We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“took a 3 hour cave tour”

Horne Lake Caves Provincial Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$54.28*
and up
Multi Cave Adventure Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Check out the Vancouver Island Underworld! Open year round for exploration above and below ground. Tours range from easy family tours all the way to the "Underground Extreme" where explorers rappel down a seven-storey waterfall! Or try the "3 hr. "Wet & Wild" Spelunking Adventure. Next door to the Horne Lake Campground where visitors will find lakefront campsites, canoe & kayak rentals, free parking & picnic area, boat launch and even camping in a teepee!
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“took a 3 hour cave tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Husband, 11 year old son and I all took a 3 hour cave tour and it was SPECTACULAR. The guide (I think his name was Paul) was great and the experience was definitely worth the drive. Would highly recommend a guided tour as opposed to exploring the caves by yourself, as you simply won't be able to access the most beautiful parts of the cave. Would HIGHLY recommend an early tour, as I think the more crowded tours in the late morning/early afternoon would be far too busy to really enjoy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 74debram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    71
    10
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“My first cave experience was a blast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I was a little apprehensive about going caving. But Kieran's calm persona ensured we would have an outstanding time. Even my 6 year old grandson was able to make his way down into the cave. Once inside the cave we climbed, slid and scrambled our way down. At the end of our cave journey we turned out our lights and just stood in silence and total darkness. Go, you will not be disappointed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank adrian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“worth a day of your travels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

this is a wonderful family excursion. There is something for every age. Come prepared with good boots and water gear plus water and snacks. It's best to phone ahead and reserve so as not to be disappointed as it is a popular site.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank georgia005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Caving Rocks !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

It was my first time Caving!! Well lets just say I was not disappointed, we were taken to three different caves each with its own uniqueness to it. One with more water, one with more limestone formations, and on with more fossils, etc. The tour guide was fabulous, I mean he was passionate about his work , he explained everything in the cave and outside the cave, for instances, how the caves were formed and adding a little humor at the same time. The experience was one that was informative, the adventure of moving in and around the rock formations inside the cave, and great way to connect with nature. The peacefulness you experience with the rushing water and in one of the caves we had a minute of silence in pitch black to really bring home the experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonora, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Life Changing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Horne Lake Cave Park is amazing. The caves are beautiful - 90 foot crystal white flowstone with rimstone pools of calcium saturated water, 75 foot waterfalls that YOU get to safely rappel down (and rock climb back up), perfectly preserved ancient marine fossils, calcite as white as snow, all buried beneath the lush green temperate rainforest of the Pacific Northwest!

AND the staff is also amazing. They have traveled from all over the world, where they have gained spelunking, rock climbing, and geology expertise to Horne Lake Caves where their skills are not only utilized, but fine tuned. They have been trained by some of the best cavers in the world - who have advised for National Geographic and the National Speleological Society. If you are lucky you will be taken into the caves by Cave Manager Paul Blood - expert caver from England and a true gentleman. Or with Lead Cave Guide Myles Fullmer - Canadian Outdoorsman who has contributed to major cave discoveries in Canada - spending several days underground where no man has ever been before. However, the entire staff at the cave park has been trained in rappelling, belaying, haul systems, first aid, geology, speleology, as well as public speaking, education and entertainment.

If you're going to go, go all the way. Take the Extreme Cave Tour and listen to their tips and advice. It is the experience of a lifetime.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank pennscavedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Horne Lake Caves Provincial Park also viewed

Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Horne Lake Caves Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing