We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and very welcoming”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Riviere du Loup
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Motel Au Vieux Fanal
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Riviere du Loup
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and very welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed here on our way to Gaspe last week. As soon as they realized by our very broken french, that we did not speak french, they switched to english easily. The view from the rooms along the St Lawrence were amazing. The owners helped us find great pizza and the pool stayed open a little longer so our kids could swim for a bit. Beautiful sunset and great coffee from the lobby in the morning. I would definitely reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiHutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    23
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
30
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This motel have everything you need for a nights stay. The owners are incredibly friendly and helpful! There is lots of food nearby, and the view is amazing! I would definitely recommend thins place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Old fashionated motel but clean with a kind service. Take the rooms facing the river: you'll have an incredible sunset/rise.
Location is great: apart of the main road with a couple of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is good motel accommodation with just a few shortcomings. We had a large room overlooking the St Lawrence with chairs on the patio outside with which to enjoy the view. The room had two queen sized beds, television, fridge, small table and four upright chairs. Hanging space and storage facilities were adequate. The bathroom was a reasonable size with the usual three quarter length bath. A separate additional wash basin was positioned just outside the bathroom.

The motel occupies a quiet location some ten minutes from the motorway and has an attractive smart frontage on to Rue Fraser.

Strangely there were no tea or coffee making facilities and there was no ability to self cater or heat a ready cooked meal. The room was somewhat utilitarian with little decoration or comfy furnishings and was clearly intended to be little more than a good motel room for an overnight stop.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndrewVine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

A pleasant surprise with rooms backing directly on the St Lawrence river and mountains.
Super clean, modern decor, updated bath, queen bed and well priced. English speaking owner was very pleasant and helpfull. A great place in a charming town.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I recommend this motel to those who want a super clean room, very reasonable prices and a fantastic view of the St. Lawrence. The owners are very nice and dedicated to serve their customers. There are picnic tables and a few double-gliders available. All this in front of this beautiful view. This was my second stay and certainly not the last. You can book with confidence. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecooltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Rivière du Loup is about half way on our two day trip to/from Toronto/PEI. Vieux Fanal was well rated on Trip Advisor. Not far from the TCH( but far enough), good restaurants within walking distance, lots more within a 10 minute drive. Basic room, spotlessly clean bathroom, outdoor pool, less than $90/ night,....gorgeous view of the St.Lawrence River & mountains on the north shore, priceless.
"Madame" ( the owner), was very helpful & informative.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riviere du Loup hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn - Riviere-du-Loup
Days Inn - Riviere-du-Loup
#4 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Universel
Hotel Universel
#6 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Levesque
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Levesque
#1 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
2.2 mi away
Auberge de la Pointe
Auberge de la Pointe
#3 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Amerilys
Auberge Amerilys
#9 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Au Vieux Fanal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Au Vieux Fanal

Property: Motel Au Vieux Fanal
Address: 170 rue Fraser, Riviere du Loup, Quebec G5R 1C8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Riviere du Loup
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Riviere du Loup
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful spot with an exceptional view on the river. Most beautiful sunsets in the world. Excellent service. Many excellent restaurants nearby (walking distance). Near downtown. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Motel Au Vieux Fanal Riviere Du Loup, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing