We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a try”
Review of Qualicum Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Qualicum Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Qualicum Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Had a nice experience at the new restaurant. Prices are reasonable and the service was excellent. We shared from the Tapas and Appetizer menu. Only downside was the scant portion of the zucchini plate and no Basil on our Marguerita pizza. Other than that, a first class establishment!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank BobNala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Qualicum Beach Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

WOW! what a great upgrade to a tired old facility. This hotel recebtly under went a top to bottom complete upgrading and overhaul.
The new restaurant has outstanding views from the inside dining room or the expansive outdoor covered and uncovered patio space...all with expansive views of the ocean and coastal mountains.
The menu has good selection to satisfy every tastes, and there are a wide selection of Gluten free choices clearly labelled.
Servers were very attentive and polite.
Highly recommend this restaurant. ..welcome to the 21st century Qualicum Beach.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We came upon this property almost by accident, just looking for a nice place to stay in the Qualicum Beach--Parksville area on our way over to Tofino. It looked new and modern---and even though it was pricier than the other hotels we were looking at, we thought we would give it a try. Boy, were we pleasantly surprised at the quality of the property. Little did we know that the property had been an old, well known hotel that had been purchased by the local owners of the mid-Vancouver Island, Quality Foods supermarket group and had been turned into a first class small boutique resort---and had only been open a few weeks. The rooms were meticulously designed with high quality fixtures and amenities---down duvets on the beds, large flat screen TV's, high quality and modern bathroom fixtures, etc. The view from the beach-facing rooms was well worth the small upcharge. The restaurant and patio at the front of the hotel were extremely comfortable--the food was excellent. We consider ourselves fortunate that we stumbled on this wonderful property and had a lovely day there.

Room Tip: choose a room facing the beach---and get up early to see the sun come up over the water--breathtakin...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank harts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My husband and I were invited by friends to dine at the Qualicum Beach Inn last night. From the moment we entered the building we were in awe of the unbelievable transformation that has taken place over the last year and a half. It truly is first class all the way!! The workmanship and detail is fantastic. The choice of decor and adornments is classy and chic. Sitting in the cocktail lounge and sipping our drinks was relaxing and fun as we watched everyone around us chatting and laughing and obviously savoring their time there. Dinner was very delicious, and the prices surprisingly reasonable. We had a window table and couldn't stop looking out at the priceless view of the straits of Georgia before us. What a view!!!! There is so much attention given to every detail and it shows. After our sumptuous meal we asked for a tour of the rooms! Wow!!! The quality of furnishings and accessories and even the wonderful choice of photos on the walls featuring places all local to Qualicum, add to the uniqueness of this lovely addition to our area. We wish the owners many many years of success as they truly do deserve it!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I live in Qualicum Beach, so along with many of our friends, we have been closely watching the transformation of the Old Dutch into the QBI for many months. We are always on the look out for a new place to frequent!

Since opening, we have attended a Patio Party, hosted on the restaurant patio, and an in-room patio party for the Fireworks last Saturday night. We have also been to the restaurant for breakfast, lunch and drinks several times.

First off the bar drinks are up to date and very good. Try a few different martini choices!

The patio is amazing with its fire tables, very cool!

The atmosphere within the restaurant and the rooms is comparable to a chic modern boutique hotel in Vancouver or Toronto. If you are an adherent to modern motif, this will not disappoint!

We booked 4 rooms and stayed overnight for the fireworks - what fun! It was like being somewhere else, only we could have walked home!! The perfect get away! Can't wait to do this again! We are really hoping they have specials for Qualicum residence. The kids just loved the pool and sauna!

The patios on the ocean side of the hotel have an amazing view of the beach and mountains in the background. The rooms themselves have triple sheeting and very comfy beds - everything is impecabley clean. We are pretty picky about cleanliness.

I also loved the in-room Nespresso maker. The Fairmount hotels now carry them, however I never expected this in a local hotel!

The staff is so helpful! We had a few kids in our group and the housekeeper saw them trying to walk in adult size bathrobes! They gave them kids size robes that look identical to the adults ones! What a good idea!

All in all, we have had wonderful experiences at the QBI and we are all happy to have such a great local spot!

In truth though, there seems to be a few issues they are working out in the restaurant with food and wait times, but I think this is to be expected, so soon after opening.

Here are a few food choices we have enjoyed: Pizza, wings, lamb chops, sliders and mussels. Prices are great, and I am sure as time goes by, we will be able to add to the list.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with an ocean view. If you are going with a group, get adjoining rooms, they...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Things are looking up along the beach front at Qualicum Beach.
Long time Qualicum Beach business leaders with their grocery business Quality Foods, Ken Schley, John Briuolo and Noel Hayward are again putting their personal stamp of 'quality' on the hospitality map of Qualicum Beach and Vancouver Island.
The location is excellent at the foot of the hill and the edge of the renowned beach. The finish is striking and decor stunning. A brand new restaurant and cocktail lounge, pool, spa, conference centre, outdoor patio, a stone fireplace, and spectacular views of the striate of Georgia compliment finely appointed rooms. Marble and tile everywhere. Quality is the word at the Qualicum Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the very end of the hall next to the beach or one of the rooms that front onto t...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

we stayed at this hotel on July, 2012. I made my reservation for a double room by phone. They called me back within 10 minutes to suggest another room for our party of four. They gave us the old manager suit. It was wonderful. We had a wonderful view of the ocean from our deck. we had two separate rooms, each with a full washroom. a full dining room and living room area with a studio kitchenette. The room was perfectly decorated in black and white. I could not stop taking pictures. I am hoping to book the same suit for next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmenalvarez1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qualicum Beach
0.3 mi away
Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas
5.6 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#7 of 13 in Parksville
247 reviews
26.2 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
1.5 mi away
Buena Vista by the Sea
Buena Vista by the Sea
#5 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
128 reviews
8.7 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qualicum Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qualicum Beach Inn

Address: 2690 Island Hwy W, Qualicum Beach, British Columbia V9K 1G8, Canada (Formerly Old Dutch Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Qualicum Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Qualicum Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Qualicum Beach
Price Range: £103 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Qualicum Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Qualicum Beach Inn is a boutique hotel featuring 32 well appointed luxurious guestrooms. Located just 25 metres from the beach in the beautiful town of Qualicum Beach, panoramic views and amazing sunsets across the Georgia Straits to Denman, Hornby & Lasqueti Islands with the Mainland Coastal mountain range in the distance. Indoor heated pool with whirlpool and cedar plank dry sauna available to guests from 6am to 10pm. Try our C-View restaurant with contemporary cuisine from 7am to 10pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Qualicum Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Dutch Hotel Qualicum Beach
Qualicum Beach Inn Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing