We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much better than the last visit.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Qualicum Sushi

Qualicum Sushi
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Much better than the last visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

I value having a Japanese restaurant in town so am glad this place is still in business. I wasn't that impressed on my previous visit, but decided to give it another try.

Our family had a very nice visit and enjoyed the food much more this time out. The menu was more extensive and offered a nice variety of items other than sushi. Even their sushi menu seemed larger.

We had a couple of rolls, tempura, a chicken don bowl, and some beef udon. It was all good. Much more flavourful and fresh tasting than the last visit.

I will definitely go back or order take out.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank XQU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    15
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Solid sushi place, but a little more expensive than other sushi around.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

Very friendly people running this place. The food is good quality and the service is of a high standard. As i said in the title, this place is a little more expensive than other sushi in the oceanside area, but that is probably because it's the only one in Qualicum. There is good value on the Bento boxes for lunch however.

I would recommend trying this place for sure.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Freedomless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“busy but very good service and great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

My friend invited me out for the Wednesday evening wings and it was great. The wings have 5 levels of hot, hottest being an out of control habenero pepper that only the bravest or most foolhardy can endure.
I went with the level 2 which is mildly and spicy hot, but still very enjoyable. At 35 cents a wing it is a great deal. Minimum order of 10 per flavour request.
I also had a Greek salad which was a small but appeared almost too big after i gnawed my way through 20 delicious wings.
If you go, plan on reserving or coming early for the busy Wednesday wing night.
Caution on the level 5 which i've heard people have ordered and regretted due to extreme heat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sandy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“hidden from view but really worth finding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Just in behind the Royal Bank in sunny Qualicum Beach. It is kind of hidden away.
The food was really good and not too expensive as some Sushi places can be.
I had the dynamite roll combination and it came with a nice miso soup and several tempura battered items.
The server was pleasant and efficient and the food was well presented in a timely fashion. There is ample room in the restaurant and tables are relatively spacious.
Overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unless you can't go another day without sushi, don't go.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

What a disappointment. We did take out and opened up sashimi that was still frozen!!! All of the rolls were, to be kind, so terrible they all had to hide behind a wasabi sauce regardless of wether it would be appropriate or not. To top it off, the price would put some high end sushi spots in lower mainland to shame. The price was, without question, outrageous.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Qualicum Sushi also viewed

Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Qualicum Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing