We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over-priced, under-delivering”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn - Riviere-du-Loup
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Riviere du Loup
Brussels
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Over-priced, under-delivering”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Location: this motel is just off the main Fraser Street, convenient but also a large number of cars passing by all the time. The excellent Restaurant Saint-Patrice is just 300 metres away. The harbour is 5 km away.

Room: ours (115) facing the street was small, dated, somewhat rundown and with a musky smell. On the plus side, the bed was fairly comfortable, if on the small side. The wifi signal was very weak, and an Ipad didn't pick up any signal at all, while an IPhone just managed 1 bar. The upstairs neighbours were walking around with either lead boots or sound insulation was not great.

Value for money: at 140 CAD and billed as 3 stars, more was really expected. The complimentary continental breakfast had little selection and of poor quality ("orange juice" was undrinkable).

Room Tip: Ask for a river side room, they appear to be bigger and no noise from the road and parking space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanmarkBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie R, General Manager at Days Inn - Riviere-du-Loup, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Hello Mr or Mrs, I'm truly sorry that you didn't like your room. The entire hotel as been renovated at the end of 2012. It's just to bad because that room # 115 it's very very popular room for corporate people and senior because it's on the main level ( drive-up ). For the smell and the breakfast, when we don't know what's the problem, it's hard for us to make you stay the best that we can. We sincerely care about our guest !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    212
    80
    19
    10
See reviews for
176
171
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The Days Inn is a good choice for a stop-over on a trip from Montreal to the Maritimes or Gaspesie. It is located on rue Fraser and is just a few minutes drive from Highway 20. We chose the 1 King Bed Jacuzzi Room and it was well worth the extra $15 charge. Our room was upstairs and had a large balcony with a view of the St. Lawrence river in the distance. Check-in was efficient and staff were friendly and cheerful. The room was very large, spotlessly clean and well-equipped including a small refrigerator. The Jacuzzi was modern and lighting was good. The bathroom was convenient and had adequate space.
Continental breakfast was included. The quality and variety (including hard-boiled eggs and waffles) was excellent, pleasant staff kept re-stocking everything and the breakfast room was very clean with good ambience.
This must be one of the more expensive Day's Inns with the various Quebec and GST sales taxes added on - however the Day's Inn rates are well in-line with others in the area and occupancy seemed quite high.
Riviere-du-Loup has a good variety of restaurants and the local power dam and associated park and picnic location are well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBlues-85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanty Bay
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Overall the hotel was in a good location and reasonably clean. It was an older hotel so some of the flooring was quite uneven. I had to be careful walking in the hallway.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Shaaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We were very comfortable. Nice rooms. The lock on the outside door was very sticky and we could hardly open it. Our granddaughters enjoyed the pool. The breakfast was well laid out and offered a good variety.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riviere du Loup hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Levesque
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Levesque
#1 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
485 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
197 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Universel
Hotel Universel
#6 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Auberge de la Pointe
Auberge de la Pointe
#3 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
376 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup
Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup
#11 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
102 reviews
1.2 mi away
Auberge Internationale Rivire-du-Loup
Auberge Internationale Rivire-du...
#10 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn - Riviere-du-Loup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn - Riviere-du-Loup

Property: Days Inn - Riviere-du-Loup
Address: 182 rue Fraser, Riviere du Loup, Quebec G5R 1C8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Riviere du Loup
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Riviere du Loup
#7 Romantic Hotel in Riviere du Loup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn - Riviere-du-Loup 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Days Inn Riviere-du-Loup is situated on the banks of the St.Lawrence river, in an outstanding location that provides a calm and peaceful setting for visitors. In the late afternoon sun, the view of the river is magnificent.If you are travelling with your family and would like the convenience of a small house, you may prefer one of our eight charming, fully equipped cabins that provide both comfort and privacy. Our heated outdoor pool is also available for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn - Riviere-du-Loup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Riviere Du Loup Hotel Riviere Du Loup
Riviere Du Loup Days Inn
Days Inn - Riviere-Du-Loup Riviere Du Loup, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing