We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Qualicum Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Awesome experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Very quaint small boutique hotel. Beautiful room and extremely well-appointed. Bathroom was immense. Had a small AC unit as well as a ceiling fan and windows that opened for the night breeze. Front desk is literally just a desk and reception was a little cool but adequate. Rooms on second floor can be accessed by an elevator. The dining room is spectacular - the service and food could not have been better. My husband has several food sensitivities and they were all catered to with ease and charm. Barbara was our server and she was awesome. We stayed in the John Wayne room which was small but very comfortable. A mini wine fridge and kettle were in the room as well. Complimentary continental breakfast in the dining room was elegant and refreshing. It was by far the nicest place we stayed in on the island and many other places for that matter!

Room Tip: Some rooms face the golf course and ocean and others face the garden/parking area but you pay accord...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownMansionManager, Manager at Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
We appreciate your kind comments, and are happy that you enjoyed the John Wayne Room, which is our most private room, requested by guests who enjoy an extra level of coziness.

We will pass along your compliments to Barbara, who has been a much beloved server at Butlers for a long time.

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    24
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
86
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were looking for a place to stay on our recent trip to Qualicum Beach, and we are so glad we stumbled upon the Crown Mansion on Tripadvisor! Initially we were somewhat disappointed that we could not get a room with a claw foot tub that others have posted pictures of, but when we arrived and got to see our room we were blown away! This place has such a peaceful, romantic aura about it, and our room was gorgeous, with so much of the character preserved from times past. We love that every room pays homage to the history of the site, and our room was VERY clean and comfortable (and huge). It was all that we could have asked for and more. We had dinner at Butler's restaurant, located in the mansion, and enjoyed an intimate, delicious meal. The staff was so accommodating and friendly, we look forward to many more visits! We have stayed at places twice to three times the cost of a night's stay here, and have been so much less impressed. If you are looking for real value, this is it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful. You will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank van_Juba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownMansionManager, Manager at Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
We thank you for your lovely review of the Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel! The Edwardian charm of our hotel is one of our proudest boasts, and we are delighted that the hotel and our staff met with your approval. We look forward to hosting you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We spent only one night here on our tour of Vancouver Island but wished it had been longer. Of all the hotels and B&Bs we had stayed in up to this point, this one will remain in our memory. It had a strong 1920s ambience with lovely airy dining and reception spaces. We had the Bing Crosby room on the first floor which was very homely, sunny and comfortable. The most wonderful surprise was the truly gourmet dining room - the menu would rank with any of the top dining experiences. Simply the best food on our entire holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownMansionManager, Manager at Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We are pleased to offer a quiet oasis for true romantics here on lovely Vancouver Island. And what can add to a pleasurable stay more than good food? We are extremely proud of our Executive Chef James Hannah, who puts so much care, attention, imagination and love into his creations. Thanks for staying with us, and please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed in the King of Siam room which was very spacious and well furnished with a roll top bath in the bay window. The dining/breakfast room was elegant and the property had great character. The staff were cordial and helpful but not particularly welcoming. I think the original website we looked at when we booked did not do justice to the grandeur of the property and it's history.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nano0k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownMansionManager, Manager at Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
We're glad you enjoyed the character and uniqueness of Crown Mansion. We are extremely proud of this truly classic gem. And we hear you loud and clear about website, and agree with you. A new, updated site is to be launched in only a few days. And, as for welcome, you are always very welcome indeed to our hotel and restaurant! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trabuco Canyon, California
Level Contributor
247 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed one night at this quaint hotel and it was lovely. Wonderful location within walking distance to the beach located in front of woods and with a beautiful garden (which the deers were enjoying).

Our breakfast was continental but nice. Fresh muffin, fresh fruit, good coffee. The service was excellent.

The only negative for us was the room was dark. The windows weren't the very large washroom and you had to use lights when in the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grpandnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownMansionManager, Manager at Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thanks for your lovely review. Although we are a luxury boutique hotel, we always endeavour to make the Mansion feel as if it is a real home - welcoming, calm, soothing and friendly. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed for 4 nights this April. Very large room, slipper tub, king size bed. Very comfortable bed, very quiet location, great view of ocean from room, wine fridge in room. Room had a bit of a musty smell, but to be expected for a house built in 1913! It has been renovated, so don't worry!
There are only 5 rooms in the hotel and we had it to ourselves for most nights. Continental breakfast was good. Dinner was adequate, but not great....I'm a very tough critic.
Great location. Check out Giovannis in town for Italian or great pizza.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chopper750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownMansionManager, Manager at Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review! We appreciate your feedback and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay!
We often get great feedback on the comfort level of our rooms, especially the four-poster king size beds with luxury pillow-top mattresses with high thread count bedding with lots of pillows and a comfy duvets. We are glad you noticed!
We are not sure why you might have experienced "a musty smell" as the only remaining elements of the original 1914 construction is the exterior cladding of the mansion and the windows. The entire interior construction and furnishings is new as of 2008, and many of the room amenities, including the linens and towels are new this year. The heating and cooling systems are state-of the-art. The weather was quite humid during your stay... nonetheless, we've taken note and we will monitor this going forward.
Just to clarify to others that may be reading your review, we have 11 rooms available for guests. We do, as you noticed, attract guests that are looking for a quiet and relaxed, boutique hotel experience!
Thank you very much again for feedback and recommendation and we look very forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

I cannot say enough good things about this gem! Not only are the rooms lovely, but the attention to detail from the staff is wonderful! Even being asked if we wanted real cream to take up to our room shows how much they care. We were there for a birthday get away and had a lovely dinner in their restaurant (capped off by their great staff singing Happy Birthday). My husband had ordered the Valentine's Package and when we got to our room, a bottle of Champagne and box of chocolates were waiting for us. All in all, this is one of the best places on the Island to go for a relaxing retreat! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie-Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinHoff14, Manager at Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We really do care and we make every effort to treat our guests like the VIPs we know they are. Our team works hard to find ways to make your stay memorable and we are so glad that you noticed. Thanks again and we look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qualicum Beach
26.0 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
7.8 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Qualicum Beach Inn
Qualicum Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#3 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
1.8 mi away
Buena Vista by the Sea
Buena Vista by the Sea
#4 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.8 mi away
Shorewater Resort
Shorewater Resort
#3 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas

Property: Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas
Address: 292 Crescent Rd E, Qualicum Beach, British Columbia V9K 0A5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Qualicum Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Qualicum Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique Hotel in the heart of Qualicum Beach along with Butlers Restaurant keeps to its original grace of 1912 and offers luxurious nightly accommodations, rich in tradition and history. Butlers cuisine is a reflection of the elegance that surrounds the patrons of our classic and stylish eatery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing