We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT NITES STAY!”
Review of Hotel Universel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Universel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Riviere du Loup
Reviewed 9 August 2012

BEAUTIFUL ROOMS, very clean premises through out. Large spacious rooms. We stayed in July two separate nights, once in a room with a balcony overlooking the pool and jacuzzi, gorgeous views with hugh pillars lush plants through out, very impressive, we sat and drank champagne on our main floor balcony overlooking the pool which had great ambiance music, very nice and clean.
Second stay, we stayed in their newly renovated rooms on the opposite side of the hotel, very, very, clean and gorgeous decor and furnishings. Very sound proof and a great nights stay both nights, I highly recommend this hotel, it is truly an amazingly awsome place to stay if you cant be at home! Two thumbs up to the staff at Hotel Universel for the remarkable job they do to keep the premises so neat and organized.

Room Tip: The rooms with a balcony at pool side were vertually sound proof, I would recommend for ambiance. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDoucet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joanna_lortie, Owner at Hotel Universel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2012

We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with our hotel every time you stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your satisfaction to us and to our future guests.We are very proud of our overall service.Each positive and constructive feedback is shared and is used to congratulate and train our team that attends to our customers everey day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

Our family of 4 were travelling on vacation from Montreal to Halifax. This also seemed an ideal stopover to go whale watching. Staff friendly enough, my French is not so good but we muddled through. $150 a night for a family of 4 seemed reasonable. Pool was ok once the underwater light fitting and it's trailing cable had been repaired. Fridge and microwave in room, AC not brilliant and very noisy. Seemed to be only 1 lift so we mostly used the stairs. IGA supermarket just down the road with burger king, KFC and also McD. Dead on 7.00am we heard the sound of drilling etc with an extension to the hotel...... Not good. Came back to the hotel at around 8.00pm and had difficulty finding a parking spot, there seemed to be cars everywhere with some kind of conference on.

Room Tip: Ask if they have completed the building work before booking otherwise you will get an unscheduled 7a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MATTNottinghamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joanna_lortie, Owner at Hotel Universel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2012

We are truly sorry that your stay didn't live up to your expectations. We can assure you that every day, we strive to be the best. In your case, it seems that we didn't succeed. This is exactly the kind of input we need to better serve our clients need. We would just like to take the time to acknowledge your comments about the stay, and let you know that we also have Prestige section, far away for the construction, for a near future quiet stay. A brand new Urban section, ready at the autumn, could be also a good way to give us a second chance and welcoming you in our great region.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

At $150 a night, this place seemed a little pricey but we figured we would treat ourselves. This was our last night on our way home from our maritime vacation. We had been camping and were looking for a little comfort. Check in was easy, staff was friendly. The room looked ok (except for the dirty towel in the hallway). There was a microwave and fridge in the room. The indoor pool was large and quite impressive. We settled in to bed and then.....BANG! Just after 7 AM we were awoken by the sound of diggers, dump trucks, drilling and, as an added bonus, loud swearing construction workers! Looks like this place willl be under construction for a while. We had booked our room directly with the hotel by phone. Had we been advised of the construction, we never would have stayed here. Very disapointing.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chantal_less
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joanna_lortie, Owner at Hotel Universel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2012

We are truly sorry about your less than desirable experience at our hotel. The receptionniste has to suggest another kinds of room or warn the guest because of the noise caused by the constructions for the new Urban section. We hope you will give us another chance and come back for a stay in the brand new section with our nordic spa.Once again, we sincerely apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed in this hotel on Saturday August 4th. When we checked in there was a large wedding going on so we were nervous about the noise, being Saturday night and all. Anyway, too our pleasure the night was very quiet. The building was obviously built to a high standard. Here comes the problem, this hotel is very old. We paid over 200 for a family suite for one night and the beds were old and small. They have updated the bathroom and tv but please, work on the bed! Afterall you go there to sleep right.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GW1155000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joanna_lortie, Owner at Hotel Universel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Thank you for making the time to discus with us and your valuable suggestions.We will be following up on the quality of the beds, given as the one of the most important aspects of delivering for one stay. Once again thank you for your valuable comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I stayed at Hotel Universel twice in a week on my way to and from the Maritimes. There were three adults in our party. The rooms were ver clean and quite comfortable. The shower and watercloset area was quite small. As a bonus though the sink and vanity were sperate so two people could get ready at once.

The property has two very good restaurants with good food and good prices. Check in was friendly and efficient. I had a young clerk named Mark who was extremeley friendly and efficent.

The property has an indoor pool and whirlpool that is refreshing. Note: Remember to get towels from the front desk for the pool, learned the hard way.

Only problem I had was wifi problems the second night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigfatoldguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joanna_lortie, Owner at Hotel Universel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We are proud of our overall service! We hope you will come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

....in the Hotel Universal that I stayed in, in Riviere de Loup, Quebec, which is a new Hotel Universal location, not more than a year old I believe. It had an amazing number of things under one roof but it had a very odd color scheme in the room-which was far from inexpensive-that made it look like the room was 30 or 40 years old. For example here was a brand new bed cover that was a collection of faded blues and greens that looked like a completely worn out piece of fabric at first glance. There was also a pair of matching modern style chairs that were the most mind bogglingly dull color I have ever seen for furniture being a combination of light beige, light mustard & light cream color. Add dark wood panelling running around the ceiling and up the walls in various places and you have a cross between German gothic & Detroit abandoned. Not what you might expect from a new construction. The Hotel staff was friendly & professional & there were several restaurants under one roof-but the restaurant I went to closed at 9pm. Not so great of you checked in at 7pm & went to eat at 830pm. The restaurant was good but not inexpensive & but not so convenient time wise. Overall I found it a slice of something. I doubt I will stay their again. There was no free breakfast offered with the single occupancy price of a four star Hotel. I see the place as primarily a conference center Hotel primarily geared towards business stays.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank footloose888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Didn't know what to expect upon arrival. Parking was limited due to construction, and many of the remaining spaces were reserved dedicated room spots. I did observe, in the morning, there was a vehicle with a trailer attached parked in the lot, a disability sticker clearly displayed in the window, with a "parking boot" attached to their front wheel. They were parked the best they could, in my opinion, considering the construction. I think the "parking police" were a little out of touch with that one.

As far as the hotel, it was nice. Indoor pool with lounge along side. Restaurant had a very nice atmosphere, semi formal and not bad priced. The food was very good. Free internet access.

Slept great, no complaints here at all...

Room Tip: If so inclined, be sure to ask for a room where the balcony either oversees the pool with a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OntarioTrucker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joanna_lortie, Owner at Hotel Universel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you personally for having selected our hotel for your personal accomodations during your visit to Riviere-du-Loup. We hope to have the chance to see you again at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riviere du Loup hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Levesque
Best Western Plus Hotel Levesque
#1 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
670 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
221 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn - Riviere-du-Loup
Days Inn - Riviere-du-Loup
#4 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Auberge de la Pointe
Auberge de la Pointe
#2 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
465 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup
Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup
#9 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
125 reviews
0.8 mi away
Auberge Amerilys
Auberge Amerilys
#8 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universel

Address: Boulevard de l'Hotel-De-Ville | 311, Riviere du Loup, Quebec G5R 5S4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Bas-Saint-Laurent > Riviere du Loup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Riviere du Loup
#6 Romantic Hotel in Riviere du Loup
Price Range: £65 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Universel 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Universel Riviere-du-Loup Hotel Universel in Riviere-du-Loup is pleased to welcome you to its brand-new, 220-room hotel in Riviere-du-Loup including 51 newly-built units. Hotel Universel offers a complete range of services specially designed to accommodate all the needs of its clientele, both business and tourist. Hotel Universel is your choice hotel in Riviere-du-Loup. We pride ourselves in being able to meet the expectations of all types of travelers with our variety of services and amenities, which is unique for a hotel in Riviere-du-Loup. Our extensive facilities include a state-of-the-art convention centre equipped with the latest in high-tech equipment; our excellent team of experienced lodging and food service professionals will ensure that your activities are an unqualified success. Our team at our hotel in Riviere-du-Loup is at your disposal to accompany you and advise you in organizing your wedding or your business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Universel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universel Hotel Riviere Du Loup
Hotel Universel Riviere Du Loup, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing