We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good over view of area”

Lloydminster Cultural & Science Centre
Attraction details
Edmonton
Level Contributor
247 reviews
158 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Good over view of area”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Although the outside exhibits were off limits at the time we were there the museum inside showed the vast diversity of the area and its links to the land. The arts and crafts were well displayed and easy to read and understand.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank princesscruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great local gallery/museum”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

See Imhoff's paintings, travelling exhibitions, the Oil Interpretive Centre, and more. Great gift shop!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DiverDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very Interesting Exhibits”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The Imhoff Paintings were most impressive. He could have been a Michaelangelo or Rembrandt! The Fakes & Forgeries exhibit was also fascinating.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank marks_marks94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
377 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Great place to spend a couple hours in Lloydminster”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I was here in town for a week due to work and thought I'd drop in on my last day. I didn't see this as much of a cultural centre but more of a mini art gallery and mini science centre packaged into a quaint place. Adult admission was reasonable at $5 and I spent just over an hour in here as I had a plane to catch and was on a tight timeframe. I was fascinated by the works of Berthold Von Imhoff, a painter I never heard of, who was know for his religious paintings but I found his still life works of grapes to be the most captivating. The second part of the museum was the Fuchs Wildlife exhibit displaying a vast collection of stuffed wildlife (vast for a Alberta/Saskachewan private collector). Last but not least is the OTS Heavy Oil Science centre with interactive computerized kiosks and displays so that people can interact and learn about oil and gas production including refining and upgrading. No photography allowed in Fuchs and other parts of the centre.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JY_Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloydminster, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pretty decent, that's all though”
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

When you walk in, you're awarded with a small gift shop. The prices to go in are pretty reasonable. They have a animal center where you can see two headed calfs, fishes, and rabbits playing poker. Also inside the animal center, there is an oil exhibit where you can see which oil runs the fastest, feel oil, and learn how to protect our environment. It's very small, though. If you walk out of the animal exhibit, you will see a portrait/painting room where you can see all of the paintings that were done from various artist. There used to be a pioneer section but I think they took that out not too long ago. Hope I helped!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lloydminster Cultural & Science Centre also viewed

 
Lloydminster, Alberta
 

Been to Lloydminster Cultural & Science Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing