We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It suceeds at what it tries to be”
Review of The Beach Hut

The Beach Hut
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It suceeds at what it tries to be”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This place is a great little way to get food at the beach with friends. They have tons of flavours of soft ice cream and awesome fries (they have seasoning salt on them)! The Beach Hut hires young people from the community which is a plus too. I don't think that I'd really drive down just to eat here but I would definitely drive to the beach and then grab a bite to eat. Love meeting here with friends and grabbing a pop, hot dog, fries and ice cream because that's what this restaurant really is for, having fun.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zazzithecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    27
    11
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful View -- Fun place to eat”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We're not talking fine dining here...and that is okay since this place is about having a seaside snack and moving on to other adventures. The ice cream is the focus here and you have a wide range of flavours to choose from. Is the best ice cream in town? Maybe. Frosteez at QF has fantastic ice cream, but it sure doesn't have the same amazing view. This is a place to sit down and soak up the atmosphere, have a nice cream and enjoy your relaxation time in Qualicum Beach.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Decent food. Nice young staff”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Some of these nasty reviews sadly don't surprise me at all. The local stuffy, self entitled, blowhards that make up this community are some of the pickiest , snobbiest you'll ever come across. It's a damn beach hut- OK? Not The Keg. Relax. Its a place to go for an ice cream and a burger. Yes- the view and setting usually outdo the food. So what?!

Helpful?
3 Thank Nucks_94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver BC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Big Disappointment”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Location, Location, right on the beach front with fabulous views. But the food and coffee is awful.
I ordered a plane toasted bagel with butter and received a warm onion bagel served in a take out disposable dish nominally used for French fries; the coffee was so weak I could almost see the bottom of the paper cup. I queried my order and was told that’s how it comes !!. The washroom needed restocking as well as a good clean.

A big disappointment as I make a point of bringing friends and visitors to The Beach Hut but never again will I waste my time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
256 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Eatery on the water”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

This place is on the water front in Qualicum Beach. Its outdoors eating with some tables on the patio deck, looking out onto the water. Nice food and a place to go and have Soft or Hard ice cream with so many flavours to choice from. I thing you would have to come every day they are open to try everyone of them. it is a seasonal place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 145elite123145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beach Hut also viewed

Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 

Been to The Beach Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing