We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favourite Pub”
Review of Crown & Anchor

Crown & Anchor
Restaurant details
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My Favourite Pub”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Its a friendly ,fun,good food place.
I especially like their blue grass jam but their other entertainment is also very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank woodsman60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    12
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Have eaten here twice in the last two days. Both times were great, food was good quality and good portions and price very reasonable. Service was adequate. Atmosphere was also very enjoyable. Cold beer store attached was also very convenient. Would definitely stop here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pvhofers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level Contributor
126 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“No Service”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have been coming to this pub for years and the last time we visited we sat and waited for 15 minutes for service. Even though the waitress walked by us and new we where recently seated she ignored us. After 15 minutes we decided on alternatives and walked out.
The pub we found out after is under new management.
Hopefully they understand that service is key to survival.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dflyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great value, good food, big portions”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We were on our way north on the Old Island Highway to spend the night in Courtenay, and decided to randomly choose one of the many roadside pubs for dinner. While this place is actually called the Crown & Anchor, there is a lit sign out front that says Roadhouse, so keep an eye out for that sign to find the place (it's on the non-ocean side of the road, brick building). While the interior is a bit run-down, the food was excellent, surprisingly cheap, and the portions were large. We will definitely visit again.

We parked out back and wandered on in. Our initial impression upon seeing the place was a little bit along the lines of 'uh-oh, we may have made a mistake'. The pub has definitely seen better days. It's run-down inside, with small window panes missing here and there and replaced by cardboard with graffiti. Lots of dark paint, dim lighting, but they do have a pool table, TVs all over, and a live band was setting up (we got there a bit later in the evening), so it seems like it's probably usually a hangout spot/sports pub/watering hole for campers.

A waitress came by pretty quickly and got us a couple of beers. I was feeling like a lager might be nice, so I chose the house brew, the Roadhouse Lager. It was quite good...crisp and clean-tasting. Had to have another. We ordered chicken wings to start. They were nothing special, but they hit the spot. The menu itself is pretty much the same as every other pub up and down the coast between Duncan and Courtenay...standard pub fare mixed with seafood-based dishes. I ordered breaded oysters with vegetables and fries, and my wife ordered a green salad with prawns and a piece of garlic toast. When the meals arrived, we were surprised, because the portions were quite large. My wife's salad had about 18 prawns (we counted), and I had about 6 or 7 good-sized breaded-and-fried oysters. The salad was nice and crisp, and the prawns tasted fresh. The breading on the oysters was a little darker than I would expect (i.e. I thought they may have been fried too long), but they tasted great (there are places up and down this part of the coast that sell oysters that have been harvested that day, so they probably get them fresh relatively often). A bit of cocktail dipping sauce was provided. The vegetables that came with the oysters were quite good as well, and there were lots of them. They were simply steamed, but they had no sauce and weren't oily, they were a little crisp (not overcooked), and had a good variety...reminded me a little of something you'd have with an Asian stir-fry.

When the bill came, we were stunned...3 beers, an appy, and our large meals came to a total of about $45. I had to examine the bill to make sure one of our items hadn't been missed.

Overall, the service was fast and friendly, the value was excellent, and the food is as good or better than other pubs in the same area. If you can overlook the decor, you'll find great food at a cheap price. We will be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank qoyusun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rustic”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

This place just put in a great campground. Short walk to Sandy Beach and Qualicum Bay. Good evening entertainment and jam sessions.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank travellero1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crown & Anchor also viewed

Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Bowser, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Crown & Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing