We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HORRIBLE SERVICE!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Shiretown Pub

The Shiretown Pub
Ranked #25 of 35 Restaurants in Saint Andrews
Price range: US$5 - US$24
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Specializing in local Maritime favorites, such as Lobster, Mussels, Clams, Scallops, and the always popular Fish n' Chips. The Shiretown Pub offers live entertainment along with a great English Pub atmosphere. Customer Service is a top priority and customers will be treated like family.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“HORRIBLE SERVICE!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We never even tried the food here. After our party of four went and stood by the please wait to be seated sign and never being acknowledge even though there was staff all over the place we decided to go out and sit on the patio hoping to get some service there. There was a couple waiters/waitresses that walked by us and after waiting several minutes I had asked one of the waitresses if we could get some menus. She saw that I had asked and completely ignored us and instead moved right over to the table beside us and took there order. We were going to give them business and spend money there since we were all starving. However after that experience I would NEVER spend a cent there and we have since told many friends/family about the experience.

I WOULD NOT recommend this place. There are so many better places to eat in St. Andrews that deserves your business. This isn't one of them!! Check out The Harbour Front, or The Gables for a great sit down meal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    24
    15
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Picaroons is addictive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We were unsure where to go to eat during our visit so decided to check out this little pub. It was little and rustic! The bartender and waiter talked to us right away then handed us a set of keys to go check out the rooms upstairs. Because of its randomness my fiancee and I were fast to take advantage. We toured the Kennedy Inn on our own with the keys from the front desk! Needless to say the rooms were very nice!

When we came back to the pub the bartender took our order and sold me on the delicious beer which has been part of my life since, Picaroons!! We first had the dip, and it was pretty bad, however it was explained to us that it was new and it was their first time trying the recipe. When we received our actual meal it was quite delicious!

This Pub overall was so much fun, it was rustic, had charm and though it looked run down, it really added to the feel! Our waiter/bartender was awesome, laughing and joking. Plus getting the chance to tour the Inn was worth it all together!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank AshandJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good pub with great food !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

I've gone here many times while attending NBCC is St. Andrews.
They have very friendly staff, and great food!
I highly recommend the grilled chicken sandwich or the nachos !

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katiexomarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homestead, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Rather poor service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

My wife and I ate here in early October and found the service to be way bellow par. First she asked for tea and received a tepid at best pot, which then led to a long wait for the waitress to come by and a request for a hot pot of tea. I ordered their chicken pot pie with cornbread, billed as a local favorite. Pie was scalding, as out of a microwave, no cornbread, when I had a chance to ask, I got a rather old roll. I do not like to put places down, but this was one where the service left a bad taste in ones mouth.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dlfay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebring
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Treasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

a pub and a good one. Eclectic menue and the food has always been great

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shiretown Pub also viewed

Saint Andrews, New Brunswick
Saint Andrews, New Brunswick
 
Saint Andrews, New Brunswick
 

Been to The Shiretown Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing