We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great brunch venue”
Review of Lefty's Restaurant

Lefty's Restaurant
Price range: US$7 - US$18
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Soups, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located in downtown Qualicum Beach, Lefty's has been crafting fresh food daily since 1996. Open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and desserts (with many gluten-free and vegetarian options available), the restaurant features comfort food with a twist and seasonal specials along with a warm, welcoming ambiance and cozy tables. Lefty's now offers stone-baked artisan thin-crust pizzas with sauces made from scratch, blended cheeses and fresh ingredients. Or start your morning with a Lefty's local breakfast, made with free-range eggs, custom British-style banger sausages, house-made jam, hot sauce and fresh-brewed locally-roasted organic coffee.
Hamilton, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great brunch venue”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed a late breakfast at Lefty's. while I didn't expect the decore to reflect a bar or dinner venue rather than a cafe, it did retain some small cafe charm.

The food was delicious and good value - no complaints and I'd love to visit again some time.

Helpful?
Thank B3NJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Owner at Lefty's Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your review and your appreciated comments. We are happy that you were satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    156
    69
    30
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
723 reviews
384 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“experience can vary.”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

we've had 2 dinners here during the past month. I've not eaten here for years due to inconsistences. my ginger, carrot and squash soup last night was good. my husband's hamburger was delicious. our friends enjoyed their seafood dish and chicken parmesan. it was busy which is a good sign. the air circulation isn't the best so one can smell the grease from the cooking. I'm happy to meet my friends here. there is also a lefty's in parksville, 10 minutes away.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jarmwr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Owner at Lefty's Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thanks for your positive review. I appreciate the high marks for food and value. We encourage all of our guests to let us know how your experience was in the most comfortable way so that we can fix our mistakes and improve our operations as we move forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
638 reviews
442 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“A busy spot in town”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Had lunch here a few days ago. It was busy all week so we went before noon and had no problem being seated. I had the club and it was excellent. Two had the prawns on rice with coconut milk and enjoyed it and one person had the BBQ chicken quesadilla and loved it and took some home. Food always good here but it is more a pub type atmosphere and not at all fancy. We will come again

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Golferboy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Owner at Lefty's Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Glad you enjoyed Lefty's and thanks for your positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great fresh food served with a smile”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

If looking for deep fried, fast food, with no flavour and lots of fat this isn't the place. Good whole foods, no deep fryer and just a little different than the usual restaurant fare. Love the potato wedges with chipotle mayo and garlic. Hand made burgers, great salads and the Parksville store has fabulous pizza. Check it out and be sure to have some time because great food takes a bit longer to make.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soudini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Owner at Lefty's Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thanks for your positive response. We are grateful and inspired by your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not Great and Expensive”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Popular restaurant with a casual atmosphere. Food is un-extraordinary and expensive compared to similar eateries in the area, and the service is notoriously slow.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Owner at Lefty's Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thanks for your feedback. It is difficult to respond without the details so I can only speak to the overall intentions that continue to motivate us over the past 18 years and assure you that we listen to all of our feedback and strive to maintain and improve as best we can. Reviews as a result of a poor experience often imply a lack of caring on the part of management and staff. This is not the case at Lefty's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lefty's Restaurant also viewed

Parksville, Vancouver Island
Parksville, Vancouver Island
 
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Lefty's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing