We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Qualicum Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Willow Guest House
Ranked #5 of 19 Qualicum Beach B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Our family stayed for 1 night in the Garden Suite, where there was plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 children. The Blue Willow is in a beautiful quiet neighborhood. The gardens are lovely and the beds are very comfortable. We all slept soundly and woke to a delicious breakfast. Maxine, our hostess, gave us some very good advice on places to stop on our drive to Ucluelet. Our kids, who had never stayed at a Bed&Breakfast before, loved it. Maxine was a very thorough, warm hostess.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank socalfamily2699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed with our most gracious and caring hostess for two nights, once on the way to our destination and again on our return home. Maxine was gracious, caring and sociable without being intrusive and treated us as if we really mattered to her.
Our room on our initial visit had a very comfortable bed, toilet and washhand basin. The bathroom, across the hall was for the exclusive use of our room. Every thing was immaculate, and all the little extras that ensure comfort were provided. For our second visit we stayed in the Garden Suite. For the two of us this was way too much. A king sized bed, and a queen sized bed in a separate room plus a single in a little alcove suitable for an extra traveller, making this perfect for a family or two couples travelling together.
Maxine's breakfasts would challange a five star restaurant to duplicate. To die for. Even my egg allergy was catered to. Delicious egg free main courses for both meals, egg free muffins, and never ending gourmet coffee. Be prepared to linger over breakfast as Maxine ensures it is a very social time for all her guests.
The grounds are wonderful, peaceful and full of interesting nooks and cranies that invite lingering with a glass of wine and good book, or a travelling companion.
I cannot recommend this guest house enough.

Room Tip: Every room is wonderful, as are the common areas such a the living room, conservatory and dining roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Stayed in the Garden Suite for 3 nights with my husband and young son. We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly! The suite was well-suited for our small family. It is above the garage, and separate from the main house where the other B&B rooms are. The Garden Suite has three beds (king in the main room, queen in the back room, and twin in a cute little alcove). This was more than what we needed, but having the extra space was a plus. There is also a full bathroom with tub and separate shower stall, well-stocked with lots of fluffy towels. The main room has a table and chairs, sitting area, cable TV with DVD player, and hutch fully stocked with plates, cups, cutlery, knives, coffee, tea, kettle, etc. There is, however, no fridge, which does limit ability to prepare food in the room.

Breakfasts were always a feast. Each morning, we had fresh fruit, yogurt, granola and other cereals, as well as coffee, tea, juice. In addition, Maxine prepared a hot entree (apple pancakes, omelettes, etc.). Although this was already more than enough, Maxine would then present us with a sweet treat (scone, muffin, etc.). Definitely no shortage of food! Breakfast is served at 8:30 am, which meant we fed our son in our room first since he was always up early, then he had his second breakfast with us. The meal is done at a leisurely pace, so we learned to adjust to "island time".

Maxine is an excellent host - very warm, friendly without being intrusive, and wonderful with our son. We were made to feel very welcome there.

Our room was cleaned each day of our stay, including a towel change, which was a nice surprise.

The B&B also has charming grounds, including a lovely garden. This added to the pleasure of our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CdnMtnGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This is one of the most wonderful places to stay, not only for the amazing three courses breakfast Maxine services, but meeting new friends while enjoying the breakfast. Her hospitality comes shining through with how she make everyone one feel so comfortable and at home instantly. The rooms I have stayed in with their unique accents, each room is individual, but the overall feeling of comfortable and relaxing is everywhere.

For me the most pleasant time was sitting in her amazing garden, being able to read for a couple of hours with nothing more than beautiful flowers surrounding me, and birds singing.

Thanks Maxine for making the Blue Willow an wonderful, relaxing slice of heaven.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank celia a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We have stayed at the Blue Willow in 2011 and 2012, for a total of 11 days. There is NO where else to stay in Qualicum Beach!! Maxine is the very best hostess - ever!! The rooms have always been immaculate. The breakfasts are to die for. Even more she is such a wonderful person - originally from Calgary now a well known QB resident. No matter where you go, they all know Maxine. If you don't stay at Blue Willow you will miss out on a great experience. Thanks Maxine for being YOU.

Room Tip: We stayed twice in the Garden Suite. Quite and secluded, bright and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nf m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Father's Day weekend at the car show was highlighted by our stay at Blue Willow Guest House with Maxine. Three couples stayed, two in the guest house and one couple in the east bedroom upstairs in the house. We have stayed in a few B&B's in Europe and this was our first experience in Canada and it was absolutely superior in all respects. Maxine is a friendly and considerate hostess but not overpowering. She has an exceptionally clean and cozy home and you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. Our breakfast was 5 star, served beautifully and delicious. Do not hesitate to stay at this B&B. You will not be disappointed! We will definately stay here again when we are in Qualicum next time.

Room Tip: If you are looking for more privacy, choose the quest house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We had the most wonderful stay with Maxine at the Blue Willow. We stayed in the Garden Suite which was immaculate and so comfortable, I felt all the stress of the week melt away as we walked in the door. And Maxine was very helpful and informed about beautiful Qualicum Beach. The bed was so comfy and all the little touches in the room made it very special. So much love has gone into creating a beautiful space. Then..... the breakfast. WOW! A three course amazing meal, again made with love. We sat and chatted with Maxine and really didn't want to leave, but sadly had to carry on. Can't wait to get back. Must stay longer next time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank flohenge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Qualicum Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
La Rosetta Bed & Breakfast
La Rosetta Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 19 in Qualicum Beach
57 reviews
0.4 mi away
Charm of Qualicum
Charm of Qualicum
#2 of 19 in Qualicum Beach
143 reviews
0.4 mi away
At Nautica Tigh Bed & Breakfast
At Nautica Tigh Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 19 in Qualicum Beach
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tea Cozy Bed & Breakfast
Tea Cozy Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 19 in Qualicum Beach
31 reviews
0.7 mi away
Elizabeth Manor Bed and Breakfast
Elizabeth Manor Bed and Breakfas...
#10 of 19 in Qualicum Beach
9 reviews
0.7 mi away
Qualicum Beach Inn
Qualicum Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Willow Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Willow Guest House

Address: 524 Quatna Rd, Qualicum Beach, British Columbia V9K 1B4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Qualicum Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Qualicum Beach
Price Range: £51 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Willow is a long established (1984) Bed And Breakfast offering delightfully appointed guest rooms and sumptuous breakfasts in a quintessential "English Cottage" - a 1960's Tudor style homw with beamed ceilings and leaded glass windows. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Willow Guest House Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing