We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Buena Vista by the Sea
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Qualicum Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2013

All the previous glowing reviews on Buena Vista were true. It is a gem! A little slice of paradise. It is clean, comfortable, private and most of all quiet. It is perfect for us older folks who do not wish to listen to noisy, screaming kids running around. Thanks Claire and Rob for this. The owners are most attentive to your needs, always checking to see if you need anything but not being intrusive or bothersome. Very friendly and accommodating folks. The view is amazing. We spent many a happy hour on our patio area enjoying it and were really able to unwind and relax. It is a short drive to town but there are also several good restaurants within walking distance. We can't wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

Let down by a previously booked apartment, happened on the BV by chance. A good chance as it turned out to be.....
Behind the street facade and to the rear of the property lies lovely proportioned suites in a tropically laid out garden, and decking areas with direct access to the beach.
Mrs Buena Vista herself very helpful in ensuring we were settling in ok and always on hand to deal with any queries or worries. Always a tale to tell, she'd obviously seen a fair bit of lively characters through her doors - quite entertaining really!
Having stayed in the property now, I would say it is actually much nicer than the web site portrays.....so definitely recommend for a comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms would give you better views out to sea from the private decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celtic-Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beachfrontbunny, Owner at Buena Vista by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

The Buena Vista is most appreciative of your, The Customer comments
; your comfort is our concern & we are mindful of. your respectful use, & your complying with our peaceful co-existence policy. Please accept OUR thanx ....Claire & Rob Murphy, & Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Our second stay...and even more wonderful than the last visit...what is not to love...
spotless rooms, views to awe over...booked for next august already...

OH the shopping perfect...distance...

Glass of wine in one hand and the hubby in the other....

Room Tip: there isn't a bad room in the motel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sadie867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The view from the street as you see this establishment may leave you feeling a little dubious. However, just open the door to the unit and you will see a spotless, bright and cheerful room. The view from the balcony is simply gorgeous. The room is quiet and comfortable and more than sufficient for our needs. The property behind the rooms leading down to the sea is immaculately kept and very pretty. A lovely place to sit and just take in the beauty of the surroundings.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ElaineEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

beautiful beachfront property. spacious clean room with a well equipped kitchenette. within a few minutes of settling in the room, the owner called down to see if everything was ok and did we need anything! it was like staying with your auntie. never invasive, but always nearby. ready with suggestions of where to go and what to see. passionate about qualicum beach! can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cindyb27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

What a wonderful romantic setting.There is something about a sunset view from your balcony, a glass of champagne, and Fanny Bay Oysters. The owners are so unique and really make you welcome. Their knowledge of what to see and where to find the best food was a bonus
for our first time in the area. The weather was fabulous . We will come back in the fall and will certainly reccommend them.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twocantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

What a lovely hotel, décor, colours, amenities, location, and owners were all lovely. We would have loved to stay a little longer and will in the future. Thank you very much for a lovely experience, it was lovely to stay in a hotel that showed so much care. The view was beautiful and the eagles were majestic.

Room Tip: We were in the Denman suite which we liked. The rooms are named after islands on Vancouver Island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rehona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qualicum Beach
1.7 mi away
Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas
1.5 mi away
Qualicum Beach Inn
Qualicum Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
250 reviews
10 mi away
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Shorewater Resort
Shorewater Resort
#3 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
82 reviews
7.5 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
59.8 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Vista by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista by the Sea

Address: 3285 Island Hwy W | British Columbia, Qualicum Beach, British Columbia V9K 2C6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Qualicum Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Qualicum Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Qualicum Beach
Price Range: £70 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buena Vista by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms have a full kitchen and a beautiful ocean view. Our suites all have undergone extensive renovation. In the upper suites you can sit on your private balcony overlooking the ocean and enjoy the cool sea breezes as you watch the cruise ships pass. The lower suites are walk on waterfront with sliding patio doors opening to our manicured lawn. You have your choice of bachelor, one bedroom or two bedroom suites. Every room has cable TV and high-speed internet access should you get tired of watching the wildlife on the beach or the spectacular sunsets. Unfortunately our accommodation is not suited for small children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Buena Vista by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista By The Sea Hotel Qualicum Beach
Buena Vista By The Sea Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing