We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and sophisticated small luxury Hotel”
Review of Kingsbrae Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kingsbrae Arms
Ranked #7 of 13 Saint Andrews B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 August 2010

I cannot begin to say enough praises of the Kingsbrae Arms. It is located in the charming town of St. Andrews next to a beautul 26 acre garden. I went with my husband on a special birthday vacation. It not only met, but exceeded our expectations. The property is beautifully restored with georgeus antiques, books, and housed with a staff that met our every need. They currently have one of the best chefs we have ever experienced at an exclusive property. Needless to say, we were blown away. I cannot wait to find a way back there. It is a fabulous Relaix Chateaux property.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lrshuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2010

Very disappointing for the price. There was no mini-bar, ice bucket, coffee machine in the room, and the pool didn't look clean. It was also very difficult to find staff working in the hotel between breakfast and dinner time. We had been to much nicer Relais and Chateaux before.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
5  Thank LLLLL155032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarryR-C, Owner at Kingsbrae Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2010

My staff and I are perplexed by this review. “Terrible” because the guest couldn’t find an ice bucket or ask for a coffee maker? Ouch. For the record, we don’t have mini-bars because we’re not keen on people being charged ten bucks for a candy bar. We’ll leave that to large corporate hotels. We have plenty of ice buckets located right next to the ice machine in our guest pantry. Coffee service and/or coffee machines are available any time of day on request. Our staff is scheduled seamlessly from dawn until late night, and our pool is professionally maintained daily. We’re sorry we disappointed this reviewer, but frankly we’ll have to continue to scratch our respective heads about the reasons.
Harry Chancey, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

After reading other reviews and speaking with Harry (one of the owners) on the phone, we were quite excited to travel up to St. Andrews and base our celebration of a 50th birthday celebration around our stay at this Relais and Chateaux . While every meal at this Inn was simply fantastic, the first room we were in had a tired bathroom with an insert shower with a plastic floor. The water pressure was uneven and the water kept going from hot to cold. Additionally, the room was unable to receive any wireless service. Although the view was fantastic, we did not want to spend 3 nights in this room. When we asked to be moved, we were placed in the newer building which felt much fresher and had a much nicer bathroom. When I am spending almost $600 per night, I like the bathroom to be at least on par with the bathroom in my home.

During our stay, the hotel forgot to acknowledge the 50th birthday celebration. When asked about it, they said that the change in room caused the mix up. When we received our bill at breakfast and inquired as to why there was not a reduction in rate for the room with almost no view, we were told that this new room was actually in the same category. Upon further inquiry, I was asked by Harry to come to his office to discuss my issue. There I was CONFRONTED by his co-owner, David who decided that rather than take responsibility for any issues in his inn, that he would rather be confrontational with his guest who just paid a bill in excess of $2,000.00 Since neither Harry nor David really intended on working out any of my issues and not even wanting to apologize for our feeling that our stay was not all it could be we ended our conversation. While Harry was as pleasant as could be during our stay and prior to our stay, the addition of David to the conversation truly soured our entire experience. He forgot what it means to be in the hospitality business and was extremely arrogant and basically hurtful.

We went from a large city to a quaint town to relax and not to be challenged and abused. While the food was great, I would not say that the inn was up to Relais and Chateaux standards. My warning to you is if you have an issue, beware of David, his desire is to not accommodate, but to attempt to belittle you.

In the spirit of full disclosure, as we were about to pull out of the driveway, one of the office people and then Harry did come out to apologize. However, it was really to little to late.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank nyctraveller212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

We knew very little about St. Andrews when we decided to go to New Brunswick instead of Nova Scotia. (We had planned on Nova Scotia, but the ride from Manchester NH was just too much driving.) We found The Kingsbrae Arms in Fodor's, checked out the website and decided to stay there. It is absolutely gorgeous. Go to the website! The rooms and grounds are even more beautiful than the pictures. Service was excellent. The room (we stayed in the Pinnacle room-a nice way of saying the former attic)-is a junior suite with a deck.. Although the sloping attic ceilings took some getting used to (and a few bumped heads), the rooms were comfortable and lovely. It is pricey-we went on a "special" and it was still expensive. You have to add on the $100/day/person MAP-bfast and dinner. They accommodated our particular dietary restrictions with a smile. I believe that you can forgo a dinner to try one of the town restaurants-find out when you make your reservation. The Inn is next to the magnificent Kingsbrae Gardens, a real gem. St. Andrews is charming: un-hurried, full of small shops and great outdoor activities. And magnificent scenery. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bckn4th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Suite was spacious and comfortable but with intrusive eaves.
Staff were courteous and attentive
Meals were terrific and totally addressed the requirementas of my vegetarian wife.
Location was great
Surrounding gardens were a treat

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grjayBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Our stay at this beautiful Inn was memorable for a number of reasons. The owners Harry and David made us feel like family and with the assistance of Stewart we felt at home in our room overlooking their beautiful garden. The evening dinner prepared by chef Scott was one of our memorable meals in a month of exploring New England .
David 'The man from Alabama' prepared the most wonderful buttermilk pancakes with our delicious breakfast and provided his secret recipe. Two charming hosts who are very proud of their beautiful Inn and rightly so.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesleyandpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We just returned from our all-too-brief stay at Kingsbrae Arms-- two nights to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. Upon arrival, we were shown to our suite (Garden Suite #11, an upgrade over our original booking). Two fireplaces (in sitting and bedroom), canopy bed, large bathroom with spacious shower. Gorgeous accomodations with just the right combination of luxe charm and coziness, and the grounds are immaculate. The service was impeccable, and the food was to die for. Suppers are five-course tastings, with mostly local ingredients. The second night we devoured the poached lobster with homemade fettucine and cognac butter sauce. It was without doubt the best thing I have ever eaten. To anyone considering this property, or even a single meal, I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hedgepuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Andrews hotels
0.4 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
3.3 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
292 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Andrews Motor Inn
St. Andrews Motor Inn
#5 of 7 in Saint Andrews
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Picket Fence Motel
Picket Fence Motel
#2 of 7 in Saint Andrews
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn on Frederick
Inn on Frederick
#4 of 13 in Saint Andrews
158 reviews
0.9 mi away
Greenside Motel
Greenside Motel
#11 of 13 in Saint Andrews
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsbrae Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsbrae Arms

Address: 219 King St, Saint Andrews, New Brunswick E5B 1Y1, Canada
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint Andrews
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Andrews
Price Range: £165 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kingsbrae Arms 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsbrae Arms in St. Andrews, New Brunswick, a resort town kissed by the Bay of Fundy in the North Atlantic. Explore a maritime culture. Indulge in the local food scene. Learn the language. Canada! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kingsbrae Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsbrae Arms Relais & Chateaux Hotel Saint Andrews
Kingsbrae Arms Relais And Chateaux
Kingsbrae Arms Saint Andrews, Canada - New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing