We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm and friendly home from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Charm of Qualicum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Charm of Qualicum
Ranked #2 of 21 Qualicum Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A warm and friendly home from home!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This must be the best B&B I have stayed in. Siggy and Detlef are born to be the hosts of a B&B. They welcomed us into their home for five nights as if we were friends from the moment we stepped over the threshold. Nothing was too much trouble and they had the magical touch of knowing when we needed a cup of tea, a chocolate biscuit and a friendly chat and when we needed a little space to reflect on our emotional journey to grieve for a loved one. The house is full of life, love, friendship and history and whilst we naturally treated all this with respect we never felt we had to be on our guard. The whole place was warm and welcoming and I could luxuriate in a warm bubbly bath whilst my daughter was in the spacious shower. With outside temperatures below freezing it was wonderful to snuggle down in a warm and comfortable bed or curl up on the large settees in the guest lounge or join in a family celebration with their friends. Only a German couple could have had such attention to detail in every way, including spotless rooms and wonderful home made breakfasts of variety and flavour (with a humming bird entertaining us out of the window) and their personal recommended sight seeing itinerary! I will never forget the way you embraced us and the the journey of discovery which led us to Qualicum Beach and look forward to visiting again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
75
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I have just left here, after five very emotional days with my mum. We were so pleased that we could stay somewhere so warm and welcoming. Siggy and Detlef could not have been more hospitable, from letting me stroke the dog, to leaving us biscuits if they were out, so we could have them with our cups of tea… And embracing us into Detlef's birthday celebrations!!! The breakfasts were wonderful, something different every day, and all fresh and home cooked… The room was cosy and comfortable, and of course clean. Despite an emotional reason for our journey, I slept like a log every night!! When we needed down time, our extraordinary hosts gave us ideas of places to go, eat, see, drive to, walk… And they got the bikes out for us, and then we never used them (sorry!!).

Siggy and Detlef were so kind, always there if we needed them, but not in our way, and I truly felt at home in their wonderful house!!

Thank you both so much, I cannot imagine staying anywhere else when we next visit Qualicum Beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyBex96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Once again the harm exceeds our every need. So pleased to return and find the same great hosts, company, setting, service and food. We would heartily rec-commend this location to anyone. While there we met other visitors who certainly echo our feelings on this very excellent home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rewin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Our stay with Sigrid and Detlef was wonderful. We loved the Bavarian-style bedroom and the big TV. They were very friendly, gave us good tips to go out and told us interesting stories about the region and beyond. The best of all was the healthy and tasty breakfast in the morning. We enjoyed every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank destiny7113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston,TX
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our hosts ,Sigrid and Detlef,could not have been more gracious.Our room and bathroom were
beautiful and comfortable.Detlef gave us some great suggestions and directions to local
stunning old-growth forest trails to some impressive waterfalls.Brunches were ample and delicious.This was one of the nicest B&B's I've ever had the good luck to visit.

Room Tip: there is no fitness center-I couldn't erase my entry.We stayed downstairs and could not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights and found the house to be very much as described in previous reviews. This wouldn't be a good choice for a family or someone with young children as lots of little decorations, but fine for an older couple like ourselves. The hosts were very helpful with suggestions for things to see and do in the area and places to eat. Lots of variety and healthy choices for breakfast. The area is lovely and a nice place to spend some time.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ColleenMcA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed with Sigi and Detlef for 11 days. The accommodations were first class and the hosts were welcoming and made one feel totally comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent to say the least with a different one every day. I don't think you could do better in a 5 star restaurant.. Sigi and Tetlef went out of their way to accommodate us including inviting us for dinner and sending us on our way upon departure with snacks and fruit. I would highly recommend Charm of Qualicum as it beats any hotel stay hands down. If there was a rating system I would give it a 10 out of 10. Thanks, Sigi and Detlef for a great time and a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qualicum Beach
0.2 mi away
Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.4 mi away
Qualicum Beach Inn
Qualicum Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
203 reviews
1.9 mi away
Buena Vista by the Sea
Buena Vista by the Sea
#4 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#3 of 13 in Parksville
1,183 reviews
1.9 mi away
Shorewater Resort
Shorewater Resort
#3 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
74 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Rosetta Bed & Breakfast
La Rosetta Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 21 in Qualicum Beach
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charm of Qualicum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charm of Qualicum

Property: Charm of Qualicum
Address: 406 Cypress Rd | British Columbia, Qualicum Beach, British Columbia V9K 1G5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Qualicum Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Qualicum Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charm of Qualicum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The jewel, of Vancouver Island, the picturesque village of Qulicum Beach beckons you... Perfectly situated to enjoy the natural beauty of this lovely Oceanside town is our B&B, "Charm of Qualicum". This gracious heritage home offers all the amenities to pamper you at the end of your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Charm of Qualicum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charm Of Qualicum Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing