We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little deceits, logging, spoil potentially enjoyable experience”

Horne Lake Caves Provincial Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$54.90*
and up
Multi Cave Adventure Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Check out the Vancouver Island Underworld! Open year round for exploration above and below ground. Tours range from easy family tours all the way to the "Underground Extreme" where explorers rappel down a seven-storey waterfall! Or try the "3 hr. "Wet & Wild" Spelunking Adventure. Next door to the Horne Lake Campground where visitors will find lakefront campsites, canoe & kayak rentals, free parking & picnic area, boat launch and even camping in a teepee!
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Little deceits, logging, spoil potentially enjoyable experience”
Reviewed 28 August 2006

We chose Horne Lake as our final camping destination this summer, attracted by its appealing website and hoping for warmer weather in this inland location.

"It's a two hour drive from Victoria," the young woman told me cheerfully when I made the reservation the day before. It sounded a little optimistic, and in fact it was more like three hours. The campground is at the far (western) end of a semi-asphalted road (this is logging country).

A more serious surprise came during check-in. "Yes, we have your reservation... you're in site #55, which is a double site, along with another family," a rather indifferent young woman at reception told me. I thought she was joking, but no. When I pointed out that nothing had been mentioned during reservation of the site being a "double", or of us sharing it with anyone, she apologised, but clearly wasn't very bothered. It was Saturday afternoon, we were at least an hour's drive from any other campground, the night was prepaid and we would forfeit it if we didn't use it. I could take it or leave it. A discount was also out of the question. The best she could offer us was to check out the site that the other family had just chosen to leave in favour of ours, and the one we had booked, and decide which one to take. So we did, starting with the one we had booked, which was at the southern campground – a rough unpaved 2km drive away through unattractive clearcut terrain. It turned out to be a standard campsite with only one table – "They're bringing another one," the other family told us, confirming that the site is, in fact, not intended for "double" use. So we drove back to the northern campground, and chose the site they left, which was actually nicer, though slightly further from the water's edge.

There were other departures from "truth in advertising" in store – some minor, some more disappointing. Firewood, which the website says costs $6 a bundle, actually costs $8 a bundle. The advertised evening entertainment and the daycamp for kids were both cancelled, "for lack of staff". Although the website makes no mention of it that I could see, the noticeboard at the reception centre advises that the lake is host to the infamous "summer itch": larvae that burrow under your skin and cause itching which is relieved only by antihistamines. (It goes on to offer the helpful advice that the danger may be minimised by a vigorous towelling after swimming, followed by a shower – except there aren't any showers at this campground).

As for the lake itself, though deep and picturesque, it is uncomfortably choppy in the afternoon, and let down by the surrounding landscape, which after decades of clearcut logging, has the patchy look of the hair of a radiation sickness victim.

It wasn't all bad. The northern campground also offers accommodation in teepees – a funky, though more expensive option to tenting or RV'ing. The woods in the campgrounds themselves have a healthy undergrowth and one feels closer to nature than at typical provincial campgrounds. One can rent canoes and kayaks at the reception centre.

But the disappointments ultimately won over. We left around noon the next day, and spent the afternoon swimming at the nearby Spider Lake instead, a BC park nearer to Highway 19. With its broad beach, shallow, clean water, it was a pleasant surprise and a welcome respite. We made a mental note to revisit Spider Lake in future whenever in the area. As for Horne Lake, if we do visit again, it will only be for the caves.

Helpful?
10 Thank Hither-and-Yon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cave_Park_Director, manager at Horne Lake Caves Provincial Park, responded to this review, 2 March 2010
My apologies for a less-than-happy camping experience. Although we can't do much about the logging that took place back in 2002 or when there is a windy day on the lake, we certainly should do a better job in customer service than you experienced. The campsite mentioned in the review is indeed one of four of the park's 'double sites'. These are ideal when 2 families want to camp together but not very private when you have to share with someone you don't know. This is normally made very clear when we book these sites but that apparently didn't happen in this case. To prevent this from happening again, we have clearly marked those double sites in our reservation system so notification is automatic. And next time I guarantee you won't be addressed by an 'indifferent' attitude at the front desk. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and helping us improve our service. Oh, and this review does not belong to Horne Lake Caves Provincial Park - there are no camping facilities there, only cool caves. The campground is next door at the Regional District Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    75
    10
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first

Travellers who viewed Horne Lake Caves Provincial Park also viewed

Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Horne Lake Caves Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing