We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Montague Rose B&B
Ranked #1 of 13 Saint Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Walkerton, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Perfection”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The Montague Rose was everything we wanted it to be and more. Tucked behind the main st in St.Andrews you are within walking distance. The rooms are plush and cozy and the 18th century home divine. The inn keepers Joe and Roseanne were delightful, cheery and the breakfast each morning was over the top fantastic with crystal and china, making us the guests feel like royalty. We were on the way through (honeymooners) doing a road trip of NB and ended up back at "the rose" spending our last night there. It made such an impression on us that I could see us one day soon heading back to St. Andrews, calling Joe asking for "our" room ( The Ballyhaunis ) just to re- create the magic of our honeymoon and the sheer pleasure that is Saint Andrews by-the-sea and The Montague Rose.

Room Tip: The Ballyhaunis room is divine, but all the rooms are exquisite at the rose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krista M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
156
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
390 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

A beautiful home on a quiet street in a quaint town that we could walk to. Our room was large and well appointed. Great bathroom!! Our Innkeeper Joe was friendly, helpful and informative....but would have enjoyed meeting his wife, and maybe even staying a second night. We loved the town which wasn't touristy. Able to see many sites and thoroughly enjoyed Kingsbrae Gardens, 27 acres of flowers, fall trees, lakes, and an amazing sculpture garden. Lunch on the grounds and watching the alpacas romping on the grass was priceless! . Touched by the Celtic Cross and honoring those who died fleeing from the potato famine; seeing the last standing wooden blockhouse; walking the neighborhood reading the plagues on the homes, etc. A step back in time in a peaceful setting that we will always remember. Thank you Joe and Saint Andrews, you lived up to your name.

Room Tip: Our room, the Ballyhaunis Room, was perfect. Beautifully decorated. Loved the windows. On a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 48thAnniversary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Friendly, clean comfortable with convenient local access. We stayed in the Ballyhaunis Room for three nights. Canopy bed, great space and a large custom two head shower. The bathroom was not featured in the online pics so it was a nice surprise. Joe made a tasty, satisfying breakfast each morning. Nothing is far away in St Andrews so the location was fine. Two highlights were the Kingsbrae Gardens and the half day we spent on the Jolly Breeze a 75'Sloop chasing whales - the sloop was a great choice. Bought as great Irish cap at the Kit and Kaboodle.

Room Tip: Large comfortable bed. Great shower. Ballyhaunis Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicco914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

A very enjoyable night at "The Montague Rose". Elegant house, charming hosts, superb breakfast and a great sleep. Just up from Main Street; away from the hustle and bustle. Would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Our family spent two nights at the Montague Rose, booking both the Pinner and Ballyhaunis rooms. The Montague Rose is located a couple blocks from the main drag where the majority of restaurants and shops are located (2 minute walk). The rooms were clean, quiet, large and very well-decorated. Ensuite bathrooms included all of the luxury and amenities of a five-star hotel. Joe and his wife are incredibly warm and welcoming, and gave us good suggestions of what to see and where to eat. As for breakfast, I cannot even begin to express how fantastic it was. Joe and his wife are supremely talented; you won't be disappointed. They were also very accommodating with the number of food allergies and dietary restrictions within our party. Would highly recommend and visit again!

Room Tip: If you don't want to share, the Ballyhaunis and the Pinner rooms include their own luxury ensuit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Voyage0424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We selected the Montague Rose because of its location, in the middle of St Andrews, a couple blocks back from the main waterfront street, and were very pleased with the choice. Good dining and attractions are near - we especially enjoyed Kingsbrae Gardens and Minister's Island, both close (walking and driving) to the B&B. Joe and Rose-Anne were friendly and informative hosts. Their breakfasts (we stayed two nights) were excellent and they readily adjusted the offerings for tastes. We were thrilled to get the recipes for Rose-Anne's tasty muffins. Our room, Pinner, and our bed were large and very comfortable, and though the room lacked air conditioning the fan and windows kept the room at a good temperature. Overall, a great value, and we plan to return to St Andrews (there is so much to do in the area) and the Montague Rose.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twin1NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kincardine, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed in the Jardin Marie Room, it was clean, quiet, and much larger than expected based on previous reviews I read. Breakfast was superb, location was ideal (right in the heart of town near the harbour), staff were very friendly and made us feel at home. We usually don't stay in B&Bs because sometimes you feel like you are imposing on someone else's house but at no time did we feel that way at the Montague Rose.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDCB82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Andrews hotels
3.5 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Inn on Frederick
Inn on Frederick
#3 of 13 in Saint Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tara Manor Inn
Tara Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in Saint Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.7 mi away
Picket Fence Motel
Picket Fence Motel
#2 of 7 in Saint Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kingsbrae Arms
Kingsbrae Arms
#9 of 13 in Saint Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montague Rose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montague Rose B&B

Property: The Montague Rose B&B
Address: 258 Montague St, Saint Andrews, New Brunswick E5B 1J4, Canada
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint Andrews
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Montague Rose B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montague Rose B&B Saint Andrews, Canada - New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing