We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lighthouse Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Qualicum Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lighthouse Motel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Qualicum Beach
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Small room, but comfortable and very clean. Library of DVDs to borrow. Friendly and laid-back hosts. Beautiful ocean view and nice grounds. Across the street from several restaurants/pubs.
Qualicum Bay itself is a bit isolated; don't be confused with Qualicum Beach, this is actually quite far away.

The only significant negative was quite a bit of noise from trucks passing by on the highway.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkydivinDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beejay58, Owner at Lighthouse Motel, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and post it. We always welcome comments from guests. To clarify: our motel is located in Qualicum Bay and this is about 15 km north of Qualicum Beach. It is a lovely drive that takes about 15 to 20 minutes along the Oceanside Highway 19A. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future and appreciate your comments.
Sincerely,
Barbara Owner Lighthouse Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    9
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
16
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

After spending 2wk in the Pacific Northwest, my only regret is not staying here longer!!

After a 4d kayaking trip, the Lighthouse Motel was an perfect place to refresh and unwind. A beautiful location right on the water, this motel oozed relaxation from the moment we stepped in the front door. The owner was extremely friendly and accommodating, letting us air out our camping gear on the large lawn outside our room.

The room was small but immaculately clean and modern with a small fridge and nice small touches that added to the overall comfort and appeal, like wine glasses and a book detailing local bars and restaurants. Comfortable bed. The location was excellent. We were without a car for a night, but a block away from 2 great restaurants and a laundry.

I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for an affordable night or a week away in a relaxing and beautiful location. I look forward to going back someday!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carribeanprincessNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beejay58, Owner at Lighthouse Motel, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel and post it on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the feedback. Our motel is quite small and it does give us time to provide guests with personal attention. I am pleased that you appreciated the small amenities, like real wine glasses in each room. Drinking wine from a paper or plastic glass is just not right. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness and charm of the rooms and our manager works hard to keep the rooms in tip top shape. We also made sure we offered high quality pillow top beds - many guests comment on how comfortable our beds are and how well they sleep when they stay with us. I hope you can visit us again in the future.
Sincerely,
Barbara
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

This is a lovely place to stay if you want to relax in a beautiful garden overlooking the beach and not do anything more strenuous than lying in a hammock or strolling to the ice cream shop down the road.

The name is really misleading as this is nothing like a motel and more like a really friendly, family- run guesthouse. We stayed in suite 6 with a double bed and sofa bed and a really well equipped kitchenette, some of the larger suites have separate bedrooms and large kitchens.

All the rooms have a sea view and you have use of a beautifully kept garden and a paved area overlooking the beach where you can use the picnic tables and barbecue.

The motel doesnt have a bar or restaurant but there are plenty of good options within walking distance. A real gem of a place and I hope to return one day.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ali3240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beejay58, Owner at Lighthouse Motel, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for taking time to provide a review on our motel. We appreciate the comments - including constructive criticism because it helps us understand our guests needs and work towards quality service. I am pleased you appreciated the garden. Our daughter worked very hard to improve the front entry and the gardens and she did a great job! The garden really was lovely this year thanks to her efforts and mother nature. Just to clarify: suite 6 is the Rose Trellis Suite and it does have a queen size bed and sofa bed.
Sincerely,
Barbara
Owner lighthouse Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

I found this motel online and found the price amazing! we didn't arrive till late at night but we did not have any problems getting to our room. The room had an amazing view of the water, I was very impressed with how clean everything was. The staff were wonderful and great suggestions on a place for breakfast and things to do in the area. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beejay58, Owner at Lighthouse Motel, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for the positive review and for taking the time to review our motel. Our manager is the one who gets the credit for making things run smoothly and keeping the rooms in wonderful condition. Mother Nature gets the credit for the wonderful seaside view. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Sincerely,
Barbara
Owner Lighthouse Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

We found this hotel at the last minute. We were very happy with the personal attention we received. We arrived very late at night, and found the owners very accommodating. The rooms were very nicely done, and were obviously recently remodeled. The view was great, and we were able to enjoy a nice beach walk prior to our departure. The owners also recommended a nice breakfast place within walking distance. The hotel is further away from Qualicum Beach than we expected but was not a problem. We would not hesitate to stay here again, and would recommend this lovely place to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankie1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

I found the lighthouse motel online and called to book a room for 3 nights. I found the process was easy and Judith was warm and professional. When we arrived late in the afternoon the view took my breath away. We were greeted by Judith and shown to our room. We were very pleased with the accomodation. It had a fully equipped kitchen with every thing we needed to cook full meals. There was also a barbecue available if we wanted to use it. Judith and Colin, the managers, went above and beyond several times and always with a smile and cheerful manner. They were very helpful with directions around the area also. There is a small cafe within walking distance that needs to be experienced to appreciate, words will not be enough. We will be back. I believe we have found our home away from home. There is so much more to say about this lovely get-a-way but it has to be experienced to truly appreciate.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceedee98346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

beautiful little spot right on the water in Qualicum Bay. we had the pleasure of staying in the Bayview Suite #1, with a full kitchen, living room, separate bedroom and private deck looking out into the straight. Nice and relaxing and quiet. The road noise dies down in the evening hours and it's very peaceful. The beach is not very accesible right in front at high tide, but great at lower tides. The grounds on the water side include hammocks, picnic tables and a big deck to sit at right at the waters edge. The yard is big enough for a croquet, bocci or badminton game. What a nice little gem right at the beach. The staff are very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanIsle44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qualicum Beach
2.1 mi away
Shady Shores Beach Resort
9.4 mi away
Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas
9.1 mi away
Qualicum Beach Inn
Qualicum Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Shorewater Resort
Shorewater Resort
#3 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
7.6 mi away
Buena Vista by the Sea
Buena Vista by the Sea
#4 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
7.6 mi away
Ocean Crest Motel
Ocean Crest Motel
#7 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Motel

Property: Lighthouse Motel
Address: 6035 Island Hwy W | Qualicum Bay, Qualicum Beach, British Columbia V9K 2E1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Qualicum Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Qualicum Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lighthouse Motel is the perfect location any time of year to escape from life's stresses and relax. Our property fronts directly on the ocean overlooking the Strait of Georgia, Hornby Island and the snow capped Coastal Mountain Range. Our hotel is located on the waterfront of peaceful Qualicum Bay, approximately 10 minutes north of Qualicum Beach. We offer affordable accommodation that is perfect for families, couples, or individuals looking for some rest and relaxation. We are a pet-friendly hotel, so you can bring along your furry family member! We are centrally located for day trips to the Parkville-Qualicum area for activities such as hiking, kayaking, skiing and snowboarding, golfing and fishing. For those who just want to enjoy the warm sea air, sit back on the expansive seawall and enjoy a good book or just take in the view, along with the eagles, kingfishers, herons and other wildlife we have the privilege of watching. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Hotel Qualicum Beach
Lighthouse Motel Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing