We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hello?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Andrews Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Saint Andrews
Rochester, NH
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hello?”
Reviewed 30 March 2007

A co-worker and I stayed at the St. Andrews Motor Inn from March 26-28, 2007. There is a fabulous marine biological station in St. Andrews (this is the draw for off-season travel to St. Andrews). We admittedly stayed there because it was cheaper than the Fairmont Algonquin, which had decent winter rates, but this came in over $30 per night cheaper. The rooms are waterfront, all of them, and we were each given a non-smoking room without any trouble. The view of the ever-changing tides is mesmerizing even for those of us who take it for granted! The front desk was empty when we arrived, and though we were guaranteed an early check-in, we were denied it due to the rooms not being clean. The staff was apologetic, and offered a smoking room to us, but we decided to just come back later. There was a minor glitch with the bill, as they charged me double the quoted rate, but it was resolved without incident. The room was spacious, with two beds, a desk, nightstands, dressers, a couch that pulls out to sleep more people and an armchair. The bathroom was basic and clean. Each room also has a private balcony overlooking the water. The rooms need some updating, as noted in other reviews, but they were perfectly suitable for our needs. One disappointment was the difficulty of communication. We didn't have wireless internet, which isn't a big deal, but also the phones wouldn't call out, leaving us without any contact with the outside world. The front desk did allow us to use their phone (and stated they had been having this trouble for awhile), but it was a frustration that should be noted.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank UndrH2O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    45
    24
    10
    18
See reviews for
46
53
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2006

My family and I recently stayed at the St. Andrews Motor Inn and I can't tell you how pleased I was with the place. The rooms, although a little outdated and in need of an "update" where large and spacious and the view of the ocean from our balcony was simply stunning. We had an added Kitchenette that was well stocked and also helped save on the cost of meals. The price was reasonable compaired to other hotels in the area and the location could simply not be better... pretty much everything is within walking distance and as mentioned before you are right on the ocean, which is beautiful. The pool (indoor), although a little cold was well kept and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. My only real regret is that we didn't' stay longer. Unfortunately I don't really recall if there was a weight/workout room...

  • Liked — Location - Can't get much closer to the downtown strip, pier and ocean.
  • Disliked — The rooms were somewhat out of date and could use a makeover.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JukeboxMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 March 2006

Our hockey team and their familites stayed at the St. Andrews Motor Inn on March 18, 2006. When we first entered the building, noticed a faint 'odd' smell, but thought it must be from the chlorine of the pool. When we opened our room, the smell almost knocked you out; smelled like strong turpentine. We opened the balcony door and hall door to try to air the room out - while freezing us out (it was March after all). We tried to get a new room, but we told it was sold out for the night. We thought it might air out, but it didn't. We put out 3 kids to bed later that evening (felt uncomfortable as it still had that smell). We went to bed later and I woke up at 1:15am feeling really sick with a tight feeling in my chest. I got up to see if the kids were breathing (it was that bad) and then woke my husband up to see how he felt. He didn't feel great either so we asked the girl at the front desk to call the Fairmont Algonquin for a room, she was helpful and said that they would pay for the night at the Algonquin. We arrived within 5 minutes and everything was ready for us (2:00 am; fun moving this time of night with 3 young children). Anyway in the morning, the St. Andrews Motor Inn manager informed us that they were NOT paying for the room at the Algonquin - in the end they agreed to pay. I would rate this as a 2*, very basic and would not stay here ever again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Andrews hotels

dartmouth, nova scotia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2005

We stayed at the St. Andrews Motor Inn the night of September 3/05. We had 2 rooms, side by side, and we travel with a medium-sized dog who is not allowed on furniture and who is never left in the room alone. Before checking out I inspected the rooms to make sure they were clean.

Two weeks later we noticed an additional charge had been made to our credit card by the Inn. It was made the day after we checked out and was made without any contact with us or authorization from us. It took us two days and three phone calls before anyone would tell us what the charge was for. When we questioned it, they said they would look into it and call us the following day. We have not heard from them since.

We have called three more times and sent them a fax, but there has been no response.

We feel using our credit card without our knowledge or authorization and not communicating with us is cause for concern.

Helpful?
9 Thank bluesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2005

We arrived in the afternoon, the lady at front desk was wonderful and very helpful, she directed us to the Kennedy Inn for dinner and it was great and reasonably priced, we then returned and watched the world's nicest sunset from our waterfront patio. Will return again this year.

  • Stayed July 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ryan_Cochrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, PA
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2005

The simple name, St. Andrew's Motor Inn, does not do justice to this conveniently located hotel which includes both rooms and suites. Parking is cramped, but once you've parked, you can walk to downtown and many lovely restaurants and charming shops on Water Street. Rooms are spacious and decorated nicely; ours had a lovely balcony overlooking the bay. There is an indoor swimming pool (cool temperature for US swimmers) very well kept and nicely decorated. The person at the desk when we checked in was helpful in helping us plan our time to the border crossing (very long waits to return to the US if one doesn't time it right.) Because of hotel advice, we hardly waited at all. We would gladly return to this lodging.

Helpful?
11 Thank zoldiegoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Andrews hotels
3.3 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
275 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
1.4 mi away
Tara Manor Inn
Tara Manor Inn
#1 of 13 in Saint Andrews
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Picket Fence Motel
Picket Fence Motel
#2 of 7 in Saint Andrews
198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on Frederick
Inn on Frederick
#3 of 13 in Saint Andrews
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treadwell Inn
Treadwell Inn
#4 of 13 in Saint Andrews
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Andrews Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Andrews Motor Inn

Property: St. Andrews Motor Inn
Address: 111 Water St, Saint Andrews, New Brunswick E5B 1A3, Canada
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint Andrews
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Saint Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Andrews Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St. Andrews Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Andrews Motor Hotel Saint Andrews
St Andrews Hotel
St Andrews Motel
St. Andrews Motor Inn Saint Andrews, Canada - New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing