We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok for a quick stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Riviere du Loup
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Ok for a quick stop over”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at the Comfort Inn on our way from NS to Ontario for 1 night. I booked this property using Hotwire and I have gotten better deals for nicer places but it was a long weekend and I didn't book early in advance so it was ok.

It was clean, had a comfortable bed and it was quiet at night. It offered free parking and internet. It also offered free breakfast but the room they serve breakfast in is way too small for the amount of guests staying at the hotel. It's a guest room converted to a breakfast area. The choices were very limited...such as toast, cereal, cold hard boiled eggs, juice, tea and coffee and a bowl of not so great quality fruit of just apples and oranges. They didn't offer any yogurt, muffins, bagels or pastries of any sort.

There are a few restaurants not too far from the location such as St. Hubert...across the street. We stayed at the Days Inn last year for cheaper and had a beautiful view of the St. Lawrence.

I would stay there again but only if the price is right considering it's a quick stop-over while on the road. It is more difficult to find the hotel when you exit the highway coming from the East. A GPS will certainly be helpful. However, getting back on the 20 to head West is very easy and close to the Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2monkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guylaine D, General Manager at Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Many thanks for sharing your impressions of Comfort Inn Rivière-du-Loup. We always appreciate reading from our guests. We hope to welcome you again at the Comfort Inn Rivière-du-Loup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    33
    44
    7
    1
See reviews for
31
41
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

This Comfort Inn was a magnificent find. The service was very very good. The girl who was working Wednesday night was very friendly and efficient. And the man the next day was also very friendly. The double bed room was very good. The room was very clean with very minimal dirt and stains. The beds were very comfy. The bathroom was also very clean. The only thing that can improve for the room is the bathtub since the shower didn't run very fast, and it was a very light sprinkle. Also the bathtub was a bit dirty. The continental breakfast was great with good choices, but the breakfast area should be bigger since it was rather small. I will return if I am the area and I recommend this hotel to anyone in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AirCanada5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guylaine D, General Manager at Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
We thank you very much for this nice comment. We always appreciate reading from our guests. We hope to welcome you again at the Comfort Inn Rivière-du-Loup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

As all the other reviewers say, this is a totally fine, totally average hotel--clean, polite staff, comfortable enough. I just don't understand why it's so expensive--it's really pricey for a double bed and a tiny couch. There was a bottle of water on the table that cost $3--really?

The breakfast foods were adequate, but the breakfast room was horrible--you couldn't sit down at a table without asking someone else to move, and there only three tables. I don't know why they made the room so unpleasant.

That was my only complaint but because of the cost I won't stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guylaine D, General Manager at Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for your comments. Regarding you concerns about the rate, the Comfort Inn strives to have the most cost effective room rate available at all times, and automatically adapts your rate to current market demand.This dynamic pricing stategy uses the Best available rate so we give all potential customers the same price for a given period of time, to ensure customers are treated fairly. For the breakfast area, major renovation is for 2014. thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
154 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Chose this area as a place to stay half-way between Halifax and Toronto. Hotel was fine, no complaints. Beds were comfortable. All staff were friendly. Breakfast was mediocre and breakfast room was really small.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandySue123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guylaine D, General Manager at Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in July for a night after a long drive from Toronto. The hotel was comfortable and clean breakfast was good and replenished. I then came back here to stay 5weeks later in August and again had a comfortable stay, but unfortunately they ran out of some food for breakfast. I will stay here again if im ever in town.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 84260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guylaine D, General Manager at Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed at this location and while five years ago it seemed to be in better shape, it still was not bad this time around. My only complaints are that the smoking rooms and the non smoking rooms are all amongst each other so the smell of smoke in the hall is present. The decor could also use an update but the hotel was still clean despite being outdated. The breakfast could have offered a bit more choice with a large accommodating room to eat in. We were lucky to get a table and we were down there when the room from breakfast opened up.

Location is good but getting back onto the highway to head east is confusing. Checking in took no time at all and was easy as well as the girl at the desk was friendly and when we had made a mistake through our online reservation she was happy to switch us from a smoking to a non smoking room. Check out was great as we had paid for our room at check in and had no extra charges so when I woke up in the morning I found a copy of our receipt/bill under my door and it explained I could leave my keys and my room without having to inform the front desk. Great for my family as we had a long day ahead of us.

Overall the hotel suited my needs and nothing went wrong so I am satisfied but I am not sure I will stay again due to price and appearance.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Saundersfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guylaine D, General Manager at Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Many thanks for sharing your impressions of Comfort Inn Rivière-du-Loup. We always appreciate reading from our guests. We hope to welcome you again at the Comfort Inn Rivière-du-Loup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
293 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

As a halfway point between the New Brunswick - Nova Scotia border and Montreal I found this motel convenient and friendly. Close enough to Aut 20 to be convenient, far enough away to avoid highway noise. Ample parking. Limited but sufficient complimentary breakfast. Staff helpful. If you decide you have more time, whale watching trips can be booked from here. Quiet room. Great shower.
About three miles from the St Simeon ferry. Limited restaurant options, although there is a popular seafood/lobster place Le Boucaneux but call ahead for reservation.

Room Tip: First floor have patio access, second floor a walk up but less expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadrun50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guylaine D, General Manager at Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
We thank you very much for this nice comment. We always appreciate reading from our guests. We hope to welcome you again at the Comfort Inn Rivière-du-Loup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riviere du Loup hotels
1.7 mi away
Days Inn - Riviere-du-Loup
Days Inn - Riviere-du-Loup
#4 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Levesque
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Levesque
#1 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Auberge de la Pointe
Auberge de la Pointe
#3 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Universel
Hotel Universel
#6 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.9 mi away
Auberge Internationale Rivire-du-Loup
Auberge Internationale Rivire-du...
#10 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup

Property: Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup
Address: 85 boul. Cartier, Riviere du Loup, Quebec G5R 4X4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Riviere du Loup
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Riviere du Loup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup is located off Highway 20, exit 507. One hour away to Edmundston, New Brunswick and 1H15 to the state of Maine. Ferry to St-Simeon/Riviere-du-Loup located less then 5 minutes drive operating from April until January 2. Whale watching cruise boat between June to September is less then 5 minutes driving. At the Comfort Inn we offer free wireless internet, free local calls, free parking, FREE Full Hot breakfast. All rooms are equipped with 32in LCD television. Rooms on the 1st floor have a patio door with direct access to the parking. Rooms on the second floor have a window that opens. Your pet is welcome in designated rooms, for a small fee. There is no elevator ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Riviere-Du-Loup Riviere Du Loup, Quebec, Canada
Riviere Du Loup Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing