We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Golf Course - First Class Service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Algonquin Golf Club, St. Andrews By The Sea

The Algonquin Golf Club, St. Andrews By The Sea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Breathtaking views. Ocean breezes. A challenging game. For over a century, golfers have traveled to The Algonquin to test their skills and take in the views. Today, our 7,000-yard, par 72 course–redesigned in 2000 by renowned course architect Thomas McBroom–will delight and challenge golfers of every level. You’ll never want to return to a course without a show-stealing ocean backdrop.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Golf Course - First Class Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We visit St. Andrews almost every summer and have the tremendous good fortune to play the beautiful Algonquin Golf Course many times. The pro shop staff are extremely friendly and helpful and, along with the starters, really make you feel welcome. The course is incredibly scenic and in great shape despite a very wet spring and summer. If you get a chance to come to St. Andrews and play this great golf course, do it as you will not be disappointed. The Algonquin Hotel is under construction/renovation but will be spectacular when finished (it is now a part of Marriott's Autograph Collection). We can't wait to come back and stay at the new Algonquin Resort and play the golf course as many times as possible.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    21
    10
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff - great view of Fundy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We golfed in early August and started around 1:30 in a two-some. Staff were accommodating as we were early for our tee time. The starter couldn't have been nicer by explaining the course and wishing us a good holiday. Moved well until second nine but then it was very slow due to a group of 4 that was not keeping pace and there was no marshal to move them along The front nine is nothing exceptional and you spend most time waiting to see the back nine holes. But the wait was worth it - 12 & 13 are fantastic views! Cart paths need major renovations and ground maintenance was needed as rough was long. Very fair woman's tee decks. Wonderful club house with great change facilities.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TBaker2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“scenic and challenging”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

The Pro shop was very accommodating with our reservations even though there was an event planned. The course was in wonderful condition and the scenery was as spectacular as we had hoped. Playing it 2 days in a row was challenging but we knew we might never have the opportunity again. Two days of perfect sunshine made us feel blessed!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank alix m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simcoe, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Another successful annual weekend with the guys”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Enjoyed 3 rounds of golf with my friends from NS and AB. We've had an annual golf weekend here in July, August or September for almost a decade now. The course never disappoints and is always in great shape. Great fun, spectacular scenery and the staff are always friendly and helpful. A golf experience that would be hard to top.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Keith_R291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

I am what you would consider to be an average golfer. I really enjoy this course. It's signature hole (12?) is a par three with a big drop, and a green that is surrounded by water on three sides. Touch hole for me, but a very nice course, with great rates both early and late in the season.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Algonquin Golf Club, St. Andrews By The Sea also viewed

Saint Andrews, New Brunswick
 
Saint Andrews, New Brunswick
 

Been to The Algonquin Golf Club, St. Andrews By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing