We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great overnight stay”
Review of Motel Loupi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel Loupi
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Riviere du Loup
Certificate of Excellence
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great overnight stay”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed only one night - motel is well located if one is taking the ferry to Saint Simeon. Motel is older but has been well looked after, we had every convenience needed in our room. Staff were friendly and directed us to good restaurants for evening and breakfast. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luc_genereux, Owner at Motel Loupi, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hello thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience with fellows travelers,

Hope you will come back

Luc and francine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    79
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
83
74
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Had a one night stay at Motel Loupi and really enjoyed it. We had a room overlooking the river so I sat outside for a bit to enjoy the view. Staff was really helpful and recommended a few places for us to get some food. Room was super clean and quiet-throughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle1436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luc_genereux, Owner at Motel Loupi, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hello , thank you for giving your opinion on our little motel

we do appreciate your kind words and we will do our best to make sure your readers will get the same treatment

luc and francine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, New Brunswick
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed one night in last week on the way to family in Ontario. As mentioned in the previous reviews I asked for a room on the south side with a view. Call from the road to get directions and had no trouble following them to the motel. Check in was quick and pleasant and he gave us some ideas for our travels in the morning. Rooms was large and clean with a microwave and fridge, Flat scren tv with good reception. Bathroom was nice and clean and shower was great. My only down side was we found the beds to be a little hard but that is personal preference. Then we walked out on the balcony which is the full length of the motel and you get to talk with everyone else, nice. The view was great we sat out most of the evening, had a drink and some snacks and enjoyed the sunset and the water. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for south side with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luc_genereux, Owner at Motel Loupi, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hello J thank you for taking the time to write such nice comments,
We do appreciatethem, specially now with 16 hours a day of work
Your words arre proff that we are dong ok

Have a great summer

Luc and francine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The Motel Loupi is as others have stated very clean. It is very quiet being off the main hiway a bit. Bathrooms are immaculate and a good view over the estuary coming off the St. Lawrence. There is a nice walk along the water that ends at the ferry landing that goes across the St. Lawrence. Along the way you find the Christmas castle all lit up with Christmas music in July!

I just met Luc Genereux the owner manager and he is very personable-we chatted for a while as my good friend back home has the same surname with presumably the same ancestry.

The Motel Loupi is a real find. In this day and age of homogenization of our economy it is nice to have an option such as this motel. Thanks to TripAdvisor I felt comfortable booking it. Unfortunately driving by on the freeway and not knowing anything about it I probably would have ended up at a "known quantity.

Room Tip: There are some rooms without the view. So I would ask for the view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank profemeritus216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luc_genereux, Owner at Motel Loupi, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Prof Emeritus

thank you for the good notes on our performance as your hosts

Francine and I thank you for staying with us ans hope that the drought will see an end in your beautiful California

say hello the the Genereux people in California for us

regards

luc and francine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We asked for a room with a view and that is what we got. Room was large, clean, a comfy bed plus all amenities, coffee pot, fridge, microwave. It was a great room for our last night squeezing all our clothes back in cases. We will certainly stop again next time we visit the Gaspe.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidWGUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luc_genereux, Owner at Motel Loupi, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hello, we want to thank you for your review of our motel,

we sincerely accept your kind words and do not forget to tell your friends

regards

luc and francine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cessnock, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The room was beautifully appointed and was lacking nothing as far as needs go. The owner was friendly and helpful, also spoke English. The view from the room was great and the town was easily accessible,

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river have a great view and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Nice and comfort motel with a great view on the city and the shore.
Tenants are very nice and the rooms are large and very clean,and there is a large balcony with chairs.
The motel is next to the downtown of Rivière du loup and just two streets away from the 132 road.
Just next door, there is the biggest christmas shop in Canada, and his amazing castle you can visit! Very kitsch!
So,the motel Loupi is a good spot to stop along the navigator road.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Clement C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luc_genereux, Propriétaire at Motel Loupi, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
We want to thank you for your comments , we wish you a good winter season and Happy Holidays .

we will be here when you will come back some day
regards

luc and francine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riviere du Loup hotels
0.4 mi away
Auberge de la Pointe
Auberge de la Pointe
#3 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Levesque
Best Western Plus Hotel Levesque
#1 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn - Riviere-du-Loup
Days Inn - Riviere-du-Loup
#5 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Universel
Hotel Universel
#6 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
1.5 mi away
Auberge Internationale Rivire-du-Loup
Auberge Internationale Rivire-du...
#10 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Loupi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Loupi

Property: Motel Loupi
Address: 50 rue de l'Ancrage, Riviere du Loup, Quebec G5R 6B1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Riviere du Loup
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Riviere du Loup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel Loupi 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motel Loupi is close to the exit 507 on Highway 20 and only 1 km from the ferry , we have 7 restaurants in a 1 km radius and a nice walking trail alongside the river.We offer 27 rooms and all rooms hace free wifi internet, tv , coffee maker, microwave, mini fridge, balcony or terrace, great view on the city , the river and the area is very quiet at night. free parking, free bicycles, gazebo , and game area for kids.Great stopover on your way to Gaspesie, Maritimes or Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Motel Loupi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Loupi Riviere Du Loup, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing