
0.5 mi away
Treadwell Inn
Treadwell Inn
#4 of 13 in Saint Andrews
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
3.7 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
291 reviews
1.3 mi away
Greenside Motel
Greenside Motel
#11 of 13 in Saint Andrews
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Gate Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Gate Bed & Breakfast

Address: 364 Montague St, Saint Andrews, New Brunswick E5B 1J8, Canada
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint Andrews
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Andrews
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Garden Gate Bed & Breakfast Saint Andrews, Canada - New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing