We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as it was” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cockney Pride

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cockney Pride
Cuisines: British, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not as good as it was”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

This restaurant suffers from a common, recurring problem. They take their repeat customers for granted. I like my food hot and fresh! Not pre-cooked and warmed up, and that's just what Cockney Pride have gone down to.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank tv40821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    16
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Down To Earth Diner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

Have had breakfast and meetings here several times. The service is individual and home like. The environment is restauranty and it is situated in the business area o0f Qualicum Beach. Interesting food and tasty English food choices. A place to relax, dine and chat.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Verscoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“One of my favourites!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

We eat here several times a month. It is one of our favourite spots. The service is excellent as it is family owned and run. The food is consistently good and always made to order. The only downside is that the owners are human and do have to take a holiday or sick day now and then. We miss them when they're not open.

The setting is not fancy, but it is clean and comfortable. The cuisine is good old English fare. Good food. Friendly service. Fair prices. What more could you ask for? I just dread the day when retirement calls. Qualicum Beach won't be the same without Cockney Pride.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank XQU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tasty English fare at a real good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Since moving to Qualicum Beach I've eaten lunch here about a half dozen times. Each time I have truly enjoyed the tasty food and the ever-so-friendly English staff.

What I truly appreciate is that they keep their food authentic, not trying to 'water it down' to North American tastes. And they cook it fresh daily -- this isn't processed food. It's the kind of true English fare you would get in someone's home.

They serve generous portions in a friendly, warm atmosphere, with efficient service, and it's obvious when you walk in that they have a full slate of local regulars (known by name). Lunch is the only meal I've eaten here so far so I can't speak to what's on the menu for breakfast or supper. But for lunch you can expect such things as bangers and mash, steak and kidney pie, cornish pasties (oh man those are good!), homemade soup, and always some tempting special.

It may not be fancy, but you can be sure the friendly folks will be sure you eat well and at a good value. Enjoy.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fromHythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dinner Guests”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

This little unpretencious restaurant treats customers as if you were their
guests for dinner. We love the roast beef or turkey dinners. Fresh
vegetables and good gravey! Lovely staff! And the bread pudding is
just like 'mom' used to bake!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Callie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cockney Pride also viewed

Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Cockney Pride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing