We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. Andrews Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Saint Andrews
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We've been coming to St Andrews for 20 yrs. All the rooms have balcony facing the bay. The staff is always friendly. We love the quaint village. A big plus, they allow pets.
They have a small fridge and microwave so we could have made some meals at "home". They also own the Kennedy Inn and gave us a discount. They have a great menu and we could have had a different gourmet meal each day.
See you soon!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

The accommodations were quite fine and clean. Great view, and a nice walk through town if you wish. Affiliated with the Kennedy Inn, which has great food. It was quiet when we were there and staff gave us good advice on a room at time of booking.

Room Tip: Ocean side is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Moldy smelling, tv didn't work, could hear people walking upstairs, and no elevator. The town is quaint but this place wasn't very accommodating with all the problems listed above. Balcony view of bay was nice .. Didn't even have phone in the room and continental breakfast was a donut.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank sammyseals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Loved the view.

Loved the walkout.

Room was big..... but size isn't everything. ...

For the price it was not worth it. We were on the bottom level and heard everyone who went up or down the stairs.

Clean enough. Needs updating.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluebabe83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Leaving Nova Scotia on our way to the coast of Maine, we ventured into St. Andrews By-the-Sea, a small pleasure boat, kayaking and fishing port upstream from the Bay of Fundy. We turned onto Water Street, the main business and tourism strip, passed restaurants and shops, whale-sighting boats at the wharf, and 18th century flower-bedecked homes. Seduced by the sights, we needed a bed. We came upon the three-story St. Andrews Motor Inn at 111 Water. In the style known as Highway Bland, with a grayish-white clapboard façade and glue-on black shutters, it had little up front to say for itself.
But we discovered that in the right room, at the right times of day, in the right season, this unassuming lodge comes with an amenity of thrilling, even magical power that not one in a thousand hotels can match. Our room opened upon an unobstructed, front-row view of one of world’s great natural wonders, the tides of Canada’s Bay of Fundy. This place could be a tent, but for its view upon a tidal sea that rises and recedes more than anywhere else on earth, thirty, forty, even fifty-five feet twice a day, we give it five golden stars.
As we approached the inn, the gentle lady at the counter said they had rooms available and showed us around. All had glass doors and windows facing patios and balconies overlooking the harbor and Passamaquoddy Bay, which flows into the Bay of Fundy. The rooms varied somewhat in feel, size and furnishings. First floor rooms, near an indoor swimming pool, felt a bit dank and dreary. But among the rooms on the second and third floors are six bigger ones with balconies that poke three or four feet beyond the others toward the sea and seem cantilevered above it.
Our guide opened the door to No. 307, which she called a king suite. “Suite” in motel-speak may be no more than a king-bedded room with room for a coffee table and couch. But I paced off No. 307. It came to 825 square feet--deep enough to bowl in. A reviewer here called the décor of these rooms mired in the 1980s. They are indeed shamelessly pre-Martha Stewart. But I’d call their design brazenly Retro 60s and mired in authenticity.
For $250 a night, taxes included, this room had: A firm four-poster king bed (albeit piled with pointless pillows), a couch with a coffee table stacked with current issues of regional magazines, a big flat screen TV, a dining table for four, a three-burner stove and a microwave, a dishwasher, a toaster, a coffee maker, enough glassware and china and pans for a family of six and soap to wash it with. (And they’ll dock your bill if you don’t.). Our room had air conditioning, an uncommon convenience in St. Andrews.
For plumbing, the room provided one space for the bath, shower and toilet, and another for the vanity, both separated by a door. The management acknowledges that the pipes might act up: Next to the toilet, it posts a notice advising guests to turn off the inlet valve in the event of a flood. The vanity wouldn’t accommodate two toilet kits, but the separate spaces made an efficient arrangement so couples don’t have to take turns.
I’ve got some complaints. There’s no fitness center. Parking, though free, is tight for late arrivals. Public spaces, including the lobby, are too small for more than a two or threefew guests to gather, so there’s no room to serve breakfast. The inn does make an effort, however perfunctory. The store will give you a coupon for a ten-percent discount for breakfast at a co-owned hotel. And across from the check-in counter, they also set up a little table with coffee and donuts. We thought they could have sprung for a little more fare, like muffins, hard-boiled boiled eggs and croissants and Danish.
But it’s that balcony of No. 307, with two Adirondack chairs and a table for binoculars and wine, that dwarfs our quibbles. We took our seats after checking in in early afternoon to watch the sea drifting away and leaving islands of Goliathian rocks. We returned later, at low tide, to see boats still afloat at their deep-harbor moorings and the beach, or sea bottom, stretching over hundreds of mud. The rocks, no longer islands, looked bigger than automobiles.
At some peril, we climbed down a rocky shoreline and out onto the mud. There, on the surface, every couple of inches, we came upon the bubbling holes of grayish white clams buried just below the surface. As we walked, four pickup trucks rolled out in front of us, a quarter mile or so out. Grizzled men in heavy rubber boots brought buckets and claw-like rakes to dig. Each collected a clam or two a minute. They advised us to leave that work to them because you need a license to dig, and the clams are often contaminated. The men bring their clams to a truck on shore to be sterilized.
Most hotels take your credit card, assign you a room, and that’s pretty much it. The St. Andrews Motor Inn does more. It makes your stay an adventure.

Room Tip: For the view and great space, get Room No. 307
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We had a queen suite overlooking the harbour, which was awesome! The room was clean, staff was friendly, and the hotel is very well situated in the middle of town. I, however, like a dark room to sleep. Get this- the living room had black-out curtains and all the bedroom had was a dinky old see-through curtain from the 80s. There was a porch light located right outside that window so all night long that bright orange light shone into our faces and when the sun came up in the morning it was blinding. I was less than pleased because I ended up having a terrible sleep as a result. It also sucks having to lug your bags up to the second floor (no elevators), but the views were worth it!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Queensjad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stayed here with my husband and daughter en route to PEI. We thought it was totally fine. Yes, the locks are a little flimsy (slide lock) but we are not paranoid and feel pretty comfortable in a capacity filled hotel. It was a little dated and did smell a bit musty when we checked in but we turned on the AC and it cleared up the air fine. The hotel is directly on the water and we stayed on the lower level floor which had a balcony that went straight out to the water with amazing views. Bonus for smokers (I am not one!) there is a balcony on what appears to be every room.
Location is fabulous as it is in walking distance to the cute downtown area and a great restaurant (the Gables) where we ate dinner.

Melanie and the rest of the staff were great. The pool area was nice (we didn't have a chance to use it but it seemed pretty popular so it can't be too bad!). The owners also own the Kennedy Inn and offer a 10% off coupon. We ate there for breakfast and although the presentation of the food was not great it was surprisingly delicious!

Also - each room had a fridge which is a bonus when traveling with a young child.

Room Tip: We liked our room - it was the last room on the hall next to the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carla_in_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Andrews
3.3 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
289 reviews
12.3 mi away
Granite Town Hotel
Granite Town Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint George
101 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tara Manor Inn
Tara Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in Saint Andrews
375 reviews
0.5 mi away
Picket Fence Motel
Picket Fence Motel
#2 of 7 in Saint Andrews
219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on Frederick
Inn on Frederick
#4 of 13 in Saint Andrews
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Andrews Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Andrews Motor Inn

Address: 111 Water St, Saint Andrews, New Brunswick E5B 1A3, Canada
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint Andrews
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Saint Andrews
Price Range: £75 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Andrews Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St. Andrews Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Andrews Motor Hotel Saint Andrews
St Andrews Hotel
St Andrews Motel
St. Andrews Motor Inn Saint Andrews, Canada - New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing