We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A breakfast to die for”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Qualicum Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Willow Guest House
Ranked #5 of 21 Qualicum Beach B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A breakfast to die for”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed twice with Maxine during our travels round Canada and were sad to leave her lovely, friendly company. Maxine,and Jim, are splendid hosts ands its obvious she loves what she does as she is just as thrilled to have you stay in her home as we were lucky to have found her. Beware, breakfast will last you all day and it was great having Maxine and Jim join in the lively conversation round 'the European table'!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jojul_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
29
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Maxine runs the most wonderful get-away B&B. The home is full of interest as is the garden. Maxine is friendly and makes sure everyone has a wonderful experience. Her breakfasts are amazingly good, more than enough to eat and we've even had our muffins 'to go' as we were so full. My friend and I have been going for a 'girls' weekend getaway' for several years now and we get the 'Garden Suite' as it gives us our own rooms and is very quiet and well appointed. We always enjoy our stay going into Qualicum and Parksville (a 10 min drive) , shopping, going to the beach etc. and always enjoy Maxine's company when we catch up at breakfast. She is a lovely hostess and if you want the cosy feel to your get-away this is certainly the place. I would highly recommend Blue Willow Guest House to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuLoWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We chose Blue Willow Guest House with no previous knowlege of the quality of this Bed & Breakfast home. Maxine met us at the door with a genuine warmth and easy manner which made us feel at home at once. We stayed in The Rose Room, with it's beautiful, large and comfortable bed, elegant furnishings, a basin area with mirror and good lighting, separate 'WC', and a lovely, newly renovated full bathroom across the hall for our exclusive use. Extra pillows, blanket and robes were found in the wardrobe, bottled water and simple, essential amenities were supplied. A cozy living room, with a fireplace, a piano, books and games was very inviting, and in the dining room, a lovely antique table was set for breakfast, in Blue Willow china.
The nieghbourhood was very quiet so we slept well. In the morning, from our bedroom window, we could see a lovely 'English Garden'. Maxine's breakfast, nutritious and beautifully presented can only be described as a real treat! We stayed much longer than we had planned, enjoying the conversation with Maxine and her other guests. We will definately go again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

The owner Maxin does everything possible to make the stay pleasant. The rooms are charming and cosy. The guests are allowed access to a very pleasant,relaxing sitting area with music if desired. She is a gourmet cook and presents her guests with very tasty,special creations. We try to go at least once a year to 'recharge'.

Room Tip: The garden suite is a separate ,small building--ideal for more than2 people. My wife had a sisters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rwadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We spent two nights in the Garden Suite, a spacious two bedroom suite, where everything was perfect. Maxine is the consummate host and made us feel at home immediately. Breakfasts both mornings were delightful and plentiful (she even served early so we were sure to make our ferry on time) and the mix of house guests made for memorable morning starts. Maxine provided us with a list of places to dine and visit and she was spot on for each one. We recommend The Blue Willow to anyone seeking that perfect B&B experience.

Room Tip: Garden suite for most privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VolvanaWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Our family stayed for 1 night in the Garden Suite, where there was plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 children. The Blue Willow is in a beautiful quiet neighborhood. The gardens are lovely and the beds are very comfortable. We all slept soundly and woke to a delicious breakfast. Maxine, our hostess, gave us some very good advice on places to stop on our drive to Ucluelet. Our kids, who had never stayed at a Bed&Breakfast before, loved it. Maxine was a very thorough, warm hostess.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank socalfamily2699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Two Hills
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed with our most gracious and caring hostess for two nights, once on the way to our destination and again on our return home. Maxine was gracious, caring and sociable without being intrusive and treated us as if we really mattered to her.
Our room on our initial visit had a very comfortable bed, toilet and washhand basin. The bathroom, across the hall was for the exclusive use of our room. Every thing was immaculate, and all the little extras that ensure comfort were provided. For our second visit we stayed in the Garden Suite. For the two of us this was way too much. A king sized bed, and a queen sized bed in a separate room plus a single in a little alcove suitable for an extra traveller, making this perfect for a family or two couples travelling together.
Maxine's breakfasts would challange a five star restaurant to duplicate. To die for. Even my egg allergy was catered to. Delicious egg free main courses for both meals, egg free muffins, and never ending gourmet coffee. Be prepared to linger over breakfast as Maxine ensures it is a very social time for all her guests.
The grounds are wonderful, peaceful and full of interesting nooks and cranies that invite lingering with a glass of wine and good book, or a travelling companion.
I cannot recommend this guest house enough.

Room Tip: Every room is wonderful, as are the common areas such a the living room, conservatory and dining roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qualicum Beach
0.5 mi away
Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.7 mi away
Qualicum Beach Inn
Qualicum Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Charm of Qualicum
Charm of Qualicum
#2 of 21 in Qualicum Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Rosetta Bed & Breakfast
La Rosetta Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 21 in Qualicum Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
5.3 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#3 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Whitley House B&B
Whitley House B&B
#9 of 21 in Qualicum Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Willow Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Willow Guest House

Property: Blue Willow Guest House
Address: 524 Quatna Rd, Qualicum Beach, British Columbia V9K 1B4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Qualicum Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Qualicum Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Willow is a long established (1984) Bed And Breakfast offering delightfully appointed guest rooms and sumptuous breakfasts in a quintessential "English Cottage" - a 1960's Tudor style homw with beamed ceilings and leaded glass windows. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Willow Guest House Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing